Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Port Hueneme, CA
Students enrolled: 231
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hueneme Christian School 5

Posted July 30, 2015
- a parent
I have 2 kids going to this school for a few years now. Overall we are very happy here. I agree with some of the comments. Yes there is favoritism, but this is unavoidable. If you have more than 1 kid, whether consciously or unconsciously there are times you would favor 1 kid over the other. The school been around for 46 years, so their teaching method in my opinion is very outdated. Most of the teacher in this school does not have teaching credentials. But the teachers in my opinion are very caring, attentive and loves their kids. Though I really wish and hope they can work on this and upgrade their teaching approach. They do a lot of memorizing and not enough practicals or creative thinking. I also do not agree on repetitive daily homework, this is very boring and unproductive. The kids already spent 8am-3pm daily at school, they should be able to have time to enjoy and learn things outside of school. Some private school mandates parents participation/volunteer, I'm surprise they don't here considering how cheap it is to attend. To my knowledge this is the cheapest private school in Ventura county, especially if you have multiple kids! Our overall experience has been good, I did made a complain to the office once and it was taken care of immediately.

Hueneme Christian School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
I know some the teachers here in Hueneme Christian school were honest and doesn't held a grudge. There are also some teachers here in Hueneme Christian school who are dishonest, gimmicky, and are open to certain parents only of which what makes you think "why?"


Hueneme Christian School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
Thought this school would be one of the best private school in the district. They've been up and running for over 46 years but this time around things has changed drastically. Unfairness and favoritism are the source of the problem of this school and it should stop. The staff are very helpful sometimes but the others are totally opposite as if they have inferiority conflict issues that they only choose to great and interact with very selective of group of people. They don't make you feel like a valued customer when you see or walked by them in the open space. this is something you do not want to have to encounter in the daily basis especially when you are with your child. They see it. They feel it. It's not healthy. The school personells are obviously not doing their job when things like this happens.

Hueneme Christian School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
2-4 homework done every other day but the same type of homework in different format. The child will not learn much this way.

Hueneme Christian School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
They're not putting to much efforts on that. The child brings his/her homework every so often in each week with the same type of homework from previous of previous worksheet. It's redundant and I don't see that a child will learn on one thing inept . It has to be more than just one. We do supplement our child on different curriculums at home but it will be great if the teachers or the school will improve the way they teach!!


Hueneme Christian School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
Kids are learning to interact the proper way at each other. They laugh, help each other and play.

Hueneme Christian School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
Certain teachers are not honest on making academic and behavioral evaluation on a child. Despite of making above grades and maintaining on polite efforts by following the rules and regulations, the child does not seem happy and doesn't feel that he/she has accomplish anything out of that school year. The teacher does not communicate in advance about possible issue. Does not return call, email, and text. They only response when things are out of control and too late to fixed.

Hueneme Christian School 2

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
Thought this school would be one of the best private school in the district. They've been up and running for over 46 years but this time around things has changed drastically. Unfairness and favoritism are the source of the problem of this school and it should stop. The staff are very helpful sometimes but the others are totally opposite as if they have inferiority conflict issues that they only choose to great and interact with very selective of group of people. They don't make you feel like a valued customer when you see or walked by them in the open space. this is something you do not want to have to encounter in the daily basis especially when you are with your child. They see it. They feel it. It's not healthy. The school personells are obviously not doing their job when things like this is happening.


Hueneme Christian School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff are great. Leadership needs to change. I would highly recommend not wasting your money until leadership changes. I would like Mr Hanks to take over & maybe Mrs Martinez or Hernandez regain schools quality reputation. There's no accountability for fundraisers or explanation of where tuition goes. NO money I spent updating classrooms for teachers and there are serious health violations in that school & teachers need to be paid more n respected more. Unfortunately favoritism occurs and free tution occurs to family members because they have family in high position. Pastor handles all the money & promotes himself to high position which he has no experience & is hardly there. Ask about finances . That should tell you why leadership needs to be accounted for legally. Enough is enough

Hueneme Christian School 2

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff are great. Leadership needs to change. I would highly recommend not wasting your money until leadership changes. I would like Mr Hanks to take over & maybe Mrs Martinez or Hernandez regain schools quality reputation. There's no accountability for fundraisers or explanation of where tuition goes. NO money I spent updating classrooms for teachers and there are serious health violations in that school & teachers need to be paid more n respected more. Unfortunately favoritism occurs and free tution occurs to family members because they have family in high position. Pastor handles all the money & promotes himself to high position which he has no experience & is hardly there. Ask about finances . That should tell you why leadership needs to be accounted for legally. Enough is enough

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hueneme Christian School
312 North Ventura Road, Port Hueneme, CA  93041
(805) 488-8781
Last modified Hueneme Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Hueneme Christian School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top