Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pomerado Elementary School 4

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
My child has attended a full year of kindergarten and I am happy with our experience. The school offers the children a good education and encourages them to do better. The layout is easy to figure out and clean. The computer labs allow the children early access to computer technology. ESS is great. The only concern I have is the parking lot. We need more space.

Pomerado Elementary School 2

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
I'm a working mom. After earning two master's degrees, I found a job where I can work from home and be there for my son. I plan my day around his drop off and pick up times. I dread driving into the parking lot. The "volunteers" are so incredibly rude and condsineding. They stand around and chat with the other parents in their "cliques", holding up the line for several minutes. But when other parents pull through, we are accused of holding up the line. I was even "scolded" for not blocking the pedestrian walkway while children and parents were walking through it. I am a dedicated parent, and an educated individual; it is deplorable how this school treats parents and children based upon status and preconceived notions.


Pomerado Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
BEST.SCHOOL.EVER! Best school ever since the 2nd week of last year. No more stress! Hooray for Pomerado. Couldnt be happier with the principal, who took a stand, and forever changed the way our school runs! No more bullying parents! Kids who never showed up are gone. Now the school runs efficiently and is by far better than any school around. Small, close-knit family, we all consider ourselves, and I am thankful for the many years I have ahead of me here. My wife and I really love the new Special Needs teachers. They came from another school and have done wonders for my daughter! Closed Campus is a wonderful idea. Thanks Mr. Ortiz!!

Pomerado Elementary School 1

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Kids came home begging to never go to school again because of the bullying in the classrooms and on the playground by the teachers as well as students.

Pomerado Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
We've had the best beginning of school! Mr. Ortiz made a grand presentation to all of us "newbies" with a slide show and breakfast/coffee. I can't imagine anyone not liking him or this school. almost a month in and my 2nd grader is loving her teacher, Mrs. Araiza. We are so glad we moved to Poway! Great city, great schools!


Pomerado Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
School lacks true leadership. The principal is not liked by parents and unfortunately this school is failing to make state minimum requirements.

Pomerado Elementary School 5

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
Pomerado rocks! My 2nd grader with special needs had the best teacher last year and I can only hope the same this year. We are new to the area and I don't understand the previous posts about sanctions and horrible teachers/staff. No conspiracy I've ever seen and I was involved in a lot of PTA events. I love the school, love the teachers and love there is no drama. I've heard there was drama in the past, but school is so good, especially for us. I am glad to be here for the next several years!

Pomerado Elementary School 1

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is under sanctions, the teachers and staff are rude, may have one teacher per grade that is acceptable at best. Try your chances somewhere else. Not worth gambling your kids futures - this is the worst school in PUSD! Many families have recently chosen to leave.


Pomerado Elementary School 1

Posted December 22, 2013
- a parent
Pomerado lets all their volunteers have access to your confidential documents - very unprofessional staff - clique among parents and staff - new principal will hopefully take charge but it will take a while to clean house.

Pomerado Elementary School 3

Posted May 31, 2012
- a parent
Pomerado is an average to above average school within an excellent school district. It is a Title I school that seems to focus on the bottom third academic achievers to the exclusion of others. Work requires frequent moves, but we always move to areas with outstanding schools. Although Poway School District is excellent, I found that parents with high academic standards found ways to avoid Pomerado. My request for transfer to a closer school was denied. I soon experienced the difference between Pomerado and my child's last school in OC. Communication is very good with the administration, but not teachers. The OC School District had a Parent Portal where I could review my child's test scores, behavior, and upcoming requirements; Pomerado doesn't have one. The OC school required quarterly projects, a science project, and a play. It had after-school academic offerings like math club and chess. After I realized that my child's math and language arts skills started to decline at Pomerado, I supplemented my child's education with tutoring. Pomerado does have a great music program, dedicated volunteers and other wonderful attributes. It is a solid and safe school for average performers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pomerado Elementary School
12321 Ninth Street, Poway, CA  92064-3597
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (858) 748-1320
Last modified Pomerado Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top