Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rio Del Oro Elementary School 1

Posted October 15, 2015
- a community member
The Principle does not know how to handle Special Education Students. In addition to that he feels like suspension is the only option for displine. The education is "okay". But I wouldn't bother sending your child there unless you want them over seen by a dictator.

Rio Del Oro Elementary School 4

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
This school has been a great entry into education for my child but now we are beginning to look at other options. There is no advanced child focus at all, and the curriculum has been pared back to teach directly to Common Core. At every conference (which I am thankful they conduct) we are told how advanced and enjoyable our child is, but that's where the development of the topic ends. There are several advanced children in this school that have no options to develop their talents or skills. The kids are either temporarily moved up to group activities with the next grade (only if it does not interfere with Common Core, so not an option this year for my kid at all), or issued "challenge" questions in the homework packet. It seems like a willy-nilly approach to addressing this segment of the student population. I commend the teachers for doing what they can within the system, but this is a second year of "we don't really have a place for him" other than moving up a grade, which is not really the answer for an academically advanced child with age-appropriate social skills. The potential of this school district seems to have stalled with the growth of the community.


Rio Del Oro Elementary School 1

Posted September 22, 2013
- a parent
Please someone report this school district to the Department of Education for not following their legal obligations for their Special Education Program. Cobble Stone and Rio Del Oro, both are awful places to send your children. If you live in this area send your child to Arboga Elementary. Academically they are far more advanced than Plumas Lake, and with better teachers. I'm sending my child back to Arboga just after a few weeks. Again, their Special Education services are horrible and they are not following legal procedures.

Rio Del Oro Elementary School 1

Posted July 03, 2013
- a parent
Teachers here think they are better than everyone else, some are snotty and rude and absolutely DO NOT care about the children. Humiliation in front of other kids in the classroom happens even in kindergarten. Stay away from this school if you don't want your child to grow with low self esteem but watch out for Cobblestone too.... Not all teachers are probably bad but all it takes is one, one ruined child is one too many and a sign of bad leadership, if nothing else. Very disappointed parent

Rio Del Oro Elementary School 1

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
Please, new principal get rid of the secretary. She calls me several times when my child is sick, and I can't stand her annoying voice interrupting my daughter's class every time I'm volunteering. She is friends with some parents, which is not professional, and I have seen her whispering to parents. Huh, I wonder what she could be whispering about???? Get rid of her, and hire someone who behaves and looks professional please! Oh, and reinforce the dress code with all staff, if there is one.


Rio Del Oro Elementary School 1

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
II agree with all 3 of the posts below. While there are some very good k-2 teachers, there are a few landmines there as well. From 3rd grade forward however, the teachers concentrate almost exclusively on punitive reinforcement. There is very little encouragement, understanding, empathy, or positive reinforcement. Almost everything is concentrated on what you did wrong, how many missed questions will it take to fail, what the punishments will be when you fail, or make a mistake, etc. I was happy to hear that the principal will be moving to another district, however I fear that the teachers currently in place in the upper grades are so entrenched in their disciplinary practices, that it may take years to modify their attitudes and behaviors. Some of the teachers are straight up bullies, and it promotes a hostile attitude in the classrooms and playgrounds. My children will NOT be returning to Rio, period.

Rio Del Oro Elementary School 1

Posted May 03, 2013
- a parent
If your child forgets to write their name on their assignment, then the teacher will rip it in front of the class.

Rio Del Oro Elementary School 1

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
This school is great from K-2. The K-2 teachers are fantastic. After that, for 3-5, the disciplinary plan (or disciplinary chaos - more appropriately) is detrimental to conscientious students. Students lack control over when they will receive punishments which often include publicly humiliation. For example, if you as a parent forget to sign off on your child's homework one night, then your child must stand against the wall during recess. That makes the child feel humiliated and the child feels that they lack personal control over avoiding humiliation-type punishments. I could give many more examples of this type of punishment at the school. However, please note, that if you have a good student, then this is not the school for you. Your good student will dread going to this school every day. I would also say that the school is overly focused on test scores and not on encouraging students to learn and flourish.


Rio Del Oro Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school. My daughter has attended Rio for almost 2 years and we both love this school. The teachers really care about the students as well as the principal.Small class sizes and a family oriented environment.

Rio Del Oro Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2012
- a parent
I love rio! my children have been going to rio del oro for the last 3 years. rio has awesome teachers. I am very happy with my child's education. the only problem i have is the PTO , I am not happy with the leadership of the PTO we need a new leader!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rio Del Oro Elementary School
1220 Zanes Drive, Plumas Lake, CA  95961-9090
(530) 749-0690
Last modified Rio Del Oro Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rio Del Oro Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top