Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Pleasanton, CA
Students enrolled: 697
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lydiksen Elementary School 3

Posted June 22, 2015
- a parent
I have been a volunteer at this school for many years in my childrens' classrooms and have been disappointed by what I've seen. Very large class sizes at this school combined with small spaces hinder a quality learning environment. There are many great teachers at this school. However, some teachers seem frustrated by students. I have seen several teachers yelling at students and entire classes. I have seen some teachers discouraging students by embarrassing them in front of the class for asking questions! Lack of resources for students who struggle with reading is somewhat offset by parent trained volunteers (which is better than nothing, I guess). Children who excel are bored (there is no GT program), but the overall philosophy is "they'll only be bored for a few years, because they all even out by 3rd grade". My child learned nothing new last year. Literally, nothing. The new Principal (Mr. Berg) and VP (Ms. Gates) have implemented new "no running" rules at recess. No running anywhere except the grass, but have also removed soccer and tag as appropriate activities. Children are allowed to run, but no child I've ever met likes to just run for the sake of running. Children are getting less exercise and then returning to class with excess energy. Kids are allowed to shoot hoops, but not "play basketball" for fear of someone being injured. These new rules were never written or sent home to parents. Mr. Berg doesn't even seem to really like kids and is rude to parents. The yard duties are generally good, but Peter seems to have a lot more physical contact with the kids than the other yard duties. I have frequently seen him rubbing kids' shoulders, running his fingers through their hair and having K-1 girls hugging him and sitting on his lap. He gives out "good for you" coupons for apparently no reason other than being around him (these coupons are supposed to be for picking up trash or being a good citizen). Concerns brought to the attention of administrators over the years about him have been ignored.

Lydiksen Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 21, 2015
- a parent
For the average student, they are mostly effective. For struggling students the lack of resources prohibits this.


Lydiksen Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 21, 2015
- a parent
Recent studies have shown that homework for K-3rd makes little to no difference in learning or test scores. These grades could have children focus on reading and math facts in lieu of homework. For grades 4-5, the homework seems just right.

Lydiksen Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 21, 2015
- a parent
For the average student, maybe. For students who excel, there aren't a whole lot of challenges thrown their way. I haven't seen any programs or projects that promote trial and error or anything that would take determination.

Lydiksen Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 21, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers create an environment that fosters these traits, others do not. The Principal does not seem very caring toward students.


Lydiksen Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 21, 2015
- a parent
The school focuses on creating good citizens with the "good for you" coupon program. Also, they give awards for being honest, having integrity, being compassionate, etc.

Lydiksen Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2011
- a parent
I love Lydiksen School.Great teachers, AND GREAT Principal. My son is in third grade and he has a nice teacher also gets to hatch chicks. I am glad that he is happy.Great people in the front office.They also have a fun club that is called BBC you get an awsome breakfast!!!!! Student,Parent

Lydiksen Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
I have two sons who just finished 2nd grade and the teachers they had are by far the most ideal teachers in their field. The personal attention and encouragement each student gets at this school is very empowering and boosts confidence.


Lydiksen Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 15, 2009
- a parent
I love this school! It's a real community of parents and teachers working together.

Lydiksen Elementary School 5

Posted December 27, 2008
- a parent
Excellent school !!!! My son went here from K- 2 grade. Teachers were very involved with all students. Would recommend to everyone as your first choice in this area. 100%

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lydiksen Elementary School
7700 Highland Oaks Drive, Pleasanton, CA  94588
(925) 426-4420
Last modified Lydiksen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lydiksen Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top