Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Poway, CA
Students enrolled: 586
 

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

14 reviews of this school


Painted Rock Elementary School 1

Posted March 12, 2015
- a parent
Good riddance to Sal Embry , the only thing he cares about , is running ? Never cared about the kids , only there for the salary , the teachers pretty much could get away with anything ,constantly texts during meetings , to his Vice P. Very inefficient leader ,poor problem solving skills

Painted Rock Elementary School 1

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
Up until this school year, when a new Principal came to the school, things were wonderful for my interracial family. When the new Principal came in, my family was mistreated and abused. The Principal refused to allow my husband to participate at school, ignored our attempts to meet with her, and called the police in our family more multiple times. The Painted Rock teachers are amazing but this Principal has brought this school down and until she is removed from get position, I'm afraid this school will continue to deteriorate.


Painted Rock Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2011
- a parent
The teachers and parents make this school a top notch environment. My kids are so happy and excited to go to school everyday.

Painted Rock Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2010
- a parent
This school is AMAZING! The parent participation is one of the highest in the county. The funding from the Foundation and PTA is over $250 per student per year. This allows for extra programs such as a full time PE teacher, music instruction, reading specialist, student services specialist, Compass Learning, extensive teacher supply budgets, etc... The principal has an open-door policy at all times. The teachers are motivating and fun. The extra programs that this school offers are endless. We have had our kids in 3 other schools throughout the years and Painted Rock, hands down, is the best!

Painted Rock Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
It was a great school for the primary grades, it's been a good school for 4th and 5th. Maybe relative to other public schools in San Diego PR is still 'great,' that's probably true, but the last year or two have been a let-down. Teachers too lax about discipline made the classroom difficult to learn in or enjoy. Constant rotation of teachers' assistants so the kids had about 4 different teachers, one after the other in one school year - and they weren't 'assisting,' they were doing the teaching and the discipline, practicing on our kids. I'm glad we're moving on, although I'm not sure if there's a better elementary school nearby. It definitely requires Mom's or Dad's presence at school so you really know what's going on. All that said, it probably is one of the best in San Diego.


Painted Rock Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers, great school!

Painted Rock Elementary School 3

Posted March 21, 2007
- a parent
The principal appears to be caring and understanding, but I do not know how much a parent's opinion counts at this school. Most of the teachers have been great, except for one. You can only pray that your child is not placed in this class! I really liked this school until this year. Principals do not know what takes place when they are not in the classroom!

Painted Rock Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2007
- a parent
Great school, most of the teachers are very understanding, approachable and want to be there. My child has learned a lot. Caring Principal who you can tell truly cares about the students. A lot of parent participation and caring people. Will be great after some renovations. There need to be a couple of after school activities that are very low cost or possibly free. Safety - the side gates should be closed and locked during school hours and the only way of entry should be through the front gates. (This is done at a middle school I know of.)


Painted Rock Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2006
- a parent
Typically high performing school, fabulous teaching staff with low turnover (all of my daughters teachers are still there and she is in 5th grade this year.) parental involvement is typically to the point where you have to jockey for position to get in the classroom. Involved engaged Princpal and office staff. Bright stars are the music program and the teacher quality. We feel very lucky that when we moved to Poway that we ended up in the PR zone. Both my kids love it there.

Painted Rock Elementary School 2

Posted April 01, 2006
- a parent
This school has a very wealthy foundation contributing to its well-being, and families that can afford private tutoring to up those infamous API scores. However, this school has little to offer. They have a up-to-date computer lab - but there's also a hugh bottleneck on the network - so don't expect your child to access any sort of multimedia on the internet, or for any other application. No reading programs for upper level grades that need help. Principal is clicky with a few of the moms - if your not in this click - forget it. Band program is excellent. Most teachers at this school coast - don't bother them with indvidual student needs (if your child is very bright - the GATE program is useless). They teach to the center.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Painted Rock Elementary School
16711 Martincoit Road, Poway, CA  92064
(858) 487-1180
Last modified Painted Rock Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Painted Rock Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top