Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Stratford School - Pleasanton

Private | PK-5

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Pleasanton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $577,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 17, 2014

The balance of academics and extracurricular activities are awesome.Teachers are good,homework and class work system has balance.Parent involvement is encouraged and parents are notified well with their online portal system. Now why two stars less- teachers have complaining attitude.They are perfectionists where we adults are never perfect ourselves. They expect the kids to be robots.This is definitely unattainable in a class with age range of 5 to 7.When they allow kids eligible for DK in KG they expect them to behave like first graders. What's then the role of teachers, what are they for and what is the essence of learning and improve over time.We request parents interested in admission to discuss expectations with the principal right from day 1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

We love Stratford since my preschooler seems to be having a great experience there.He is learning a lot and enjoys being at school everyday:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

We put our 4 year old in Stratford. What really worries us is the child seems intimidated. When we get into the school he will cower, walk by our side, shy away from contact with the teachers etc. This is from a child who is normally very social. There was an incident in the playground where a preschooler threw a stone at him narrowly missing his eye. When I went to pick him up, he came running to me and started crying and looked so traumatized, When I asked the primary principal, she asked him to "be a little man and to set an example".. They tried to underplay it by saying he threw stones at lunch and so preschoolers threw stones in the evening. All these years, never have teachers given such ridiculous explanations when a child is hurt. My son said there were no "Commanders or caretakers" for the extended care at that time. We still do not know how the children threw stones and why there was no supervision. We are planning to withdraw him - we do not believe in kids being intimidated. But I have to mention he loved his classmates, his room teachers and his classroom. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

This school is amazing! My kindergartened loves the school and looks forward to going everyday. The difference? The curriculum is really keeping up with the times (Parent loves this) BUT in a Fun way (Child loves this) Right balance of Academics (Parent loves this) and PE (child loves this) Very open culture of meeting and getting along with Teachers (parent loves this) and has enough fun events in the classroom to get togther (child loves this) Right balance of one-to-one attention (child loves this) without being spoilt/ pampered (parent loves this) Diverse people / very friendly managment, always appraochable, no-attitude tantrums, very inclusive in child's growth (Everybody loves this!) Stratford is a blessing in Pleasanton!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

Our experience with Stratford has been quite rewarding. We were still seeking that Special environment where we knew our kids would grow & be challenged yet rewarded in their formative years. We were quite happy to see the attention to detail in the many ways that the Teachers & Principals looked after our little ones both from the curriculum and approach to teaching. They made it fun & motivating in the classrooms that our 2 young ones were looking forward to going to school daily. We feel this way of education imbibed in their Program encourages a Lifelong passion for learning and pushing their minds & imagination. We find the Stratford curriculum well rounded and all subjects have something in common therefore making the learning experience more fun and rewarding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

We are so happy that Stratford has finally arrived to Pleasanton. Although it's only been a few weeks of school, the elementary school girls are loving it! They come home singing songs that promote school spirit or help them with sentence structure. Stratford seems to have a model for keeping learning fun while emphasizing the academic fundamentals. We appreciate how organized the curriculum is as well as the high expectations that they have of the children. However, our girls haven't felt pressure but rather they are rising to the occasion. Our girls are happy going to school, are learning the importance of personal responsibility as well taking pride in ones work. The teachers are kind, compassionate yet honest with the students as to the expectations. We have found this to be a winning combination. The small class sizes allow the teachers to really get to know the students. The specialty classes such as music, Spanish, computers and physical education round out the curriculum. As parents, we appreciate that the vocabulary words are relevant to the history lesson, the art project may be related to history and the poem for the week is tied to the science topic!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4576 Willow Road
Pleasanton, CA 94588
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 918-5667

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT