Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gregory Gardens Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2013

My 2 daughters went here and one just graduated a few days ago. Excellent school. Thre are extra help programs, tons of parent involvement and the teachers are excellent. When my baby gets older I hope she can go here too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

We have had a great experience with Gregory Gardens in Kindergarten this year. Great teacher, staff and Principal. Very "real world", down-to-earth school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

The principal at this school is phenomenal. Her love of the students is evident every day! I am happy to have my son at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2010

I feel lucky to have my school close to my house and my son going there. Edcation is the most important think in the life and we have more than that i this nice school with the best efforts and communication from the principal and teachers by e mail, phone or in person. You feel there like you are in family and i will be sad the day my son moves to middle. Anyway i will be always in deep appreciation with the Gregory Gardens School .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

Due to the limitations of the district's budget constraints, this family rates Gregory Gardens above average; however, we rate the dedication of the principal, teachers, PTA, and parents as excellent. The new principal is an amazing tour de force who is committed to the school's success and of all who attend. We value the sense of community this neighborhood school provides, as well as the higher level of diversity than other nearby schools. The school actively promotes respect and provides a safe environment to learn and play. Our child thinks the school '...is the one that kids should attend.' What better words could be said?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

I am really happy with Gregory Gardens Elementary. The teachers are professional & kind. The children are well behaved. My favorite part has been making personal connections with neighbors who are well educated professionals like myself. We take our children's life experiences seriously and want our children to receive a good education. Sometimes Gregory Gardens gets an unfair rap because the test scores don't accurately reflect the full time students. Many neighborhood children go to neighboring schools because the rumor on the streets are that our school isn't as good as others. This creates vacancies that are temporarily filled throughout the school year by children from all over MDUSD. Many children whose scores show up on our records have only been in our school for a few weeks. Most of my peers' children excel academically and score very high on the standardized tests. I love our community school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

Gregory Gardens is an excellent school. I have 4 children. 1 has already moved on to middle school and attended K-5 at GG, I currently have a 1st grader there and my baby daughter will attend there in about 4 years. Over the course of the years, the school has grown and parent participation has increased, which is truly the key to all great schools. When you have a strong PTA working in partnership with the administration, in a recession, and programs are NOT being cut but programs are actually being added to support all of the children. I am very proud of GG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

I think this is school is doing an excellent work. It is working for my children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2007

Gregory gardens is the best. I wish they have a after school reading program to help kids speed up their reading. Homework club needs to be a little be more pushy, and teachers are great! We just need more help with after school programs available!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2007

My kids have a had a great time here. I really enjoyed what I have seen here at Gregory Garden so far. I still have 3 more years to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

I have been very happy with this school. My daughter loves it, too. The SDC is great. They really care about the kids and the PTA does a great job with all the fundraisers and activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

Gregory Gardens is a great school! The parent involvement and the teacher involvement goes above and beyond what I ever could imagine at an elementary school. There is a strong sense of community and the kids are happy and bright. The teachers all have creative and hands on way of teaching so that each child gets the best education they can get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2006

Both of my children attend gregory gardens school. At gregory gardens children come first. Each child is encouraged to do their absolute best. All the teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The school seems to get better and better each passing year...And this year gregory gardens became a california distinguished school...An award that makes me proud to say that my children go to gregory gardens school...If want to see hands on just go to our school web-site and see for yourself!! www.Gregorygardens.Com donna:-)~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

We have been very happy with the Special Ed preschool program at Gregory Gardens. Very interactive teaching and involved parents. Great Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy programs, as well as speech pathology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

My son attended GG for kindergarten and fell in love with the school. There's a strong sense of community there. And they make school fun. They have the 1000 page book club where kids can earn awards. They also have a parade and huge festival. My son loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2005

I really love having my two boys attending gregory gardens. Both teachers have really went beyond in making the year a great learning experience. Both teachers were easily available for one on one conferences on anything I was concerned about. I am very happy with the community. Parent involvement is really high and shows in the success of the school. Parents looking out for the good of all children and not just their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2005

Gregory Gardens is a small friendly school. It has a safe, small town feel with many 2nd graders on up walking or riding their bikes to school. There are not a lot of extracaricular activities and, what with funding cuts, the ones we do have are vulnerable. My daughter is a third grader and this year they had a wonderful music program, running club, and they learned to play chess in her class. All of her teachers have been great. This school has shown a lot of academic improvment recently. And the after care program 'Kidstop' is very popular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2004

This is a great school. The teachers are very supportive and the Principal is a wonderful woman who works very hard to keep everything in order. A really great place for children to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2004

I am very happy with the education my son is receiving at Gregory Garden's Elementary School. He got a slow start and was retained in first grade this year. We were worried that he might have some kind of learning disability, so we asked the principal if they could do some tests to asses his academic performance. The testing process was handled quickly, efficiently and low and behold we found that he would benefit from some extra help through the school's program! What a relief, to get the information we needed and with such kind understanding from all of the school employees/teachers. I would reccomend this school to anyone, but also remind parents that we have to be actively involved too, if we want our children to succeed in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2004

My son has been at Gregory Gardens for five years and we are sad to see his time there coming to an end. This school has a real sense of community. I feel completely confident that my son has received an excellent start to his education through the fine teachers at this school. Any child lucky enough to go here will get a great start.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

820

Change from
2012 to 2013

+23

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

820

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+23

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females52%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students55%
Females44%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females40%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)41%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)25%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students60%
Females56%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females82%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state60%

Math

All Students74%
Females82%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females61%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state53%

Math

All Students49%
Females50%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state48%

Science

All Students49%
Females50%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)33%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 39%
White 33%
Asian 12%
Two or more races 8%
Black 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/AN/A
English language learners 23%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Corritone Court
Pleasant Hill, CA 94523
Phone: (925) 827-3770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Pacific Bridge Academy
Pleasant Hill, CA


Valhalla Elementary School
Pleasant Hill, CA


Sequoia Elementary School
Pleasant Hill, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT