Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-6
Public
Rancho Cordova, CA
Students enrolled: 391
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cordova Gardens Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2013
- a parent
My son and daughter have attended Cordova Gardens for the last two years and love this school. I have liked all of their teachers very much and find them professional, well-prepared and committed to students and their families. My kids are in the foriegn language magnet program and are enjoying learning Spanish as part of this program.

Cordova Gardens Elementary School 1

Posted December 07, 2011
- a parent
My children have spent a combined total of 11 years attending Cordova Gardens Elementary school. I have found the non credentialed staff to be like a flock of gossiping hens and a total of three credentialed staff to be worthy of their paycheck. They are the lowest performing elementary school in their district and currently have a special needs teacher that says things like "you are a very bad little girl and someone should put you in the corner" to his students. Bullying is not addressed effectively and volunteer staff are basically there to chit chat with one another while your children are learning street life in the bathrooms. Just remember parents, YOU have a choice as to where your child is educated and my children are no longer there.


Cordova Gardens Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2011
- a parent
The FLES program (Spanish Language immersion) is a positive addition to this campus. The FLES teachers are excellent and the new principal Mr. Tapia is committed to each student's success. He knows each child by name, has high expectations, and encourages family involvement. His warmth, sense of humor, and expectation of excellence sets the tone for the school. My children have been transferred from Cordova Lane to this school due to closure, but we are blessed to have retained Mr. Tapia and the great FLES staff. Hopefully the entire school will benefit from his leadership!

Cordova Gardens Elementary School 2

Posted May 09, 2010
- a parent
Look at this schools test ratings and see for yourself why this school is subpar. Some of the teachers there are very good, but I find many who should be working in a back office and away from our children. There need to be many changes at this school for a child to succeed, one of which is happening next year with the demoting of principal Carboni. Let's hope the 2010/11 school year brings some needed changes to help these impressionable children succeed.

Cordova Gardens Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is getting to join a special program that will teach her the Spanish Language... it starts in Kindergarten and goes through 5th or 6th grade. It's so nice to start when they are young.


Cordova Gardens Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
Cordova Gardens has the best teachers and the friendliest staff!

Cordova Gardens Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 23, 2008
- a parent
Cordova Garedens is a very special school. They are established and have some great extracurricular for families to attend. Teachers go above and beyond to offer before and after school interventions. They also have a fabulous resource teacher who is very knowledgeable. They are one of the few schools which offer sixth grade, which I feel is very important.

Cordova Gardens Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2008
- a parent
My children and neices and nephews have attended this school for 7 years. I absolutely love the interaction and relationships that are built between the students and teachers. The teachers remain open to suggestions from parents and leave the line of communication open. The PTA is wonderful and there are always activities planned to bring the parents and children together for fun and learning.


Cordova Gardens Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cordova Gardens Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cordova Gardens Elementary School
2400 Dawes Street, Rancho Cordova, CA  95670
(916) 363-2601
Last modified Cordova Gardens Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cordova Gardens Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top