Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-12
Private
Portola Valley, CA

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Woodside Priory 4

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
The Priory is a very good school. The teachers are well trained and care about the students. The facilities are good and getting to great. The college counseling is poor and the new head does not seem up to her job. The advisor program is a joke among the students, as if the advisors actually had time to advise an individual student or even time to get to know a student very well. If your student runs into a problem with something in this very small school, the a teacher or counselor will not reach out to help. The student must always advocate for himself.

Woodside Priory 5

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
The Woodside Priory is the only school I have seen on the Peninsula that combines academic rigor with true social-emotional learning in an expansive and welcoming environment. It lives its 5 Benedictine values daily in a host of ways and not only tolerates but celebrates its broad range of stellar students. No matter what a student is interested in, Priory, despite its small size, offers an experience in that area. The students there are every bit as accomplished as those elsewhere -- they're just not as stressed out! I highly recommend it.


Woodside Priory 5

Posted February 13, 2011
- a parent
Priory is an excellent co-ed college prep school for grade 6-12. The school lives the Benedictine values of spirituality, hospitality, integrity, individuality and community. These manifests themselves in small class sizes with teachers and administrative staff that truly care about the students and their personal and academic development, a welcoming and supportive student body, a nurturing safe environment, and an overriding tradition of caring. The parent community is very active. While academics are rigorous, the school is all about helping each student find their unique gifts and passions. The Priory arts and athletics programs are well funded and the choir and instrumental programs are fantastic. This school is a gem!

Woodside Priory 5

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
Priory is an amazing community. We have been very happy with the academics and extracurriculars. The athletic program is outstanding. It is inclusive but at the same time very competitive. They have added several new sports including football and lacrosse. The performing arts program is growing and gets better every yrear. The faculty and administration is incredible and the campus is incomparable.

Woodside Priory 5

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
We have been really happy with the school overall. We have experienced the middle school and high school and can say that the quality of education is superb. If you want your child to have a values based education, Priory is the right school for you. The athletic program is outstanding and the performing arts program continues to grow. The academics are rigorous and the community is phenomenal.


Woodside Priory 3

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
Father Martin, the superior, adds a very nice energy to the place. The community is nurturing and welcoming that goes to the staff, faculty and the families. Academics are good and in general with good faculty they know their students well and will accommodate your child to challenge their abilities. Performing Arts, very good with dedicated staff. Studio Arts very good. College Counseling needs revamping Administration needs revamping Athletics substandard; middle school is much better run. If your child is athletically inclined, think twice before enrolling your child here. There are sports offerings but very limited; the athletic director would promise that your kid could play more than one sports a season; they often cancel programs. If you are a big benefactor and want your kid to play his/er sport, then be willing to dole out money to give support; otherwise, do not expect much from the athletics program or the director. Often families move their kids after 8th grade for this big reason.

Woodside Priory 5

Posted December 26, 2008
- a teacher
It is great to be a member of the Priory faculty. Our students are awesome, the parent community is very supportive and my colleagues on the faculty and staff are the best.

Woodside Priory 5

Posted February 19, 2008
- a parent
WPS is an excellent school. The teachers are amazing and a lot of them on campus so they are right there to help you. They have amazing after school clubs and the sports teams are wonderful. I'm jealous of my daughter because its like the high school I've always wanted to go to.


Woodside Priory 5

Posted November 28, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Woodside Priory 5

Posted June 21, 2005
- a parent
My daughter is entering her junior year. I have been very happy with the academic and social environment. While WPS is a Benedictine school, non-Christian families should feel very welcomed here (which isn't always true at the other Catholic high schools.) I have been very pleased with the intellectual content of the theological instruction. There is a good level of support for children with learning disabilities, and each child is challenged. Also I feel that the stress on values is important in the contemporary climate. I can't speak to athletics as my daughter doesn't compete in school. The arts and music opportunities are great.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodside Priory
302 Portola Road, Portola Valley, CA  94028
(650) 851-8221
Last modified Woodside Priory is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Woodside Priory Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top