Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mt. Woodson Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
I'm grateful for such amazing teachers who care about my children educationally and emotionally. They offer them a caring and nurturing place to learn and grow.

Mt. Woodson Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
I think they could focus on these traits more in assemblies etc. I don't see a real focus on these types of things at this school.


Mt. Woodson Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
We have had an amazing experience at this school since we moved into the district. My son's teachers have been caring and excited about teaching which has made such a difference in his desire to learn.

Mt. Woodson Elementary School 1

Posted July 07, 2014
- a parent
I agree with the one star parents.... I was at Mt. Woodson school daily so I saw first hand how bad this school was! Tired grumpy teacher's and a new principal that has the deer in the headlights look. Our daughter was picked on daily, we tried to stick it out as this school is one mile from our home....... Its is true that this school is full of bullies and not much seems to be done. Other schools are proactive with lessons special assemblies to address bully issues. Yes the score are so bad here.....sad the staff seem to want parents to move to another school and do little to bring up scores. Yes I work with our daughter and do my part as a parent so with that said I will transfer to another school in Ramona. I hope at some point someone steps up and looks into what is really going on at Mt. Woodson school! Low scores, bullies, tired teacher's, bad principal and yes if your child has any special education needs they talk a good game....watch out beware of non compliance on IEP no follow up drop balls not the best school if your child has an IEP!

Mt. Woodson Elementary School 5

Posted July 03, 2014
- a parent
I can't say enough about what a great school this is. My children thrived, made lifelong friends and were given a wonderful education. It seems the less involved the parent is the more complaints they have. It is not the schools job to raise the child.


Mt. Woodson Elementary School 1

Posted March 29, 2014
- a parent
My son attended Mt. Woodson it was an awful experience! This school is full of Bullies! Teachers and principal do nothing to stop the bullies! Scores are low if hour child has special needs RUN from this school! Please don't put your child in this school! Do to the fact scores are so bad you have a right to transfer to another school in the district! Shame on fhd district office for sweeping serious issues under the carpet! Bullies, Teachers that need to retire and a rooky principal make for a nightmare that no family should be subject to! If I could give 0 stars I would!!

Mt. Woodson Elementary School 1

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
The school is in a Program Improvement (PI) because it failed to achieve Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) for two consecutive years in order to exit PI. My advice is to get as much information about the school and its teachers prior to enrolling your child to make sure there is an appropriate fit. Our experience is that some of the teachers are rigid, they do their job that they are paid for and no more. It's the extra effort and natural love for the profession and children that makes a great teacher. Unfortunately that is greatly lacking in some of the teachers. There's a new Principal this year. Hopefully my child will see a difference this year from last year due to this change at the top. Until then my experience is that this is a school that lacks the motivation to be an 8 out of 10 school as it is currently rated by GreatSchools. I would give it at best a 4.

Mt. Woodson Elementary School 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
Moved from another district to Mt Woodson for the last 2 months of first grade. My daughter was struggling and disliked school. In the 2 short months she was there she transformed! She loves school and the wonderful teachers at Mt. Woodson assisted her in learning to read! She has gained more in the short time she has been there than all the months at her old school. Mt Woodson is a great school and has friendly and knowlegable teachers and staff. They will treat your child as an individual not a walking test score!


Mt. Woodson Elementary School 1

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
The first thing you notice when you walk in the door, is the cold uncaring rude behavior of the office staff. My children served their time at this school, that has a few truly caring teachers among a group of jaded, sarcastic, mediocre (at best) teachers, many that should have retired long ago! The real problem is the principal who lacks control over this unprofessional group. Sadly the teachers with bad attitudes out number the few who are afraid to speak out. As a parent, volunteer and PTA member it was clear that nothing would change until the principal herself left. We just stuck it out, and suffered... The entire family is so happy to be out of that school. In spite of it all, my kids are thriving at the middle and high school levels. Mt. Woodson, you have room for MUCH improvement. Why not start with getting in a truly caring, capable, high achieving principal who will put children's best interests first, rather than fear of upsetting the toxic crew that work there.

Mt. Woodson Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2010
- a parent
Mt. Woodson is a fantastic school. My son started in Kindergarten with Mrs. Tamburrino. Both she and Mrs. Brown had our kids reading and spelling at a mid 1st grade level by the end of the year. The 1st grade teachers were thrilled. Now my son is in the 2nd grade, his teacher Mrs. Stemm is a delight. She is always finding fun ways to teach (hatching beetles in class) for instance. The PTA is outstanding. They plan events and activities for all students and work tirelessly throughout the year. If not for the PTA most of the extracurricular events wouldn't take place.

Nearby schools

Mt. Woodson Elementary School
17427 Archie Moore Road, Ramona, CA  92065-6907
(760) 788-5120
Last modified Mt. Woodson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top