Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Children's House

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Ramona

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $284,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,280.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2014

Amazing my daughter went to Oak Knoll Montessori in Poway when she was young and it was a great school. My Grandchildren now attend Montessori Children's House in Ramona and it is even better. I know all of the teachers have true affection for each and every student. I love the fact that nature factors into so many aspects of the program. My Grandkids love going to school everyday. This is a great school.


Posted May 20, 2006

I love this school. I highly recommend it to all parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

Set on 7 acres, large playground and swimming pool. My children have gone there for four years and I can not be more pleased with their growth academically, artistically and socially. Outstanding, caring staff. The bad news it has been sold and will become a 'school at home' operation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

Very good school. Lots of extra activities at the school (woodworking, dance, gynmastics, music, swimming) make it very nice for the children to have extra activities without the hassle of driving them all over town. Teachers are great, school is large and spacious with lots of room for kids to play.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2005

Both my children have gone to CMS since the age of 3 years old. CMS has always been a caring and excelled learning environment. Both my children are better people for attending CMS. CMS brought them confidence and the desire to be their best (what ever level their best might be). CMS gives children the opportunity to blossom into responsible, intelligent, organized, kind and courteous individuals. My children have fond memories of CMS, as do their parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

Small, intimate, academically-focused environment. Love the preschool and Kindergarten classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

A traditional grade level approach to montessori method leaves the student stressed and in a hurry. Montessori free choice and relaxed learning environment to foster a lifetime love of the learning process is not present at this institution. extra activities such as spanish, colorology, science, and wood crafting are available for fees ranging from 45.00 to 80.00. no music program or seasonal recitals noted. parent envolvement to a minimum. In classroom participation not encourage, it distracts from learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2004

Although this school has good test scores and builds strong foundational skills, it truly lacks in providing a loving environment and strong leadership. There's a 'drop your kid off at the gate' mentality, and a discouragement of parental involvement. A group of parents attempted to build a relationship between the home and school environments by starting a PTA. The director ceased the formulation of the group before the first meeting, and stated it was her 'nightmare.' There is not a proactive approach to problem solving. It is clear the staff do not want constructive feedback from parents, as the parents are told via newsletters from the director things will not be changing and if they don't like how things are, to go to another school. I decided to take the one piece of sound advice given to parents from CMS: I've pulled my child out and enrolled in another another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2004

My Daughter is currently enrolled in Kindergarten at Children's Montessori. I spent a great deal of time and energy finding what I thought was a healthy, nurturing environment for her when I chose this school. Sadly, the reality has been very different from the image the school presented in their literature, open houses and meetings prior to enrollment. My daughter's Kindergarten teacher has a very negative attitude toward all the children in her classroom that is reflected in her use of the word 'stupid' to describe students, her tendency to yell frequently, and her constant negative comments toward them. We will not be continuing at this school and my other two children will never attend. It is also worth mentioning that the playground equipment is not up to code and there have been at least two semi serious injuries this year as a result. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 26%
Hispanic 15% 52%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 11%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

717 9th Street
Ramona, CA 92065
Phone: (760) 789-5363

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT