Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Amador Valley High School 1

Posted October 11, 2014
- a community member
As a former student for two years at this school, I have to say that although many students have been very successful here, it needs to improve a lot. Most importantly, the school administration needs to understand how students feel.

Amador Valley High School 1

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
Amador High School continues to assign insane, destructive amounts of work to kids. Sounds great, right? Wrong. I know 2 different kids who were hospitalized from stress. My own child, once bright and curious, now refuses to even consider college. Amador beat the curiosity right out of her and replaced it will dull hate. Pleasanton schools have high test scores but at the expense of destroying children's emotional growth, in many cases driving them to anxiety attacks. 4 hours a night of homework, relentless pressure by teachers. Zero accountability. Teachers and administrators don't care. They want test scores at any price, and are willing to ignore teen's health to get them. There was open revolt in Pleasanton in 2010 and 2011 with parents forming a group to pressure the school system to stop abusing their power in this matter. The school system printed a new policy cuting back on homework abuse...and teachers simply ignore it. If you are a parent who wants to pressure your kid to get into Berkeley at any cost, and are willing to risk their mental health to get there, and are willing to risk your families' integrity, then by all means, come to Pleasanton.


Amador Valley High School 4

Posted September 23, 2013
- a student
Amador, since then and till now, had always been a school that's very rich in diversity. It's not only rich in academic programs, but also in the different ways to challenge yourself. With that in mind, the atmosphere, in contrast to schools in South Bay or maybe Fremont, is much easier to deal with, and you do find a lot of staff that's always willing to give you a hand when you are struggling with any hardship. However, that also means you need to be more diligent on your own. Amador is just too big for those who are expecting to be centered all the time. You may not be feeling it, but when you are starting to lose your reputation on hard working, you will eventually find out that you are left behind. Get ready to enjoy the great environment that school gives you - but if just being average isn't your thing, it would be better to work hard.

Amador Valley High School 4

Posted September 17, 2012
- a parent
I have to agree with the former student, that the teachers are hit and miss. Most of the teachers are highly motivated and student centered, willing to make time outside of class to help struggling students. Only a few teachers have not been responsive to parent emails, most are willing to meet with student and parent. Administration is awesome. Principal knows all the students and walks around campus at lunch connecting with them. Assistant Principals are also very connected with the student body. While the school has 3 special education classrooms there is no specific program to integrate special education students into the extra-curricular and club activities of the school, though in general the student body is open and welcoming to these students. The administration is making a concerted effort to prevent bullying among students and staff. There's a PTA with a lot of parental involvement, especially for the senior class parents.

Amador Valley High School 4

Posted November 28, 2011
- a parent
Amador is a great school but like any other large public school, it is really upto the student. There is no hand holding here. Teachers can be a hit or miss. Again, it is a good school if students are self motivated and seek out opportunities. But this is the case with all large public schools. Overall good but be prepared to sail on your own for most part.


Amador Valley High School 5

Posted November 01, 2011
- a community member
As a graduate I could not complain ten years ago, this school was fun, full off cooperative staff and students alike. Compared to my little brothers school now as a Sr. in Nevada, this school was the best!!!

Amador Valley High School 5

Posted September 14, 2011
- a student
this is a great school im a freshman here and i love it! it s such a cool school

Amador Valley High School 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
Amador is an all around great school- committed to excellence. Has one of the highest rates of AP passing grades in states!


Amador Valley High School 4

Posted March 12, 2011
- a student
I moved to Pleasanton relatively recently. After going to Amador Valley High School for some time, I've noticed several things. - Plenty to do. There is a plethora of classes to take, and many, many interesting clubs. There's never enough time to take a look at everything at this school. Definitely plenty of opportunities for leadership if you try hard enough to look for them. - Very competitive atmosphere. There's daily drama between the "high-performance" students about things like grades, test scores, and extracurricular stuff. It's definitely not a healthy atmosphere. - Beware of foreign language. The foreign language department here is really, really bad. Some of the teachers are laughably bad. So for foreign language, I would probably have been better off studying on my own out of a textbook. - Teachers vary wildly. There are lots of fantastic, excellent teachers (especially in history, math, English) and some of really bad teachers who show no passion in teaching. Watch out for who you get, and ask around. You can always switch teachers during the 1st week of each semester. Overall, AVHS is a great school. I would definitely recommend this school over many others.

Amador Valley High School 0
no rating

Posted November 06, 2009
- a parent
I love Amador because it is doing great things academically for my two daughters, a Junior and a Sophomore! Keep up the great work!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Amador Valley High School
1155 Santa Rita Road, Pleasanton, CA  94566
(925) 461-6100
Last modified Amador Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Amador Valley High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top