Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public charter
Porter Ranch, CA
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Castlebay Lane Charter School 1

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
There are some good teachers at Castlebay but to get the best teacher depends on how much you do for the school as a parent. If you are a classroom mom or on PTA board, volunteer for school events and fundraisings so you can have close relationship with the principal, your child will be with a highly sought-after teacher in the following school year. I know a few parents who are not able to volunteer and their kids ended up in split classes or with the least favorite teacher every year. On the other hand, kids with overly-active parents stay together in one classroom with the best teacher year after year, almost having an exclusive club like environment. Since the school does not have any magnet or SAS program and education depends on the teacher (as another reviewer mentioned), you are out of luck if you can't commit to many hours of volunteering.

Castlebay Lane Charter School 3

Posted May 26, 2015
- a parent
Education depends on the teacher. Last year teacher was great. This year my child who scored in the gifted range in olsat comes unmotivated and discouraged on a daily basis. The teacher uses primarily negative feedback; even needing to go to the bathroom during class is very negatively looked upon and punished.we are counting the days to summer. The principal is nice but we had the perception that she really couldn't help us.other people have had a different experience but based on this experience this school is average at best. Hopefully next year things will be better or we will have to invest in private school in addition to the investment in the high cost of living around this area.


Castlebay Lane Charter School 4

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school with a caring principal and great teachers. However, there's been talk for a few years now about how crowded it is, and how this causes really bad traffic, rushed lunches, and a strain on resources and equipment. The word on the street this past year, (and in recent months is being heard more and more), is that there are many students that live out of the boundaries. Somehow they're falsifying their addresses, with friends or family letting them use their address. They get fake rental agreements, or have their friend change the name on one utility bill to their name. I think this is coming up more lately because the construction going on has made traffic worse than normal (and it's normally very bad). Almost every parent you talk to knows of at least one or more families using someone else's address. And no one wants to turn in their friends, so the problem just continues. The school needs to address this problem before they have to close more classrooms, (they're already closing TK for next year because there's not enough space anymore). At what point will people legitimately living in the area not be able to get in because of this problem?

Castlebay Lane Charter School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school with great leadership! Mrs. Littlejohn did an outstanding job with that sprinkle situation. Sorry to see 2 star review from an " unhappy" parent with an unrealistic expectations. I was there the morning after, principle held an open meeting( after being up most of the night, saving classrooms ) answering all the questions and concerns. My child was bussed to Frost, she had a great time, felt safe and well cared for. If you are looking for a great school- this one is:)

Castlebay Lane Charter School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
I had a child that was bussed to Frost during the sprinkler malfunction. It is my understanding, Frost teachers and administration were extremely welcoming and accommodating. The Castlebay principal was beyond helpful and communication was forth coming at every step, including the all-call that went out the night before. If ANY parent was uninformed with regard to the details, they have only their self to blame as information was distributed verbally, electronically and telephonically. Castlebay's principal and teachers handled this problem with grace, as did Frost's principal and faculty.


Castlebay Lane Charter School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
One thing I agree with on the 2 star comment is that teachers at Castlebay are amazing and we couldn t ask for more, but all the other information is inaccurate. The principal sent out a voice message the same night of the incident, I think around 9pm, with available information to all the parents.The message contained details about the incident.That same day, the principal spent her whole day and night helping at school and packing everything teachers and students will need at the other school.It is sad to see how someone can put so much effort and time into something, and still at the end not be appreciated and only be criticized.Could you ask for a better leadership?Next morning the principal met parents at the MPR and explained the situation with details.Flyers were sent out home the very first day with detailed explanations.My kid was also going to the other school, & from the first day, everything was amazingly smooth and perfect thanks to our principal.This is life, things happen, and our principal one more time proved to be the BEST one can ever wish for.She had it all planned and under control.Can t thank her enough for being such a great leader and an amazing person!

Castlebay Lane Charter School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a teacher
Regarding the flooding at our school. Our principal Victoria Littlejohn packed each teacher's class room effected by the flooding. Her hard work in the wee hours throughout the night enabled us to start near normal classroom teaching instruction in our temporary classrooms at Frost by 9:19am that morning. She divided her time between both schools making sure everyone's needs were taken care of and that we all felt still like a "family." The transition back to our home school went smoothly- I personally spoke with LAUSD executives who praised Ms. Littlejohn's strong leadership throughout this ordeal! I am grateful to be able to truly know that we are all in capable hands should any emergency arise in the future. This is one remarkable principal!!

Castlebay Lane Charter School 5

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
It is very unfortunate that the previous 2 star posting is inaccurate, (well, except the part about the amazing teachers agreed!). The principal actually sent out a phone message around 9pm to the entire school the very night (Wed night) of the incident and notified everyone which building was impacted and that children would be relocated the next day. The 2nd morning of relocation, an eblast email went out to the entire school at 9:46 am completely explaining the situation. Flyers were sent home with students. It is unfortunate that the prior parent didn t receive ANY of these communications the first couple days. The principal had at least 2 impromptu parent meetings in the office and then the MPR on the first and third mornings of relocation. When parents brought legitimate concerns (without exaggeration) to her on the third day of relocation, she immediately made sure they were addressed for the next day.


Castlebay Lane Charter School 2

Posted September 05, 2014
- a community member
I couldn't disagree more with the previous post. I have to give credit to all the TEACHERS at Castlebay. (5 stars for the teachers) As mentioned, there was a sprinkler malfunction at this school. However, the principal could and should have approached the situation much better. Very disappointed. Communication was not very clear with the parents until days later (in fact there was no immediate word/no voice message/no email of any sort until days later). Some of the 2nd and 3rd grade students were being bussed to Frost middle school (nightmare for some). But as usual, the principal glossed over any of the legitimate concerns parents had, put on her politician-like smiley face, and if anything, was not visible during this crucial time when things were so unclear and chaotic. I give all credit to the teachers who were soooo flexible and willing to come everyday, NO MATTER WHERE they were teaching, and CARING for our students. Thank you teachers of Castlebay!! All props go to you! I totally give 5+ stars to the teachers here. They are so dedicated to what they do.

Castlebay Lane Charter School 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
I am very happy with the school. Excellent teachers who care about the students. Excellent communication with parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Castlebay Lane Charter School
19010 Castlebay Lane, Porter Ranch, CA  91326
(818) 360-1908
Last modified Castlebay Lane Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Castlebay Lane Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 75 reviews. Top