Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
51 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Interested Parents, The review posted September 27, 2009 was obviously from a dissatisfied family, which does happen, but the information stated is not correct. Parents receive a weekly update either via email or paper document. The school has an email system in place which connects parents directly on a daily basis. This review was submitted by the parent of a child whose enrollment was terminated after months of trying to satisfy the family's demands. If you have questions about the statements made, please call or come in to see the communication systems we have in place. Sincerely, Steven Mayo
May 16, 2010

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Bridge School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
My son started at Newbridge School in the end of his 5th grade. He is very bright but has slow processing speed, auditory processing disorder and attention and memory deficits. At Newbridge, he learned strategies for staying focused, memorizing, writing, and social interactions. Today he is a very confident and successful young man going into the 9th grade at his home public high school. I am so grateful to the staff at Newbridge for their incredible dedication. They REALLY care for each student. Despite the 30 minute commute (each way), this was the best school for my son. Our only regret was having waited until the 5th grade.

New Bridge School 5

Posted June 11, 2011
- a parent
Our son began at Newbridge when he was 5 years old and he was the youngest student Newbridge had at the time. He went through first grade all the way through 8th. I still remain forever grateful that we found Newbridge. They nurtured and challenged him for 8 years. He is now 16, getting straight A's in high school and looks forward to any opportunity to visit his old school and see his former teachers and classmates. The passion and vision of Steve and Margaret and the outstanding teachers are the reasons why our son has succeeded academically despite some significant learning disablilities.


New Bridge School 5

Posted November 09, 2010
- a community member
As a former teacher at NewBridge School, I can tell you that it is a dream come true for any student who needs a little extra support. Education is truly individualized, as the staff works tirelessly with each student to help him or her find learning strategies that work best for them. Teachers not only collaborate with each other, but also with parents, Speech and Language, and Occupational Therapy, to ensure that all bases are being covered. NewBridge's safe and nurturing environment allows students to feel confident enough to identify their strengths and weaknesses, and to take ownership of their education. The campus is beautiful, the kids are happy, and everyone who tours the school says I want to go here! It was a breath of fresh to come to work, and the philosophy and attitude of the school's leaders is nothing short of incredible. I can't sing its praises enough!

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Interested Parents, The review posted September 27, 2009 was obviously from a dissatisfied family, which does happen, but the information stated is not correct. Parents receive a weekly update either via email or paper document. The school has an email system in place which connects parents directly on a daily basis. This review was submitted by the parent of a child whose enrollment was terminated after months of trying to satisfy the family's demands. If you have questions about the statements made, please call or come in to see the communication systems we have in place. Sincerely, Steven Mayo
Posted May 16, 2010

New Bridge School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
Our daughter hated school until NewBridge. She struggled for hours with homework and felt like she was the slowest student in her class, especially in math. Now she's attending a private high school in AP classes and looking forward to college. The school focused on her needs, taught her how to learn, and most importantly, taught her that she really was smart. They always had time for her, no matter how long it took, or how many times she needed to review, until she finally learned how to do it herself. She ended up loving math, and talks constantly about the 'strategies' she learned at NewBridge.


New Bridge School 1

Posted September 27, 2009
- a parent
I think my child is growing academically, but there is definitely a communication problem from the school, It is almost non-existent for weekly/monthly updates on curriculum. School leadership does not want teachers sending routine updates on curriculum.

New Bridge School 5

Posted December 28, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is both happy and successful, now attending a challenging private school in San Diego. NewBridge taught her how to learn, and she amazes her teachers constantly with her note-taking and test-taking strategies, and her writing skills. They have followed her since her graduation to ensure her success, something few schools are willing to do. She would not be where she is without NewBridge.

New Bridge School 4

Posted September 18, 2007
- a parent
Newbridge is an excellent school for students who need personal attention in the classroom. The school helps kids who did not really know how to learn become successful in so many aspects of being students. The staff is nuturing and knowledgible. The students are kind to each other allowing for academic and personal growth.


New Bridge School 4

Posted January 14, 2007
- a parent
Our child has been at NewBridge for six months and has shown such amazing improvement in his academics and his self-confidence. The confidence is evident in everything he does and wants to try. NewBridge is a quiet and happy environment, something we all need, especially our children with learning disabilities. We are very thankful for this education.

New Bridge School 4

Posted November 22, 2006
- a parent
Newbridge did a tremendous job with our child who now attends high school and is doing extremely well. We attribute his self confidence and performance in high school to the tools that Newbridge provided.

Nearby schools

New Bridge School
12285 Oak Knoll Road, Poway, CA  92064
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (858) 679-5744
Last modified New Bridge School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top