Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Pomona, CA
Students enrolled: 840
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Philadelphia Elementary School 1

Posted March 22, 2011
- a parent
My son had a hard time attending this school. Was new, and was a target. He was bullied the whole time he was there. Staff did nothing about it. His teacher was always late, and always let the kids out late as well. My son as well as myself were confused with some of the homework that came home. Teacher failed to explain in detail. Also the neighborhood was horrible!

Philadelphia Elementary School 4

Posted December 17, 2010
- a parent
GREAT ADMINISTRATION! THIS SCHOOL HAS A GREAT PRINCIPAL, HAVE HEARD GREAT COMMENTS ABOUT HIM, AND FROM OWN EXPERIENCE. MY SON HAD A TOUGH TIME AT THE BEGINNING OF THE SCHOOL YEAR, TALK TO PRINCIPAL AND ACTION WAS TAKEN VERY QUICKLY AND THE OUTCOME WAS GREAT. PRINCIPAL MADE A GREAT COMMENT TO SON AND I " I CARE ABOUT MY CHILDREN" IT'S GREAT TO KNOW SOME CARES ABOUT ARE KIDS AS MUCH AS WE AS PARENTS DO. NEED MORE PARENT INVOLVENT; VERY IMPORTANT TO REMEMBER THAT WE AS PARENTS ARE OUR CHILDREN FIRST AND MOST IMPORTANT TEACHER!


Philadelphia Elementary School 3

Posted June 10, 2010
- a community member
wow still the same went to philadelphia el about 20 years ago ( from 4th grade to 6 grade) do the girls still have to wear dresses and boys pants? was bullied there too guess its the area. oh well needs community involvement

Philadelphia Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 14, 2008
- a parent
I believe this school has come a long way, since the new adminstration set foot on the campus. Both Principal & Assistant Principal take pride in the school. Teachers care about the students, there is a great afterschool program (THINK Together), and the campus is slowly changing. The school just needs more supportive parents and their involvement!

Philadelphia Elementary School 4

Posted May 31, 2008
- a parent
I think the teachers at Philadelphia Elementary work hard to help our kids . My son has had wonderful experiences with each of his teachers since kindergarten. There is a lack of parent involvement in this coummunity, which puts great pressure on the teachers. There are some discipline problems , but we can not blame the school for that. I have sen how some of these children behave and it is because there is a lack of discipline at home. I think the new principal has done a great job for his first year. He has tried to get the community more involved, and to have the students take pride in their school.


Philadelphia Elementary School 1

Posted May 20, 2008
- a parent
this school rates very poor.bullying,poor teacher involvement.too much disipline not enough education.principal seems to care

Philadelphia Elementary School 2

Posted December 07, 2006
- a parent
This school is very good but the pricipal should make it funner

Philadelphia Elementary School 4

Posted November 24, 2004
- a parent
The only problem I have is with the ladies who are in the office. Who like to roll their eyes at you. If they don't want to be there than don't be there.


Philadelphia Elementary School 3

Posted September 16, 2003
- a parent
My son has been in 4th and now in 5th at this school. A lot of children are bullies on the playground and fight. My son's grades and attitude were great until we enrolled him here. The teachers (most of them) do not want to help or wait for a child to catch up in class. They do have homework help after school but no after school daycare. the new principal is strict and hard on the children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Philadelphia Elementary School
600 East Philadelphia Street, Pomona, CA  91766
(909) 397-4660
Last modified Philadelphia Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Philadelphia Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top