Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted December 18, 2015
- a teacher
I'm a teacher here at Alcott and I would like to say that Mr. Arretche is one of the best principals I have worked with. He is very kind, giving and works very hard to make sure the kids and staff have the very best. Thank you Mr. Arretche!!

Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted December 18, 2015
- a community member
The staff uses modern tech and old-fashioned rigor to tackle the constantly changing demands of the educational code of California.


Alcott Elementary School 4

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
This is my child's first year at the school and so far I am very pleased with the school and the staff. There will always be sour grapes in a sweet bunch so its expected to come across a person or 2 who doesn't particularly have a passion for what they do. I firmly believe that if we want our school to be set apart for the positive difference it makes in the community, then we each need to be willing to be a positive influence. We cannot complain if we are not involved. A school where parents are involved and willing to help in whatever area has a need, is a school that will stand above the rest both in scores and morale. Teamwork makes all the difference, and as an involved parent I can vouch to the fact that we are doing what we can to be a team that boosts our children's morale and enthusiasm for learning! There are monthly parent meetings where a ton of information is handed out, PTA is active in planning and executing activities for our kids and making school fun for them, there are plenty of resources but unfortunately not enough parents who attend meetings to get informed. There is no such thing as a perfect school, but Alcott is certainly doing what it can to be better day by day.......

Alcott Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
I love Cindy! She is so helpful and has such awesome energy & school spirit. She truly is an asset to Alcott.

Alcott Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
My child doesn't spend hours doing homework but isn't able to do it all in one day either.


Alcott Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
There are plenty of incentives both from the Principal and the PTA. When children excel in an academic area they are rewarded for their hard work.

Alcott Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
It's probably a 50/50. Half of the staff is big on respect and the other half is not as focused on developing respect among its students.

Alcott Elementary School 4

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Most of the staff there at Alcott is very nice, the principal is very active and interested in the improvements that needs to get done in the school , now, about the teachers hmmm. Well I have to say that there's a few of them that they really don't care about the students , they have been in this school for more then a decade, maybe that's why they don't want to do their job how they supposed to do it , some of them are very rude to the kids and I'm talking about lil ones from kindergarten, and so on , I think we all deserve respect specially the kids . In my opinion in this aspect maybe the principal needs to be more involved , to guide the parents on how to take action when things like this happens to a student . Another thing that this very large school needs is more tutoring , the scores are very low but it's not because the kids don't want to study or because there's a big population of English learning student , I think if there was more tutoring and more involvement from the parents this school will be one of the best one . We need more team work.


Alcott Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Like I say the teachers that are doing their job good and with passion are effective but the ones that only are teaching because it's a way of leaving or go on with their life are not effective , instead are like an obstacle to students .

Alcott Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Not all teachers treat students with the respect they all deserved , some are very rude to the kids , some of them even bullying students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alcott Elementary School
1600 South Towne Avenue, Pomona, CA  91766-5367
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (909) 397-4552
Last modified Alcott Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top