Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Poway, CA
Students enrolled: 466

5 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


43 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tierra Bonita Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attends TBES, and she/we couldn't be happier. The teachers are committed to the students' progress, keenly observe them throughout the school year if there's any problems and constantly communicate with us, the parents. I might also add that the entire school's spirit is a reflection of Joe Erpelding, whom loves and is committed to the children and is just a great person overall to be around!

Tierra Bonita Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
Everyone cares...from the parents, to the teachers, and especially the principal....they all want what's best for the children and want them to succeeed! Love this school!


Tierra Bonita Elementary School 3

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Tierra Bonita has some innovative ways of teaching. Technology is the focus at this school with 1:1 iPads for all students 3-5. Because technology is the principal's focus, other very important foundational skills are left behind. Reading is not a focus at this school!!! There is a need for quality reading material (real books) at this school. Some teachers are very good but others need to be do the minimum to get by. Technology is good but overshadows everything else.

Tierra Bonita Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2013
- a teacher
The focus at Tierra Bonita is on 21st century learning with a large emphasis placed on personal responsibility and leadership skills. Our staff has worked hard to create engaging and meaningful lessons that will empower students and produce problem solvers who will be college or career ready when they finish high school. I love being a part of the learning at our school!

Tierra Bonita Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a teacher
BEST in Poway Unified! Love how advanced students are really challenged, teachers are up wisth the latest technology learnings (teaching digital citizenship so effectively), parents are very involved, and the community is really friendly and close!


Tierra Bonita Elementary School 5

Posted December 24, 2012
- a community member
I am a student at Tierra Bonita and I love it. The teachers are great, the activities are awesome, and our principal is amazing.

Tierra Bonita Elementary School 4

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
The principal at this school is very involved and genuinely seems to care about the school and the students. There are some very good teachers, but also some poor teachers who have been at the school too long and should retire. Parental involvement is high, but almost to a fault - helicopter parenting runs rampant to the point that I think the students will grow up to be spoiled and entitled (for example, parents are asked to clean up after art lessons, rather than having students clean up after themselves), and I am weary of the constant solicitations for donations to the school. The school's test scores are above the district's average, but this is probably attributable to the demographics - there are more educated and affluent parents, and few English as a second language students, which will naturally bring up the average.

Tierra Bonita Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
Tierra Bonita has wonderful teachers, a caring, results oriented Principal and great families who want the school to be the best it can be!


Tierra Bonita Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
We have a fantastic motivated principal that truly cares about our kids and our teachers are outstanding too.

Tierra Bonita Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
Principal and teachers are fantastic! My child is new to the school this year and her transition was made easier because of the exellent support of the staff at Tierra Bonita. Communication at Tierra Bonita is never overlooked and I can't believe the amount of parent involvement that goes on. It just goes to show how happy parents are with this school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tierra Bonita Elementary School
14678 Tierra Bonita Road, Poway, CA  92064
(858) 748-8540
Last modified Tierra Bonita Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tierra Bonita Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top