Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Playa Vista Elementary

Public | K-5 | 300 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 27 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

This is my sons second year at PVES and we could not be any happier! He is thriving in every way academically and socially. The teachers are all wonderful and the parent group is strong and extremely supportive. Amazing school and we are blessed to be a part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

PVES is an amazing school and I am very proud to have my daughter attend this school. The parents are a strong group and the teachers have an amazing wealth of knowledge and a passion for children. Now that the district is allowing us to upgrade our leadership I, as a father, am hoping for a male influence to complement the terrific ladies of PVES! Go Osprey!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Playa Vista Elementary is a wonderful school with excellent teachers, staff, and high parental involvement. I have two children who have been at the school since it opened almost two years ago and they have both had great experiences. It is in a beautiful location and the partnership with LMU is a real benefit as well. My husband and I plan to keep our children there through fifth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2014

Beautiful modern new building. Bright classrooms with an abundance of high-tech learning tools. Fantastic teachers, TA's and staff. Unprecedented parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Both of my children are blossoming at PVES! The teachers, staff, LMU Staff, TAs, parent volunteers all work well together to give our children a project based learning environment with its focus on STEM and through parent fundraising, we are bringing more art into the STEM program through visual arts & music. The children also make use of the garden, Discovery Park & the Sports Park as outdoor classrooms and also have use of the Computer Lab, Art Room, the MPR for classes such as yoga and music, the Library and the amazing new & growing Science Lab. The facility is beautiful and LEED Certified. We have new leadership coming, and I am impressed with how the District is engaging staff, parents & LMU in the process. The children are safe, happy, curious and engaged! I highly recommend PVES!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

No school is perfect, PVES is no different in that regard. All I know is my daughter is thriving here and we couldn't be happier about that! We are pleased with the curriculum, very happy with her past & present teacher and feel she's learning in a safe, stable environment. Most of all, her father and I feel the wealth of diversity here is priceless! I made many visits to many different schools (both private and public) on the westside and all of them showed a lack of racial diversity. That is not the case here and we couldn't be happier about that!!! As far as improvements are concerned, of course we could and can improve in many different areas. This is the second year of instruction and I feel many improvements were made. Does that mean the school or booster club can't do more next year? Absolutely not! What's wonderful about this school community is the collaborative spirit we have! We as a school community are always working and striving to make this an amazing place for our children to thrive and grow as innovators and citizens of the world! Can't wait to see if we ALL can make the 2014-15 school year the best yet:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

Playa Vista Elementary is a brand new elementary school that has been a wonderful school with incredibly strong teachers the past couple of years. With the new leadership that is coming our way, I feel confident this is going to be a superior STEM school that it was meant to be. We have outstanding teachers in every grade, a committed partnership with LMU, and a very dedicated and involved parent group. When you combine this strong foundation with a visionary leader, the possibilities are endless. I think PVES has a bright future ahead. Lastly, we have such a special community where all the families walk to school and look after one another. This is such a gem of a neighborhood- we are so lucky to have PVES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

Facts about this school : STEM curriculum , progressive teachers , new facility next to a secured multi sports park , very involved parents , close partnership w/ LMU , parent organization that raises thousands of dollars that pays for PE , Music , TAs , Library , technology and more . Now my personal opinion : in only a yr and half this school has achieved way more than a lot of other schools w/ yrs of operation . We all know of great schools out there w/ less than great principals who hang on for years . PVES is already getting a new leadership which is a very good sign meaning this school demands greatness ! This is just another reason why PVES is so unique . This school is writing a new chapter in history of LAUSD and possibly the whole area . My prediction is that new generation of schools are going to look up to this school and use its history and its model to learn from .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

Playa Vista has gotten off to a fantastic start over the last couple years and I know it will only get better from here! This school opened with the help of a very passionate and dedicated parent Booster Club who fund-raised hundreds of thousands of dollars to ensure a well-rounded curriculum for our children. While the first year was a bit shaky in terms of the administration, who was not committed to collaborating with the community, that issue will be addressed soon as the search for a new principal begins. I am excited to see how the next year goes when we hopefully have a more collaborative, savvy leader in place to continue the development of this school as a STE(A)M leader. If you live in Playa Vista, there is no question that your local neighborhood school is the way to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

PV Elementary is truly an exceptional school. Our daughter is very quiet and shy, but the caring and supportive environment and culture fostered at this school allows her to open up and thrive. Yes, there are safe, happy, nurturing places in LAUSD. This is most definitely one of them! Go PVES Ospreys!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

This brand new school is just amazing in it's brand new structure, the kids, the teachers, the parents, and the overall vibe and energy of the school! We were torn whether to be the guinea pigs and put our Kindergartener in a new LAUSD school or go Private. But when we heard LMU was getting involved and the participation and love from so many parents was so strong, we realized that this school is almost like being at a private school. And I also love that the school is so diverse. It's really amazing and I love that my son is exposed to this type of environment socially and educationally. It's a real community here and we love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

We have had a fantastic experience at this new neighborhood public school. I have kids in two different grades here, and have been very impressed with both of their exceptional teachers. The school's partnership with Loyola Marymount University has provided invaluable guidance and resources. The facility itself is a true (LEED certified) gem in a city filled with aging school campuses. The science and computer labs and the school library are like nothing I've even seen at any other public elementary school! Our parents are passionate, invested, and proactive. Their fundraising efforts have resulted in an array of enrichment programs and educational field trips for all grade levels. The lack of administrative strength has been uniformly acknowledged and is being addressed, so I have complete confidence in the fact that this school will shine even brighter once we find the right leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

This is really an amazing school. Great teachers, wonderful community and parent support. My 1st grader has loved going to school since K and really enjoys all the teachers and classmates. This is a sign of a wonderful learning environment. Improvements could be made in the leadership and direction of where the school could go, but overall I would definitely recommend PVES if you want your child to attend a fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

My son has been at PVES since it opened almost two years ago. We LOVE the challenging and engaging learning environment that the teachers and LMU provide with a focus on a STEM based curriculum. My first grader reads at a sixth grade level and many of the other students are way above grade level too thanks to the excellent teachers. Parents are very involved with developing and funding exciting enrichment programs that benefit the entire student body including computer lab, science lab, library, music and P.E. We are thrilled to be part of such a wonderful community based school where we can walk to and from school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

This is my son's 2nd year at PVES and our experience has been nothing short of amazing! He is thriving academically, socially and emotionally! The teachers, parents and LMU staff go above and beyond to support students. PVES is a high performing, neighborhood school with a 900 API and enrollment increase by 100 students every year - a rarity in LAUSD! Teachers are kind, engaged and work tirelessly to integrate an innovative STEM curriculum. LMU student teachers rotate throughout the year and the parent group funds teacher s aides. PVES has a computer lab, science lab, frequently visits the Discovery Park and sports park. Yes, the parents fundraise and we are PROUD of it! We are able to fund academic and enrichment programs for ALL PVES STUDENTS: technology classes, librarian, field trips and teacher s and supervision aides, Kinder music teacher, 1st-5th grade ORFF music teacher and P.E. coaches. The principal is reassigned to another school for the 2014-2015 school year. We expect those issues in previous reviews to resolved when the school community selects the new principal. So GRATEFUL to those that GIVE their time and financially so PVES kids get a top notch education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

We are finishing our first year at PVES. Our son is in Kindergarten. PVES is a fantastic school. The facilities are amazing, the teachers are extremely dedicated and caring, and the involvement of parents is nothing short of miraculous. Classes benefit by LMU staff, parent volunteers and teacher's aids. The STEM focused curriculum continues to be developed and enhanced. The school has had some challenges, but through the cooperation of LAUSD/ Teachers/LMU and parents, the school is moving forward next year with exciting new changes including new school leadership. My son looks forward to going to school each day and he benefits from excellent after-school programs as well. He is reading, writing, adding and subtracting. For him, homework is fun and so is his overall school experience. The genuine old fashioned neighborhood attributes of PVES, coupled with parental involvement and a fantastic boosters program (parents are encouraged to donate to enable payment for all the extra programs) all result in a rare gem within LAUSD. How lucky we are to be able to send our child to an LAUSD school that fosters and promotes such a positive and rewarding learning and growing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2014

Our daughter is finishing her second year at this school and has had a fantastic experience. The teachers are dedicated, caring and very professional. The partnership with Loyola Marymount University has contributed tremendously to making the STEM curriculum a success. The buildings are LEED certified and the nature preserve immediately adjacent to the campus offer tremendous learning opportunities. This school is a true gem!!! We can't wait for our son to begin in the first of his 6 years at PVES this Fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2014

New school and for those who care about test scores, promising test scores the first year! As a parent who has experienced other LAUSD schools, CCUSD schools and private schools, PVES is a rare find. There will be issues at every school however the leadership will be changing next year so it is expected that many of the present issues at PVES will be rectified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

Love this school so far. My child is in Kinder and is learning based on own needs. Children often go to discovery park to explore and do science experiments. I don't have any other schools to compare it to but when I tell other parents and people who work at other schools, they seem amazed at how much my child is exposed to. I do agree that they ask for donations often and the principal seems disconnected. I volunteer in my child's class so, for me being disconnected to the principal isn't an issue because I connect with the teacher who is with my child ALL day! to each their own. every school will have issues. We'll see how it goes but so far, so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

Beautiful campus but not functioning well. The principal is not collaborative and does not promote integrating innovative programs. Progress has been so slow and precious learning time lost for the students due to a disconnect between her with a traditional, stale approach and the vision and direction of what LMU and parents offer to bring in. Friday assemblies are bizarre and there is a raffle for kids with good behavior. Some win more than once and some never win. It's ridiculous and unfair. P.E. is non-existent except for the program funded by the parents. Lunch rules are absurd. Last year kids were only allowed to play in small groups within their own class in a weekly designated area. This year parents fought for students to have free play and interact with other classmates and friends. Principal dresses in boots and clothes that are inappropriate for school and does not set a good example for young girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

900

Change from
2012 to 2013

N/A

API Statewide Rank
(2013)

N/A

API Similar Schools Rank (2013)

N/A


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.

This school's
API score

900

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

N/A

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2013)

N/A

API Statewide Rank (2013)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2013 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2013.
API Similar Schools Rank (2013)

N/A

API Similar Schools Rank (2013)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 40%
Black 25%
Asian 17%
Hispanic 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/AN/A
English language learners 4%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 156 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
73%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
71%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
76%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
88%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
79%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
97%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
85%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
91%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
65%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
97%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
84%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
72%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
96%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
79%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
79%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents7634%
Students6297%
Employees1860%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Karina Salazar
Fax number
  • (310) 862-9310

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13150 W. Bluff Creek Drive
Playa Vista, CA 90094
Website: Click here
Phone: (424) 228-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ballona Creek Academy
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT