Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-10
Public district
Pomona, CA
Students enrolled: 391
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Palomares Academy Of Health Science 1

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
Resources are scarce. Even though the school receives funding many classes lack textbooks and necessary supplies. Phones don't work, there are frequent PA interruptions, and admin is fairly ineffective handling behavioral problems which stem from the upper grades to the middle school. Having AP students in classes with special needs students makes it difficult to get through a lesson, especially when equipment is left broken. Most stakeholders do not believe the school is represented accurately in media. Especially allowing failing students to promote if their parents complain. Admin coerces teachers to adjust grades for students who have not completed any work. Students caught with weapons or who threaten others are permitted back in class sometimes the same day.

Palomares Academy Of Health Science
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at Palomares are caring and knowledgeable in their subjects. Even though the district and site admin don't really seem to know what they are doing, the teachers do their best.


Palomares Academy Of Health Science
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
Students do not have much homework until junior year. The same students who do not do homework are allowed to disrupt students who have done their homework.

Palomares Academy Of Health Science
Develops grit: Agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
Most of the students are hard workers when they understand the value of a diploma.

Palomares Academy Of Health Science
Develops respect: Agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
The students know how to be respectful. If they do not, the school is mostly ineffective in improving student respect.


Palomares Academy Of Health Science
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
The students do their best given their classmates and environment. Part of the environment includes frequent disruptions and lack of structure.

Palomares Academy Of Health Science
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
There are many great people at Palomares. Unfortunately district and school site attempts to improve are abandoned or never followed-through.

Palomares Academy Of Health Science 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a community member
I think its great, besides the uniform, it doesn't let the students show their personality or express themselfs


Palomares Academy Of Health Science 2

Posted March 15, 2009
- a student
I have spent the last 2 years at palomares i was a current student attending palomares i would say the staff there are completely amazing the teachers mr. Robles & mr. Noll are amazing due to my parents moving i had to leave palomares my 8th grade year 2009 this school is ok theres 2 many kids that try to pick fights to many haters and too much drama i wouldnt recoomend sending your kid here especially if there a girl trust me there will be a lot of drama and problems as forthe boys i think they'd be fine boys dont have that much drama anyway put all the haters drama and problems aside palomares is a great school!!!

Palomares Academy Of Health Science 5

Posted June 04, 2008
- a parent
Amanda has spent the last two years at Palomares. The school is in its fifth year of failure and staff changes have been significant. I believe it severely impacts the students. My daughter did great under Dr. Storm. This year under Mr. Brown not so much. Her attitude with accepting change i.e., new principal - new rules - and she is a teenager - contributed greatly to the problems I encountered this year. Cudos to the staff that give above and beyond the call of duty. My daughter is very challenging and administrative staff and teachers continued to reach out and engage her in helping her to achieve scholastic goals as well as teach her to become accountable for her negative behavior. Vice-principal, Mrs. Ferguson is caring and committed and determined to ensure that all students at Palomare succeed. Thank you Palomares staff for your your love and dedication! Lori Smith

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Palomares Academy Of Health Science
2211 North Orange Grove Avenue, Pomona, CA  91767
(909) 397-4539
Last modified Palomares Academy Of Health Science is a Public school that serves grades 7-10. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Palomares Academy Of Health Science Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top