Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cedar Springs Waldorf School

Private | K-8 | 147 students

Inspiring a love of learning that lasts a lifetime
 
 

 
 

Living in Placerville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $204,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Cedar Springs is a wonderful, loving, warm and safe environment for our children. We love this school for our Kindergartener! It is a family environment where parents are gardening, potlucking, making play dates and sharing recipes all surrounding our drop off and pick up times for our children. Our family and parent involvement coupled with our teachers' commitment to our children and us parents is why our school was voted 2013 Best Private School in El Dorado County! Our school would be greatly improved by affording updates on our classrooms, heater and air systems and playgrounds, and staff deveopment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

I feel so blessed that my children are able to participate in this community. Im so glad learning is based on soul and heart not just mind and body. Our society needs to develop good people not just good test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I want to share that CSWS has helped, my son, with Sensory Processing Disorder learn to communicate and grow emotionally. The kind teaching ways have improved his self esteem, there is only purposeful work when his hands are not doing something correctly. The fellow students are also taught that all have the ability to help each other emotionally. This school has really helped him!!! He did attend a public school and his behavior was not recognized nor addressed. In fact, his emotional self esteem was sad and getting lower everyday. WE are so Grateful for the love and support that Lily Kindergarten at Cedar Springs Waldorf School has given back to my son a joy in school and the spirit to be happy.. thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Cedar Springs Waldorf School is a small gem (preschool to 8th grade) tucked into the Sierra Nevada foothills outside of Placerville. It has a tremendous heart force, fostered by the teachers, the students, their parents, and staff. The only asphalt you'll see is on the driveway; everything else is dirt, gardens, rolling play yards, goat and chicken pens, a large greenhouse... The caliber of the teachers is amazing; they truly love and believe in their work here at CSWS. Everything from live student orchestral concerts, to flaming bunsen burners, live stage plays starting with the first grade, to field trips to the Mondavi, specialist math, Spanish, gardening, and music teachers, and everything in between is offered at our school. Parents know that their children are seen as individuals, whose talents and capabilities are fostered at an age-appropriate level. Open Houses and A Day in the Life are routinely offered. This is a wholesome, joyful place to live and learn!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

Cedar Springs is an excellent school, full of caring teachers, engaged parents and enthusiastic students. The academics of this school fully prepare children for moving on to high school, and the ways they are taught to think and follow through give them gifts they can use throughout life.


Posted April 7, 2014

Our kids transferred in at Grades 3 & 5 from a public school. The transition was seamless and we couldn't be happier. Our kids come home every day saying how much they love school and learning!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 15, 2013

I've been to other Waldorf schools in the area recently and the thing I love about this one is the community. Projects that need doing get done by parents and alumni alike, to just amazing degrees. Everyone is carpooling, doing laundry, building fences, helping teachers -- and when you step onto the campus you can feel that support everywhere. Everyone knows how the budget is doing, and everyone has one eye on how they can help out too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

I had the priviledge of my two daughters to go through cedar springs waldorf school k-8. I could not have imagined a more perfect environment for my kids as well as for my family. The faculty and staff at cedar springs are full of caring and nuturing people that who's goal is to bring out the best in all who attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

Tremendous academic results, community experience, family and student support as well as an eye opening perspective on how child learning "should" be. Cedar Springs is much more than just an outstanding academic program. It's a family focused, holistic approach to learning, development and support of students discovering the joy of leaning, the excitement of seeking out their individual points of exceptional attunement and the safe, secure environment to reach beyond their comfort zones. Simply put, Cedar Springs is a learning institution that addresses much more than just the child's ability to "complete" the three R's, it addresses the child's inherent inquisitive nature and draws life experiences from that nature that leave such positive street signs in that child that they love to experience new roads and new learning experiences with an eagerness that does not fade over the years in the school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

I am truly blessed to have my boys in Cedar Springs Waldorf school. The teachers are amazing and the community works together as a whole to make our school a unique, warm and loving environment for all the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

When my son started in the Parent Child class at Cedar Springs Waldorf School, we fell in love with the school. He is now in Sixth Grade and we could not imagine a better educational experience. His teachers have been outstanding, going way beyond what we expected for teaching and parent support. There is a wonderful community of parents and high quality administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

Our school is a wonderful environment to raise young men and women! It lets kids be kids and take their time to grow into well rounded humans. The parents are involved and friendly. The teachers are amazingly dedicated to each and every student with genuine respect and love for the people they are and someday will be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2011

Wonderful school that focuses on educating the entire child! "Education is not filling a bucket but lighting a spark."~ Yeates
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Cedar Springs has been a wonderful place to grow as a parent and to see our child develop as a well-rounded individual. Educating a child is more than teaching math and reading. Our school has exceeded all of our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Amazing education for children. Every child should be in a Waldorf school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

I have 5 children at Cedar Springs Waldorf School and I would never consider going anywhere else. Each of my children's needs are met individually and they are all excelling. They love going to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2003

Education at the Cedar Springs Waldorf School is based on the understanding that the key to developing a critical thinking mind is to encourage the active and creative imagination. In addition to a standard curriculum our students study foreign languages, music, art, handwork, woodworking and gardening. The Waldorf approach to teaching has been proven to reach children of all learning styles. The Academics are brought through a curriculum that employs kinesthetic, visual and verbal opportunities for learning. At our Waldorf School the whole child is educated by engaging the student s natural curiosity, sense of wonder and love of learning. The arts are woven throughout each subject, further enriching and enlivening the learning process. We are proud of the documented fact that Cedar Springs Waldorf School education excels beyond the standards; our eighth grade students have consistently scored at the 12th grade level or above on the CAT tests for the past four years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 26%
Hispanic 2% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gardening teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Accreditation by the Association of Waldorf Schools North Am (2012)
  • Best Private School in El Dorado County Foothills (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AWSNA
Fax number
  • (530) 642-1904

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Voted #1 Private School 2013 by Style Magazine - El Dorado County Foothills
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
El Dorado High School
Union Mine High School
Sacramento Waldorf School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6029 Gold Meadow Rd
Placerville, CA 95667
Website: Click here
Phone: (530) 642-9903

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ocean Grove Charter School
Boulder Creek, CA



Sierra Elementary School
Placerville, CA


El Dorado Adventist
Placerville, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT