Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pomona High School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a teacher
Great...students are presented with many choices to perform. I seen many students departing to four years schools and perform great there. Teachers work very hard to help students achieve their goals, and those who wish to be successful do very well here. The school graduation rate is 94% now, many AP courses are offered and ROP classes like automotive and fire science are attracting students who wish to stay in a technical field after high school. The school offers what the student body requires and teachers are very effective at delivering those objectives. The school has also excelled in athletics all around, first in the district reaching CIF qualifiers in almost every sport.

Pomona High School 4

Posted October 29, 2015
- a community member
Teacher are committed to their students. Campus is clean, orderly and secure. PHS offer auto shop which is great.


Pomona High School 4

Posted December 18, 2014
- a parent
Pomona High School proved to be a very good beginning for my 2 daughters. Both graduated and continued their education through college. My oldest went on to earn a masters degree in business. My youngest, now 32 years old, went on to graduate and is now a successful writer. I truly hope that the community recognize the contribution Pomona High has made over the years. Something like a 'Wall of Achievement', I feel, would go a long ways in helping today's students see that the opportunities are there and waiting for them to experience. My salute to the teachers and administration for their continued dedication.

Pomona High School 2

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
Pomona High School has had some exterior changes which is certainly a plus. However, the internal student environment remains the same. Disrespect for adults on campus, language is horrible within the hallways, and the overall campus safety and sanitation is just plain ugly. Just an example: Trash cans available, but not utilized. Granted, these habits are learned behaviors and children do learn what they live. I am just happy my child had some really passionate teachers that cared about his education in an "old school" fashion and not with the entitlement attitudes of today's high school students. Students need to be made accountable for their lack of respect, for their own actions and shortcomings and not place blame on their teachers, their circumstances, or school of residence.

Pomona High School 1

Posted November 11, 2010
- a teacher
Pomona High administration just does not get it. The student body is made up of a large Latino population yet the extracurricular activites do not reflect the interests of the community. Perhaps the administration cannot understand this considering they are all Anglo and disconnected from the student body.


Pomona High School 4

Posted March 23, 2010
- a teacher
PHS is a school trying to give as much opportunities to the students in Pomona. Medical and Engineering Academy gives students a taste of these professional fields. Our AVID program helps prepare our students to be successful in College/University. The AVID program recently became a National Demonstration School which puts it in the top 2% of all AVID schools...and we accomplished it with the combined efforts of PHS students, teachers, admin, and parents. Most of the teachers & admin want the students to be successful. What PHS needs to be 'excellent'? More support from our parents.

Pomona High School 5

Posted December 08, 2008
- a student
I love Pomona High School, it is the best school in Pomona, The staff is just wonderful!

Pomona High School
no rating

Posted September 18, 2008
- a teacher
After teaching at Pomona High for many years I realized the students were not the problem here. The administration, top to bottom could care a less about anything other than ADA and test scores.


Pomona High School 3

Posted July 21, 2008
- a student
As an alumi of Pomona High School, I have to say that my experience there was not that great. I think that they could have done a much better job and would have kept me and others in this same school not wanting to transfer to another school in the middle of the year

Pomona High School 5

Posted May 21, 2008
- a community member
That school has alot of community programs. Considering the neighborhood it does very well. 2nd best in that district.

Nearby schools

Pomona High School
475 Bangor Street, Pomona, CA  91767-2443
(909) 397-4498
Last modified Pomona High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top