Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Stratford School - Pleasanton 1

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
This school is academics and no play. I pulled my preschooler out due to lack of play time they have. 4 year olds need to enjoy their youth. Found out this school has been sited by licensing. I'm not sure why anyone would put their kids in this school. My kid was not happy here at all

Stratford School - Pleasanton 4

Posted June 23, 2014
- a teacher
We are new to Stratford Pleasanton, but could not feel more welcome and taken care of by Jessie Channey and her team. They have allowed our family all the time we needed to get the information to feel comfortable making our choice, allowing my boys to do drop in times with their future classmates and answer questions by phone. The program is so well run, provides a safe place for young children on up, lots of new & exciting programming not available at their competitors and most of all, everyone has shown great interest in my children - from the friendly security guards, to the teachers and even the Director during her busy day. Thank you Stratford! We are looking forward to moving this to 5 stars with more time with you.


Stratford School - Pleasanton 3

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
The balance of academics and extracurricular activities are awesome.Teachers are good,homework and class work system has balance.Parent involvement is encouraged and parents are notified well with their online portal system. Now why two stars less- teachers have complaining attitude.They are perfectionists where we adults are never perfect ourselves. They expect the kids to be robots.This is definitely unattainable in a class with age range of 5 to 7.When they allow kids eligible for DK in KG they expect them to behave like first graders. What's then the role of teachers, what are they for and what is the essence of learning and improve over time.We request parents interested in admission to discuss expectations with the principal right from day 1.

Stratford School - Pleasanton 5

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
We love Stratford since my preschooler seems to be having a great experience there.He is learning a lot and enjoys being at school everyday:)

Stratford School - Pleasanton 1

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
We put our 4 year old in Stratford. What really worries us is the child seems intimidated. When we get into the school he will cower, walk by our side, shy away from contact with the teachers etc. This is from a child who is normally very social. There was an incident in the playground where a preschooler threw a stone at him narrowly missing his eye. When I went to pick him up, he came running to me and started crying and looked so traumatized, When I asked the primary principal, she asked him to "be a little man and to set an example".. They tried to underplay it by saying he threw stones at lunch and so preschoolers threw stones in the evening. All these years, never have teachers given such ridiculous explanations when a child is hurt. My son said there were no "Commanders or caretakers" for the extended care at that time. We still do not know how the children threw stones and why there was no supervision. We are planning to withdraw him - we do not believe in kids being intimidated. But I have to mention he loved his classmates, his room teachers and his classroom. .


Stratford School - Pleasanton 5

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
This school is amazing! My kindergartened loves the school and looks forward to going everyday. The difference? The curriculum is really keeping up with the times (Parent loves this) BUT in a Fun way (Child loves this) Right balance of Academics (Parent loves this) and PE (child loves this) Very open culture of meeting and getting along with Teachers (parent loves this) and has enough fun events in the classroom to get togther (child loves this) Right balance of one-to-one attention (child loves this) without being spoilt/ pampered (parent loves this) Diverse people / very friendly managment, always appraochable, no-attitude tantrums, very inclusive in child's growth (Everybody loves this!) Stratford is a blessing in Pleasanton!

Stratford School - Pleasanton 5

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
Our experience with Stratford has been quite rewarding. We were still seeking that Special environment where we knew our kids would grow & be challenged yet rewarded in their formative years. We were quite happy to see the attention to detail in the many ways that the Teachers & Principals looked after our little ones both from the curriculum and approach to teaching. They made it fun & motivating in the classrooms that our 2 young ones were looking forward to going to school daily. We feel this way of education imbibed in their Program encourages a Lifelong passion for learning and pushing their minds & imagination. We find the Stratford curriculum well rounded and all subjects have something in common therefore making the learning experience more fun and rewarding!

Stratford School - Pleasanton 5

Posted September 25, 2012
- a parent
We are so happy that Stratford has finally arrived to Pleasanton. Although it's only been a few weeks of school, the elementary school girls are loving it! They come home singing songs that promote school spirit or help them with sentence structure. Stratford seems to have a model for keeping learning fun while emphasizing the academic fundamentals. We appreciate how organized the curriculum is as well as the high expectations that they have of the children. However, our girls haven't felt pressure but rather they are rising to the occasion. Our girls are happy going to school, are learning the importance of personal responsibility as well taking pride in ones work. The teachers are kind, compassionate yet honest with the students as to the expectations. We have found this to be a winning combination. The small class sizes allow the teachers to really get to know the students. The specialty classes such as music, Spanish, computers and physical education round out the curriculum. As parents, we appreciate that the vocabulary words are relevant to the history lesson, the art project may be related to history and the poem for the week is tied to the science topic!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stratford School - Pleasanton
4576 Willow Road, Pleasanton, CA  94588
(925) 918-5667
Last modified Stratford School - Pleasanton is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Stratford School - Pleasanton Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top