Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

RLS Christian Day School

Private | PK-6 | 110 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Ramona

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $284,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,280.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2011

My daughter attended RLS for 10 years, pre-k through 8th grade. I always felt that she was in a safe and caring environment. It is a small school which allows you as a parent to know all the teachers and the principal and feel comfortable discussing your concerns about the school, curriculum, or student issues. My daughter has excelled in school both at RLS and as she transistioned to the High School. There are some drawbacks to going to a small school (no sports teams for example), but the benefits far outweigh the lack of bells/whistles. I was very satisfied with the education my daughter received and recommend this school to others. It is a safe, caring and Christian environment that you cannot get at a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

We enrolled our son @ Ramona Lutheran School (RLS) for the school yr 2008-2009 in Kindergarten.He has remained there.Our concern in the public schools was the classroom size & the "thugs" that have been mentioned in a previous review.This campus is VERY safe!Our experience has been very good.Parents are heard & involved in school activities.The curriculum is more than up to standard.The staff well qualified & very caring.The class sizes remain small for a positive learning environment.Our son has excelled well beyond our expectations.RLS has been money WELL spent for our son's education. After all, they only get one chance for an outstanding education.Extended Care, home work club,field trips-the list goes on.Visit the campus & see for yourself just what a GREAT school it is!PARENTS - you will not go wrong by enrolling your child @ RLS. Hot Lunch-$3.75/lunch Extended Care-$4/hr Education/Tuition - PRICELESS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I've been teaching at RLS for 12 years and would not want to teach anywhere else. Other staff members are caring and supportive to colleagues and well as parents and students. The curriculum is challenging and expectations are high. Peacemaking skills are taught in chapel and followed in the classroom and on the playground. This small, nurtuting environment is the perfect place for any child to grow academically and spiritually. The school has been running an exceptional preschool through 8th grade program for over 30 years and is currently the only Christian school in Ramona.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

Every teacher has a vested interest in making every child succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

The school is a wonderful change to public education. The staff is loving and very involved with parents and deaing with their child's needs. Remember that NO school is with out its problems and that even Christian Schools have there issues. The fact is that they are handled quickly, and with love and guidance. This is a safe enviroment where children feel safe! And families feel loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

My child attended from 5th-8th grade. He was well prepared academically for high school and as such is acceling as a freshman in geometry, biology, honors English etc. The wholesome environment, small class sizes, focus on personal responsibility and traditional values is something you will never find in the public schools. The benefits of this wonderful school far outweigh the cost. We sacrificed financially to afford Ramona Lutheran and it was worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

I have two children who have been at ramona lutheran since preschool, they are currently in 5th and Junior high. We have been more than satisfied by the standard of education and excellent christian enviroment, The staff are wonderful and careing.I would highly reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2008

Good school through 3rd grade. But if you keep your child here beyond that, he/she will become very behind academically. Why pay for public quality education? Staff is very clique-ee, easily sidetracked and not interested in hearing from any families that are considering leaving. A poorly run business if you ask me. You only get 1 shot at raising your children... why settle?


Posted June 3, 2007

We have been with the school for three years now. The preschool focuses on kindergarten readiness. With an emphases on phonics. The curriculum taught in K-8 is well above average. The teachers work hard to ensure that each child receives the one on one time that he/she needs. They are more than willing to work with parents to ensure their child's needs are meet. You can speak with them daily on campus or they can be reached by phone or email. Parents are encouraged to volunteer whenever possible. We are also invited to attend the weekly chapel meeting and various assembles. The school currently offers piano lessons, art classes, and has a running club that competes throughout the county. RLS is an excellent choice for your child. They will learn the value of God and of Family, and the morals which we should all live by.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

The wholesome environment of this school can not be beat. The smaller class sizes and caring Christian environment makes this school very unique in the community. This school is terrific for the average child but any child that is accelerated or gifted may not have his/her needs met here and may not be challanged enough
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2003

I enrolled my first child in preschool, who now is in Grade 1 at RLS. My 2 1/2 year old is now in preschool. My children will go no where else until high school! RLS needs high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

They need this school to go through to high school. There is not any good christian high schools in this area. The academics is challenging and christian based. It is a wonderful school that brings Christ and academics together to help assist us in bringing up morally responsible, respectful children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 26%
Hispanic 8% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Chris Castberg
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

520 16th Street
Ramona, CA 92065
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 789-4804

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT