Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mills Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 809 students

Our school is best known for the impact our students make in our community.
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2014

I was a student at Mills from 6-8, just graduated, and am about to go to Cordova in the fall. This school, or I should say the teachers at this school, are wonderful. At least most of them, anyway. Mrs. Gasc n, Mrs. Towne, Mrs. Schulte (now retired), Mr. Sherman (also retired), and especially Mr. Chakroborty and Mr. Shields are all amazing teachers. And those are just my 8th grade teachers. I think the only thing they could improve on is the food they serve during lunch. And, though most kids are awesome are hardworking, some can be rude and impolite, which is why you just need to be careful. Overall, this school will be dearly missed by many. And a lot of that students that say they don't like it say that because of the uniforms, or because they were rude to teachers and got in trouble. Four stars from me!


Posted October 23, 2013

Mills Middle School Mustangs are diverse in cultures and languages. One of the highlights in the school year is the Multiculture Fair in the Spring. We have dedicated and highly qualified teachers. Many of the teachers have taught at Mills for 10+ years! They enjoy working with the students, offer extra help outside of class time, and are involved in 14 clubs and 5 sports. Their own children attend the school. Our principal has led our school with passion and vision. He has strengthened our Mustang Family by building a family atmosphere on campus through getting to know the students and his staff. Students are encouraged to see beyond middle school by visiting college campuses and career fairs. The students are inspired and motivated to make positive choices by special assemblies focusing on anti-bullying (Point Break), a wheelchair sports association (Capital Cagers), Author Kevin Carroll (Rules of the Red Rubber Ball), and speakers that share their life story of overcoming challenges. We can improve our school by increasing our parent involvement with our children and on campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

My oldest child is in her second year at Mills Middle School. I like the fact that the teachers use the website to post all of the assignments and use sites like Edmodo to connect with the students on their level. My child and I love the technology program that they offer as an elective. The teachers are all very enthusiastic. Overall, I can't complain when my child comes home and says "Mom, science/math/language arts was fun today."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

Horrible environment to send your child to... and very poor education. My child pretty much repeated what she had already learned the previous year in the Elk Grove district, and twiddled her thumbs throughout the year at Mills. We had to pull her out of this school and into an entire new district to get her the education she deserves. So glad we did !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

What a school, my son played three sports, was in band, participated in clubs, did service learning to improve the community and maintained a 4.0 GPA. Mrs. Andrus, Mrs. Holton, Mr. Meyer, Terry, Mr. Hatcher, Mrs. Bird, Mrs. Martin, all the teacher my son had were wonderful. My son wants to go to college now, he visited Sac State and Chico while at Mills. Mr. Mejia aka Big Daddy, is a great counselor. The school is clean, safe and looks brand new. I love the uniform, I don't have to worry about what he was wearing and it was easy for me to keep his close clean. He went on so many field trips my still hurt from signing forms. Mr. Arnez is a crazy math guy that sings in class, hey whatever it takes. My son is better person for attending Mills I just hope high school is as good as Mills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

This is a horrible school.. the staff does nothing about bullying, my son has been a constant target for being bullied and when I tried contacting the school I would be transferred to a answering machine to only never get a return call.. I went down there physically to only be told the person I was to speak to was out at the moment.. after waiting for 3 hours I was able to talk to someone and was told that my son was the target of bullying because he does not choose to surround himself with a large number of kids and if he truly wanted it to stop he should make friends.. This school has lousy staff, lousy teachers.. the worst teacher in the school is Mrs Barsmith, if your kid comes home and says she is harassing him/her, your child is telling the truth.. I seen it with my own eyes while watching an interaction between my son and her one day, both did not know I seen it until I walked up.. She then stormed away and refused to talk about it.. again the school did nothing..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2010

my son went to mills middle school and when I needed to communicate with his teachers on edline only his language art teacher got back to me. Also when he was bullied in the sixth grade I was told by the school concelor the have a zero tolerance policy but yet nothing was done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I go to Mills Middle School right now and I love most of the teachers. Everything about this school is great, including the test scores, but uniforms have been making the students unhappy. I think the principle should consider eliminating uniforms for next year and have more students come to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

Mills is a great place filled with bright children and smart teachers. The school teaaches kids how to live in a great world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

I went to this school from 6 to 8 grade and it was awesome!!!! this school has great teachers like Mrs. Andrus, Mr. Meyer, Mr. Shields and others they acctually care about their students
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2009

i love this school its very awesome
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2009

I just finished this school and was overall a very good school! the teachers are great! I recommend parents to send their children to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

Horrible School!!! Some teachers seem to care but the vice principal is horrible! Dosent return calls and doesent look after the safety of the kids. Moving out of Rancho just to get away from this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

great school great clubs and lots of education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

school ciriculum is very great. work expressed through fun activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

This is a great school with its ups and downs like every school. The staff there really tries hard to help the students and makes learning fun and effective!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2008

Mills Middle School AAA Academy was awesome, the best teachers were, Mrs. Durose, McNair, Rushford, Night, Socal and Gee. They taught me the most from all the teachers i have had through elementry to high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2008

I used to go to Mills. I moved though in the middle of the school year. Mills school is awesome! All of my teachers were awesome! Especially Mr.Meyer and Ms.Andrus (Ms.A) They were awesome....but there are more awesome teachers there........Alot more! This school is way awesome.....I hope you guys think so tooo. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2007

The staff and teachers should listen more to the students, especially the councilors, but they do not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

I beleive Mills Middle School is an above average school. The teachers work extremely hard to meet the needs of all types of student learners. Our chldren are safe and well looked after. The clubs on campus are as diverse as the student population. I am anxious to see what the new principal is capable of implementing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

768

Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

768

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
50%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
26%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Females44%
Males40%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate51%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state33%

Math

All Students42%
Females43%
Males40%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females54%
Males47%
African American56%
Asian64%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state43%

Math

All Students49%
Females45%
Males53%
African American32%
Asian64%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students58%
Females56%
Males62%
African American56%
Asian77%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females56%
Males48%
African American42%
Asian56%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to state39%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students15%
Females15%
Males15%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino14%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)16%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disability11%
Students with no reported disability16%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only21%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate14%
Parent education - high school graduate10%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)23%
Parent education - college graduate8%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state18%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students48%
Females45%
Males52%
African American42%
Asian61%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disability3%
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate54%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state47%

Science

All Students62%
Females59%
Males65%
African American55%
Asian69%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to state56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 37%
Hispanic 35%
Black 18%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
English language learners 18%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Russian
Spanish
Philipino
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Assessment of Educational Progress (2013)
  • Optimist Writing Contest (2013)
  • City Proclamation for Incearse in API (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Philipino
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Philipino

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Peter Maroon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (916) 294-2476

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Philipino
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Rancho Cordova Rotary Club
  • Rancho Cordova Leadership
  • Intel
  • Triangle Rock Products
  • CSU, Sacramento
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Foreign language club: Philipino
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Mills is a place to make memories, focus on academics and take advantage of the many field trips. Our students take college tours and participate in community service events. Mustang Pride has been around since 1957. Each of our students is a member of the Mustang Family.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cordova High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10439 Coloma Road
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 363-6544

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. John Vianney School
Rancho Cordova, CA



Ihs Christian School
Rancho Cordova, CA


White Rock Elementary School
Rancho Cordova, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT