Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Phoebe Apperson Hearst Elementary School 3

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Sadly the school has changed. The principal that was there for years and was extremely adored by students, teachers and parents has moved into a district job. The new principal and vice principal have not continued to keep the school at the same standards. Students are not being held accountable for their bad behavior, cultures are not blending well and teachers seem to not be happy there anymore. The overall pride for the school had has diminished greatly. Hearst is not what it used to be.....

Phoebe Apperson Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
Hearst is an absolutely amazing school. We had our children in private school in Concord before moving to Pleasanton, and I'm happy to say that we are much happier with Hearst than we were with a school that we had to spend thousands to attend. Mr. Kuhfal is absolutely amazing, and knew all of my kids' names within 3 weeks of the school year beginning. The children are expected to be polite and courteous to others, and are challenged in the classroom. I am especially impressed with the playground rules that are designed to leave no child friendless. It made for a very easy transition for my kids! Academically, the school is obviously top notch as the scores indicate. It's all the extras that surprised me. I feel like we won the lottery with this school.


Phoebe Apperson Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2013
- a parent
Excellent School. The techers are very hands-ons making sure everyone is attended to/cared for. We are very happy with the school. PTA is very strong and active. Well rounded Curriculum.

Phoebe Apperson Hearst Elementary School 4

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
This is a great school, with dedicated principal and teachers. But, some of the tenured teachers who have been there for a long time, are too laid back and don't challenge the students adequately. I wish there was a way to give the principal and the board feedback in terms of an year end evaluation of the class teacher.

Phoebe Apperson Hearst Elementary School 3

Posted September 15, 2010
- a parent
This is our first year at Hearst and we are extremely impressed by the leadership of Principal Kufhal. He is a great administrator and caring towards all the students. The teaching staff is great also. The only downside of this school is the parents and students are not as friendly to the new families or students. I don't feel there is a sense of community at this school.


Phoebe Apperson Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school. I have 2 kids enrolled there and they both love it. This school is well balanced on all levels. They have great school spirit, enthusiastic parents and great staff at the school.

Phoebe Apperson Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2007
- a parent
Our family moved here 4 years ago. Initially, I was worried about how our children would adjust, but the transition period was minimal. Each of them are very happy that we moved here, and each is doing very well both academically and socially. I credit the success of the school to a number of factors: Mr. Kuhfal is a tremendous administrator, the teachers and staff are extremely dedicated, and there is very high parental participation & enthusiasm.

Phoebe Apperson Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2007
- a parent
When I moved here I had no transportation and I could not get my daughter to school making me have to home school. The staff at Hearst as well as the District worked so hard to get her into the school. Within three weeks she was enrolled at Hearst. Making it easy as we just live right across the street. Thank you Hearst!


Phoebe Apperson Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted November 22, 2004
- a parent
What a wonderful school! Parent involvement is outstanding, with several parents helping each classroom. My (2) Kindergarteners adore their teachers. The classrooms are fun, but focussed equally on respect and consideration amongst the students.

Phoebe Apperson Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2004
- a parent
We moved here from another supposedly 'better' school. However as my kid attends his second year at Hearst, we feel that the school, the principal, the staff, everything is top-notch. I am most impressed to see Mr. Kufal directing traffic rain or shine, even when he was on crutches. You can't find a more devoted and committed group of educators and administrators here. Way to go Hearst!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Phoebe Apperson Hearst Elementary School
5301 Case Avenue, Pleasanton, CA  94566-8005
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (925) 426-3772
Last modified Phoebe Apperson Hearst Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top