Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Port Hueneme, CA
Students enrolled: 231
 

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hueneme Christian School 2

Posted March 05, 2015
- a parent
I'm a parent and I have considered this school as my child's second home because I had a very high expectations of this school in terms of academics, building values, and instill self-confidence to little ones. The point is, more and more of their staff members (mostly in grounds), have no bearings on maintaining common courtesy I.e "Good morning" "How are you Mr/Mrs?" "Thank you" "You have a good day". This reviews it only reflects to the staff members on the ground. So here's my friendly 2 stars rating instead of 1(one). Changes of these ratings is determined based on actions taken for improvement.
2 people found this helpful

Hueneme Christian School 2

Posted January 15, 2015
- a parent
My child is in her 2nd year with HCS. Started since K5, at first the school ratio was what you expect from a faith based private school. In my child's K5 class, there were two teachers and in each class were about 15-16 students (not bad!). However, come 1st grade, not only did the class size start bigger (25), but the class kept getting new students throughout the school year. Concerned parents discussed this issue of a "public school" type class size ratio but parents plea of splitting up the class were just ignored by the office staff. The current class size is 30 students. The public school across 1st grade class size is comparable. My child is great academically but that's due to the hard work that we put in at home. Parents need to volunteer to be a coach, in my child's case, busy parents weren't able to volunteer as coaches, therefore, 1st grade class does not have a sports team this year. The teacher appears caring but I'm sure overwhelmed. The custodian are wonderful. The office staff-as long as they're getting their $350+ tuition every month, they're happy. But listening to parents concerns and problems, good luck!


Hueneme Christian School 5

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
My child is going to this school for 3 years now. At first I agree with the teacher's being bias and it sometimes hurts. My son is at 1st grade now and only got 1 student of the week when he was at K-5. I have chosen to give 5 star because of overall quality of the school. I like Mrs. Hernandez being tough to staff to straighten things up on school, I wish just she will become principal there someday. Military friendly school they offer discounts for active duty personnel.

Hueneme Christian School 1

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
Teacher 'bias' gives better marks to favorite pupil (family friend) that lead a student to become "Student of the Year". It's very sad to know that there is one existed into this private school.
1 person found this helpful

Hueneme Christian School 5

Posted May 06, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is in kindergarten and writes fluently in cursive and reads fluently as well. They are starting book reports and fractions. God also comes first in all their curriculums. If you are not willing to put in the time and extensive work with your child this is not for you and you will not succeed here. If you are you will be amazed at what your child can accomplish.


Hueneme Christian School 5

Posted May 21, 2010
- a parent
Moved my child here mid year in 7th grade from another christian school in the area. It's been like night and day. She is very happy here. Good teachers, good structure, well behaved students. I am thrilled we found Hueneme christian school. I highly recommend it.

Hueneme Christian School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
If education and moral values are at the top of your educational requirements list for your child and you have the money to invest in his or her well being..Send them here. If you want your voice to be heard by staff and administration concerning your child, if ever the time should come. Send them here. My sun can read at a second grade level and he's only 5!

Hueneme Christian School 5

Posted January 30, 2010
- a parent
My son went there from K5 - 8th grade. He got a fantastic education. He was two grades ahead of any kid on his block. I loved the teachers and all elements about this school.


Hueneme Christian School 3

Posted April 13, 2006
- a parent
Good academic program. Gets children involved in biblican studies at a young age.

Hueneme Christian School 2

Posted January 26, 2006
- a parent
My son used to attend this private school for four years and it was terrible. Lots of bible, no real thinking skills taught and none of the teachers were credentialed. Moved him to a public school with much higher standardized test scores, much better facilities and much better teachers. He really blossomed. My advice: Always ask for a private schools standardized test scores before you say they are so much better.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hueneme Christian School
312 North Ventura Road, Port Hueneme, CA  93041
(805) 488-8781
Last modified Hueneme Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Hueneme Christian School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top