Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cortez Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I really LOVE this school!! It's the best because both my daughters have came a long way academically! To all the staff there that make that school the best! Thanks for all your hard work and dedication! Keep on doing what you all do.

Cortez Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2013
- a community member
this school is the best because they teach very well and help students if they need help


Cortez Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2012
- a parent
I'm continually astonished by the high quality of teaching, dedication of all staff (from the principal to the campus supervisors), and the positivity of the social environment. The end-of-year open house I attended a few weeks ago was tremendously moving. The teachers at Cortez should feel tremendous proud. They are part of something truly wonderful and that is pretty rare.

Cortez Elementary School 4

Posted May 27, 2012
- a community member
I am going into 7th grade this next year and im transfering schools and from what i've heard from the reviews i think the HW is going to be hard but it will help me in life. To the person who gave it a 1 rating i have something to say to you. So wht if she has 4 projects in H.S you will have like 10 projects (as i've heard from high schoolers).

Cortez Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2012
- a community member
This school has opened my future by helping me gain enough knowledge for challenges that lie ahead. I am currently a 9th grader now but i attended 5 to 8 grades at Cortez. For starters you will get homework, projects, and tests no lie about that. But of course as i got older from 5th grade to 6th some of my classmates started leaving? Alot told me "oh it's to hard" "too much homework to strict" Well i started to think maybe i should move but my mom refused!! I thank her for that becuase finishing 8th grade at cortez has helped me in high school becuase some of the material i am learning i have learned at Cortez!!! when everyone else has no idea what it is..:) i was in this school while Mrs. Alvarez was principal now they have changed principals but my younger 9 year old brother attends 4th grade there! Very good teachers are there that help you and encourage you in your academic grades:) i graduated last year 2011 and think what a privillage i had to be in a school like Cortez! It is hard if you don't do the homework In the end promotion for 8th grade is amazing!! A very good school!! even though i thought it was horrible sometimes becuase of the homework i made it with a 3.6:):)


Cortez Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2011
- a parent
Cortez is a great institution, their teachers and principal are fantastic. They go above and beyond in their work with the students so as to prepare them for the future. As for the mother that gave Cortez a 1 star rating because her "daughter said it was hard," all I can say is if she can't handle 7th/8th grade math you better get her additional help now because it doesn't get any easier. The projects help the students prepare for what is to come, once they get to H.S. that's all it is projects, essays, presentations, experiments, reading, oh yeah and then there's the homework too. This is what will seperate the successfull students that go on to great universities, degrees and careers from those who just get by or worse yet end up dropping out. Cortez Rocks!!! Keep up the awesome work...

Cortez Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is finishing second grade this is the first year she is at this school and I am very happy, the teachers are highly qualified, the principal leadership is the best, and she is keeping the parents highly involved. They have tha after school program that ends at 6 pm. and there is a lot of homework help, and a lot of different activities based on a curriculum not only baby sitting kids. Scince she was at other school within the district for first grade, and we run into a lot of bulling activities, and the teachers spent more time disciplining the kids instead of teachin. During this year she was assigned to a toutoring group to cathc up with her peers that start first grade in this school. The comunication with the teachers and principal is very good.

Cortez Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2011
- a parent
7th grade is really HARD... however my experience is... my child has been offered "free" after school tutoring to keep her passing. Math is not her "thing" as she says, but the tutoring does keep her above water, when she attends. any loss in understanding for her appears to be her own doing or "un doing" at this point. I so far can not blame the school.


Cortez Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2011
- a community member
These teachers aren't mean per say, they are just strict, they help children to think ahead for the future, all of these projects are to help your students be better at a certain subject.

Cortez Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2011
- a community member
i personally have to agree..Cortez is a school of greatness..there are so many teachers that care for the students. there are many assignments that are given out..but there shouldnt be any problem completing them.the school gives them ahead of timee so that the students have the ability to turn in an A+ assignment..i as a student at Cortez..love the way the teachers communicate among eachother i think that with the teachers soing thiss..it jst helps the teachers understand where each student struggles more..so that they know there weakness and strength..there are not many schools that have teachers that do so..Cortez is a school of one of a kindd..i dontt thinkk there is any school like or better then it

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cortez Elementary School
1300 North Dudley, Pomona, CA  91768
(909) 397-4800
Last modified Cortez Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cortez Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top