Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alisal Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 649 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

As the teacher seldom gave the information of what happened in the classroom. It is a little bit hard to tell if the school did good or not. However, according to the info I gathered from other parents, their work makes no output at all on such issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

We moved to Pleasanton couple years ago. Our both boys are/were (the older one moved this year to middle school) in Alisal. We are very happy with the school. Being involve in school made us feel very quickly a part of a community. The principal and teachers seems to know names of all the students which is pretty amazing! They are very caring and involved. Parent involvement and the level of education here is very good comparing to the schools we had an experience with before and to what we hear from parents from other schools in Bay area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2013

We are not happy with this school. The principal and the teachers are full of bias and prejudice. They even canceled all the field trips only because one of the teacher don't like them. None of the principal or the teachers know how to treat the students equally no matter what the race is. It is really unbelievable there are still such a school in California which still encourages racism in nowadays. I think the government really should think it over about their public school policy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Awesome school. Balanced - Not very demanding at the same time, not laid back. I meet the parents of some other supposedly "top" schools in the same district and they tell horror stories about theirs. I feel my daughter is getting developed in an all round manner. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2012

My son went to Third grade last school year..I love everything about the school, except only one thing i.e they charge you more for class supplies compared to other Pleasanton schools..Most of the schools charge about $45 but Alisal charges between $65-75 per student, which I find to be very high..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

Very high quality method of teaching. Basic skills being taught in Math, Science and English. Most students are smart and hardworking. I think the success of this school is due to parent participation in school activities and another factor is the high level of education of the parents. The amount of excitement i see t my daughter to go to school is speechless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

This is a really great school. The principal, teachers and support staff are incredible. They are very caring and concerned for the kids. Its a nice community to be a part of. My older child attended another school in Pleasanton which we also loved but there is something special about Alisal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

My child moved here this year after two horrible years in a charter school. I could not be happier about the care her teacher takes in providing individualized attention and true care for the students and their learning. The parent community is supportive and engaged in providing extra resources as the district and state are taking them away. The principal is incredibly present and welcoming. I could not be happier that we were "overflowed" to this school, and do not intend to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2010

This is an excellent school. My son attended this school for a year in 2009-2010 and he learned a lot academically and socially. The teacher Mrs Weeks is really a wonderful teacher, and the principal and the staff were all very caring and dedicated. Since my attendance area is in Walnut Grove, we just moved my son to the Grove but we missed Alisal a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

My daughter's are been so fortunate to attend such a great school. The teacher's here are extremely talented and creative. The principal is also very good about communicating with parents and dealing with any and all issues that may arise. Parent involvement is also very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

We've been at Alisal for 5 years now, I have 3 girls attending. We are extremely happy and feel fortunate our girls can attend a school in Pleasanton and perfectly happy and satisfied with Alisal. Every year I have been impressed and very happy with the teachers my girls get. Even more important, they have always loved their teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

We are not happy with this school at all. From the principal to the teachers there is nothing but disfunctional behavior at this school. We are definitely looking to move next year! My child deserves way better than what they have received thus far!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love the education my child is receiving from Alisal. This his 6th year and I've had no disapointments. Growing up in private schools I had my reservations at first, but now I am completely satisfied and I know I made the right choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

My older daughter has attended Alisal for the past two years and my younger daughter will start next week. Alisal is a wonderful school with fantastic teachers, great students, and dedicated parents. I was amazed at the reading and writing level that my daughter was at when she ended First Grade and I think this speaks to the strong curriculum and hard work of the teachers. The teachers are lead by Principal Amy Simione who I am SOO impressed with. Ms. Simione started at Alisal in the Fall of 2006 and she is wonderful with the students. She makes herself very available on campus (she s out directing the drop-off traffic every morning and greeting students by name) and it seems that the staff is well organized and in strong support of her leadership. We have been very pleased with Alisal and look forward to many more successful years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

Both my sons attend Alisal. I moved to Pleasanton based on their school district. I am very happy with the level of learning and with the dedication and suuport of the staff with my children. Not only the pricipal and teachers, but other parents willingness to help out ALL children succeed. Many resources available to children and lots of volunteering year-round. Ms. Simione is very approachable and dedicated to each child overall well-being and success. She has been working with me and my son and his teacher, and I see a spectacular and positive change in my son's attitude and behavior. She has (and the teachers) made themselves available for communication by phone and e-mail on a regular basis. My children love Alisal and their happiness is my happiness. My little one just finished Kinder eager to learn and explore, my oldest one will be entering 5th grade this fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

My oldest went through Alisal and now my youngest is attending. I have had only wonderful teachers, who support my child and make sure that if he needs additional help, he receives it. The teachers work hard to make sure that students are challenged. The teachers and staff also work together to share ideas that work and are willing to try new programs to help keep up on the latest information and learning tools. The school has a very involved PTA who also stands behind the teachers and staff 100% and who is there to help parents when needed. I highly recommend Alisal to any family interested in their child receiving the very best education in a friendly, nuturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

I have only one year of experience at Alisal but, it's been great so far. Teachers work together a lot and I like that. Our classroom had many parent volunteers and that made a big difference the teacher said. I do believe that in this day and age, parents really need to step it up and volunteer a whole lot more. Being a working parent is no excuse either, as many in our class were working parents who volunteered... including dads. Our class made great strides this year, above average the teacher said, in part due to volunteers and of course, involved parents. That's the bottom line!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

I have not been impressed with Alisal at all. The principal seems to have a control issue. My child's teacher(s) have been a joke this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

Great school, fantastic and creative teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

Alisal is a great school with great teachers and a lot of parent involvement (sometimes too much). My child loves his teacher and it is a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

885

Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

885

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females78%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability36%
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females84%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females61%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asian74%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disability55%
Students with no reported disability60%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females89%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability91%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Females96%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disability86%
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students93%
Females96%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disability86%
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females84%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females79%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students89%
Females88%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 27%
Asian 25% 11%
Hispanic 13% 51%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1454 Santa Rita Road
Pleasanton, CA 94566
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 426-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Hacienda School
Pleasanton, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT