Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pleasant Valley Middle School 5

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Awesome teachers and staff who truly support the students! Some great teachers retired this year and so sad my younger kids will not get to have them as my son did.

Pleasant Valley Middle School 5

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school. These older one star reviews are deceiving and don't give the school the proper credit. Naturally some students are going to struggle but it's not the school's fault. The teachers and staff are amazing and truly care about the students. My oldest son graduated from 8th grade last year and my daughter will be starting there next year. I highly recommend!


Pleasant Valley Middle School 5

Posted March 24, 2014
- a community member
This is an amazing school. It has great teachers. The P.E. teacher is fun. All of the teachers teach out of the box and go over and beyond to get you ready for High School

Pleasant Valley Middle School 5

Posted December 16, 2012
- a community member
Nearly every review I read here is pejorative and uninformative. The Jan 19th review apparently has an issue with white kids who can speak English. How terrible those kids must be! I came here to read about the test scores and I think I ran into a buzz saw of bitter parents who probably were the chief reason their kids were not doing better in the school. The school shows a 7 out of 10. By comparison, I went and looked at my old elementary school rating. It's receiving a 2. Probably loaded with non white kids who can't speak English. It won't let me leave a review without assigning the completely meaningless star rating. I'll give it a 5! Because they endorse English.

Pleasant Valley Middle School 1

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
This school is the worst ever. I would not send my kids here if you paid me. The only reason the test scores are good is because the kids are white and know English. The teachers are horrible.


Pleasant Valley Middle School 5

Posted December 03, 2010
- a community member
My 5 children have all loved Pleasant Valley. It may be that the school has some problems with one teacher in particular, but I will NEVER be sorry to have had my kids there. I disagree with the comment made September 5th. The students have one elective, and no after school activites besides sports. Most of the teachers are wonderful, and it's a great shame that people dislike our school. If there is one thing we are NOT lacking in it is school pride and spirit.

Pleasant Valley Middle School
no rating

Posted July 16, 2009
- a parent
Horrible teachers that think they can, (and do) get away with being terrible to their students and parents. My child went her for a couple of months and I pulled her right out. She became depressed while she was there. She felt like she could not even ask a question without getting snapped at, and was actually told to figure it out herself. Before going to this school she received A's, B's, and an occasional C. She was failing in all of her classes here. I put her into Mountain Creek and she was on the honor roll all year round, and I finally got my daughter back out of the depression that school caused. This school is horrific, and if you care about your childs well being....don't put them there!

Pleasant Valley Middle School 1

Posted February 03, 2009
- a parent
Pleasant Valley School is on the brink of closing because of declining enrollment. Parents are choosing to send their kids elsewhere. My oldest graduated from PV last year and I will not send any of her siblings to that middle school until there is a major overhaul in the teaching faculty.


Pleasant Valley Middle School
no rating

Posted January 30, 2009
- a parent
run away!! do not move into this school district, you'll be sorry!

Pleasant Valley Middle School 1

Posted September 01, 2008
- a parent
I never realized how far behind PV is until we moved out of state. My son was a highest honor student at PV; now he is struggling because his new school is so far advanced over PV. PV needs to focus more on core subjects and do a better job of preparing students for higher grade levels. Students need to be taught how to study, how to research and how to write reports. Gold Oak School district puts too low of an emphasis on this type of learning and too high an emphasis on artistic ability.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pleasant Valley Middle School
4120 Pleasant Valley Road, Placerville, CA  95667-7834
(530) 644-9620
Last modified Pleasant Valley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pleasant Valley Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top