Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
199 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. John Vianney School 5

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
Great school and wonderful teachers. We will be here until our kids graduate. We are lucky our kids classes have great kids in them. The middle school teachers are wonderful and the lower grade teachers are amazing.

St. John Vianney School 3

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
I agree with the previous two posts. SJV provides the type of environment you would expect from a Catholic school; with the exception of the middle school (6th - 8th) program. There have been many staff and leadership changes over the past couple of years and it shows. I have two children at this school, one in sixth grade and one in a lower grade. My younger one really enjoys SJV, but my sixth grader can t wait to graduate. Had I known things were going to turn out this way for my older child, I would have reconsidered SJV. I cannot recommend sending a middle school student to SJV, but the younger grades are good.


St. John Vianney School 5

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
St. John Vianney is a wonderful, caring, value rich elementary school that challenges each child to perform their best on an individual level. The extra curricular activities, and the dynamic classroom engagement offer each child the opportunity to truly prosper. This school is among the best elementary schools in our county. It's the sort of place where the parents all know each other, and our kids socialize with each other outside of school. This school, in short, has created a wonderfully supportive learning environment that is unfortunately rare in this day and age.

St. John Vianney School 2

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
This review is of the 6th grade class of year 2014/15. There are 16 girls and 9 boys - not too bad of a disparity. However, the personality dynamics and types of families that make-up the class create a toxic environment. It could be due to the age, but the other classes that make up their "middle school" are not this dysfunctional. Rumors, drama, and out right lies in such a small class cause insurmountable pressure and distraction. There is nothing the teachers or principal can do because the students are a source of revenue and replacement families aren't "banging down the door" to come to this school. If you have a 6th grader this year - DO NOT come to this school. On the flip side, all of the other grade levels are great.

St. John Vianney School 5

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
We are very happy at SJV. The parent community is amazing. The teachers and staff are wonderful. The principal was new last year and she is so on top of everything. Looking forward to the new school year!


St. John Vianney School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I am new to this school, my daughter is in TK so we have 8 more years here to go :-). We are pleased with how well they communication and how up-to-date they are with technology. The staff and teachers are very friendly and helpful as well.

St. John Vianney School 5

Posted February 25, 2010
- a student
Woo hoo! Oh yeah! Go SJV! This school totally rocks! We just did a report, and let me tell ya, it was WAY funner than I thought. I'm not a teachers pet or anything, but the teachers are cool.

St. John Vianney School 5

Posted June 12, 2009
- a student
I have been at SJV for seven years now. I love it the teachers are awesome! We have this thing were if you do something good and a teacher spots you you get a ticket with a tiger on it it's called a tiger stripe then it's entered into a raffle than every week four people get picked and get candy It's cool


St. John Vianney School
no rating

Posted March 03, 2009
- a student
great school, it really prepaed me for high shool. I used yo die at the thought of writing an essay, but now i know the process. The teachers are so caring, when i transfered, i was surprised, its way different and better than any other school i've been to.

St. John Vianney School 4

Posted July 03, 2008
- a student
Hai. :0 I've been going to SJV for 8 years now, and it's been a good many years. The teachers our fair and try to understand our problems. Sometimes they're even funny! The holiday events are cool. I mean, I haven't been to any other schools, but I'm having fun in my class. It's a pretty stable schedule, so you probably won't see anything out of hte usual. I'm graduating next year though! On to high school with me. <3

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. John Vianney School
10499 Coloma Road, Rancho Cordova, CA  95670
(916) 363-4610
Last modified St. John Vianney School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. John Vianney School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top