Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mills Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted February 03, 2016
- a teacher
My goal is to expose students to real-world everyday problems and phenomena and give them opportunities to make sense of, think critically, and draw their own conclusions based on evidence. This is definitely a skill that must be acquired with hard-work, dedication, and being ok with making mistakes. As an educator, I will continue to encourage students to make mistakes, and only then will they gain strength to persevere, which is where the true growth and learning happens.

Mills Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 03, 2016
- a teacher
The expectation in my classroom is simple. Follow the platinum rule of treat others better than you want to be treated.


Mills Middle School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted February 03, 2016
- a teacher
Each-One Allign alliance and Radical Reality have presented at Mills and the theme this year is on Open Your Mind, Be Kind. Students are exposed and reminded of what kindness looks like. Lunchtime activities, clubs, sports, and classroom learning all begins with a foundation of respect.

Mills Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 03, 2016
- a teacher
Students are modeled school expectations and teachers, staff, and administration create character building lessons during advisory. Students are held accountable, and positive behaviors are rewarded with many on and off-campus awards, college-trips, activities, and even a STEM Camping Trip.

Mills Middle School 5

Posted February 03, 2016
- a teacher
After completing my credential and Masters at UC Davis, I turned down two job offers because I knew I wanted to teach at Mills Middle School. Mills is a unique educational setting with incredible students, supportive staff, patient administration, and phenomenal teachers. Mills students wear uniforms to encourage community and level the playing field, reducing the common "haves" and "have nots" in other school settings. Mills recognizes the importance of promoting positivity in the lives of our students by holding student-of-the-month awards ceremonies, as well as a trimester awards for Academics, Attitude, and Attendance. These alongside many other positive behavior strategies align with our staff's and teacher's vision of focusing on and encouraging the positive. On the same note, our site offers an incredible amount of before and after school clubs, activities, events, and socials for students to build and develop trusting relationships with positive mentors. In my classroom, students engage in hands-on learning and problem solving with the intention and purpose of gaining real-world critical thinking skills that help them make sense of phenomena around them. I chose to be an educator, am passionate about what I do, and am beyond proud to be a Mills Mustang. I am happy to invite you into my classroom to observe science anytime and share with you my enthusiasm for learning, science, and discovering your own passions. Keep learning and think like a proton and stay positive. Mr Smith


Mills Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Maroon encourages his staff to build relationships with their students and each other. It truly is a Mustang family. Thank you, Mr. Maroon for the positive changes you have encouraged here at Mills.

Mills Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are enthusiastic to teach this age group. They are dedicated not only to their class time with the students, but also available to help their students outside of class.

Mills Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
After a day at school of learning and interacting with your school community, coming home to just enough homework frees you up to explore interests and help around the house.


Mills Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
Yes, students are challenged to grow academically and as citizens of their school. Opportunities to participate in student government, clubs, sports, dances, and academic challenges occur throughout the year.

Mills Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
Yes, I feel this school develops respect in its students. However, respect development must begin and continue at home.

Nearby schools

Mills Middle School
10439 Coloma Road, Rancho Cordova, CA  95670-2107
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (916) 363-6544
Last modified Mills Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top