Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Playa Vista, CA
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted June 17, 2015
- a community member
Fabulous teachers, fabulous parents and super fabulous kids. It is a beautiful building, great location with great resources and a wonderful collaborative relationship with Loyola Marymount University.

Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
We are very happy with the administration and teacher. This has been a huge transition for a first time kindergarten family. Feedback from teacher has been outstanding on every level. Feels like a partnership.


Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
Playa Vista Elementary is truly wonderful school. We are now in our 3rd year (14-15) and have had some growing pains over the first 2 years. However, with a new and energetic, engaged Principal, we have seen the STEM Curriculum come into sharper focus and our partnership with LMU has shown incredible benefits. Most importantly our 2 children both attend PVES and love it there. They are offered challenging schoolwork in a supportive environment. Moreover, the teachers are truly exceptional in their credentials, dedication and commitment to our children and the school itself. We look forward to our future years at PVES.

Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
The support from parents, LMU, the community, local businesses and mother nature make this idyllic STEM based school a delight. To get to school each day, most families walk or ride bikes and soak up the wetlands scrubbed fresh air and Platinum LEED certified "school of the future". With an emphasis on ecology, any given day may include a visit from NASA, Google, an Olympic athlete, a local professional sports team, chess, yoga, phenomenal teachers and a stellar principle. Dreamy and free, with the exception of the suggested donation per year of $1250 that funds TAs, the computer and science labs, music programs, arts and the library.

Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
PVES is thriving. Under new leadership, great teachers, amazing parental involvement and a strong partnership with LMU, it is more like a private school, but in a genuine community setting. What a difference a new principal makes. Boosters and parent volunteers make a huge difference too. We feel lucky to able to send our child to PVES.


Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
I have a 2d grader and a Kinder at PVES. I couldn't be happier at this school. It is one of the few LAUSD schools with such a large amount of parent involvement. The community is so involved, its wonderful. The school's new Principal (Ms. Johnson) is fabulous, hands on and works her tail off. The implementation of the STEM program is realized daily. These kids have it great here. My only issue, is what LAUSD middle school will live up to this school?

Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
My daughter just started Kindergarten this year and we could not be more pleased. Her teacher is so warm, organized and is great with the kids and parents. The principal is a dynamo, forever engaged, very approachable and is doing amazing throngs for the school- namely implementing a cutting edge STEM curriculum. The school community is very close knit and very involved- there are all sorts of fun things for families to participate in though out the year, such as a Halloween Festival, Picnics, Open House etc, The booster club does an amazing job with fundraising as well. The campus is new and beautiful too.

Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
This is my sons second year at PVES and we could not be any happier! He is thriving in every way academically and socially. The teachers are all wonderful and the parent group is strong and extremely supportive. Amazing school and we are blessed to be a part of it!


Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
PVES is an amazing school and I am very proud to have my daughter attend this school. The parents are a strong group and the teachers have an amazing wealth of knowledge and a passion for children. Now that the district is allowing us to upgrade our leadership I, as a father, am hoping for a male influence to complement the terrific ladies of PVES! Go Osprey!!!

Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
Playa Vista Elementary is a wonderful school with excellent teachers, staff, and high parental involvement. I have two children who have been at the school since it opened almost two years ago and they have both had great experiences. It is in a beautiful location and the partnership with LMU is a real benefit as well. My husband and I plan to keep our children there through fifth grade.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Playa Vista Elementary
13150 W. Bluff Creek Drive, Playa Vista, CA  90094
(424) 228-1800
Last modified Playa Vista Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5
Playa Vista Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top