Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mt. Woodson Elementary School 1

Posted July 07, 2014
- a parent
I agree with the one star parents.... I was at Mt. Woodson school daily so I saw first hand how bad this school was! Tired grumpy teacher's and a new principal that has the deer in the headlights look. Our daughter was picked on daily, we tried to stick it out as this school is one mile from our home....... Its is true that this school is full of bullies and not much seems to be done. Other schools are proactive with lessons special assemblies to address bully issues. Yes the score are so bad here.....sad the staff seem to want parents to move to another school and do little to bring up scores. Yes I work with our daughter and do my part as a parent so with that said I will transfer to another school in Ramona. I hope at some point someone steps up and looks into what is really going on at Mt. Woodson school! Low scores, bullies, tired teacher's, bad principal and yes if your child has any special education needs they talk a good game....watch out beware of non compliance on IEP no follow up drop balls not the best school if your child has an IEP!

Mt. Woodson Elementary School 5

Posted July 03, 2014
- a parent
I can't say enough about what a great school this is. My children thrived, made lifelong friends and were given a wonderful education. It seems the less involved the parent is the more complaints they have. It is not the schools job to raise the child.


Mt. Woodson Elementary School 1

Posted March 29, 2014
- a parent
My son attended Mt. Woodson it was an awful experience! This school is full of Bullies! Teachers and principal do nothing to stop the bullies! Scores are low if hour child has special needs RUN from this school! Please don't put your child in this school! Do to the fact scores are so bad you have a right to transfer to another school in the district! Shame on fhd district office for sweeping serious issues under the carpet! Bullies, Teachers that need to retire and a rooky principal make for a nightmare that no family should be subject to! If I could give 0 stars I would!!

Mt. Woodson Elementary School 1

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
The school is in a Program Improvement (PI) because it failed to achieve Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) for two consecutive years in order to exit PI. My advice is to get as much information about the school and its teachers prior to enrolling your child to make sure there is an appropriate fit. Our experience is that some of the teachers are rigid, they do their job that they are paid for and no more. It's the extra effort and natural love for the profession and children that makes a great teacher. Unfortunately that is greatly lacking in some of the teachers. There's a new Principal this year. Hopefully my child will see a difference this year from last year due to this change at the top. Until then my experience is that this is a school that lacks the motivation to be an 8 out of 10 school as it is currently rated by GreatSchools. I would give it at best a 4.

Mt. Woodson Elementary School 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
Moved from another district to Mt Woodson for the last 2 months of first grade. My daughter was struggling and disliked school. In the 2 short months she was there she transformed! She loves school and the wonderful teachers at Mt. Woodson assisted her in learning to read! She has gained more in the short time she has been there than all the months at her old school. Mt Woodson is a great school and has friendly and knowlegable teachers and staff. They will treat your child as an individual not a walking test score!


Mt. Woodson Elementary School 1

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
The first thing you notice when you walk in the door, is the cold uncaring rude behavior of the office staff. My children served their time at this school, that has a few truly caring teachers among a group of jaded, sarcastic, mediocre (at best) teachers, many that should have retired long ago! The real problem is the principal who lacks control over this unprofessional group. Sadly the teachers with bad attitudes out number the few who are afraid to speak out. As a parent, volunteer and PTA member it was clear that nothing would change until the principal herself left. We just stuck it out, and suffered... The entire family is so happy to be out of that school. In spite of it all, my kids are thriving at the middle and high school levels. Mt. Woodson, you have room for MUCH improvement. Why not start with getting in a truly caring, capable, high achieving principal who will put children's best interests first, rather than fear of upsetting the toxic crew that work there.

Mt. Woodson Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2010
- a parent
Mt. Woodson is a fantastic school. My son started in Kindergarten with Mrs. Tamburrino. Both she and Mrs. Brown had our kids reading and spelling at a mid 1st grade level by the end of the year. The 1st grade teachers were thrilled. Now my son is in the 2nd grade, his teacher Mrs. Stemm is a delight. She is always finding fun ways to teach (hatching beetles in class) for instance. The PTA is outstanding. They plan events and activities for all students and work tirelessly throughout the year. If not for the PTA most of the extracurricular events wouldn't take place.

Mt. Woodson Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
Mt Woodson has been a fantastic experience for my child. The staff is professional and excited to be a part of this school. I have gotten 'top notch' support and responsiveness from my teachers as well as the administration. My child has special needs and recieves excellent support through a fully included program and expert special education staff.


Mt. Woodson Elementary School 4

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mt. Woodson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
First impressiion is that this school is a good example of what an elementary school should be. The school appears focused on learning, instead of just raising test scores. While the school is keeping an eye on overall score performance, the administration looks to develop the 'whole student' towards a balance of future citizen.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mt. Woodson Elementary School
17427 Archie Moore Road, Ramona, CA  92065
(760) 788-5120
Last modified Mt. Woodson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mt. Woodson Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top