Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coyote Canyon Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 773 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2014

Coyote Canyon Elementary in Rancho Cucamonga is ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. PASSIONATE TEACHERS AND STRONG LEADERS. They are enthusiastic for education and the well being of children. Every teacher I have encountered, have the same things in common, which is their PASSION FOR CHILDREN EDUCATION AND ADVANCEMENT! They always do their best! I applaud Dr. Knechtel in how he is leading the school. They are also quick to implement safety measures and inform parents promptly! The campus is beautiful and my children are flourishing. I am very pleased and grateful for the staff at Coyote Canyon Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

This is a great school with very involved parents and teachers. The staff is very helpful as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

Both of my children have been attending Coyote Canyon since Kindergarten. We have loved this school since day one. We especially loved Mrs.Calamusa their Kindergarten teacher. She truly cares for her students and prepares them for first grade very well. My oldest is now in forth grade and we have loved all his teachers. He is in the GATE program now band is reading at a 6grade level. My youngest is now in 2nd grade and has done very well also she is reading at a 5thgrade level. They also have an amazing volunteer sistetem. So many fun activities and I can truly go on and on about this great school. We have loved it since day one and are very glad our children attend Coyote Canyon !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Coyote Canyon is such an amazing school!!! I've never seen a school who's teachers truly care about their students. They have a strong PTO who does so much for the school. They have their own parent teacher coordinator who plans school wide events that are truly amazing. Last year the kids got to take a mock flight to Hawaii when they arrived waiting for them was a lei, Hawaiian food, hula dancers and all. I truly feel blessed thtat my children go to Coyote Canyon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2012

Terrible school! They care more about looking good/ scores than actually making a diffrence for a child. The teachers all gossip among each other, and have their favorites that include parents and students. Parking is a nightmare, Office staff are rude and preoccupied with their own personal agenda and most impostantly my son is being robbed of a descent education. I only transfered him here because the school was closer to our new apt, but I cant wait until this school year is over because he will be returning to his old school where he was a top honor student and achieved higher than average scores on state testing. I'll be fair and say that the school is good for social activities and bringing in/ asking for money, but they really need to balnce it with putting education first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

If you are looking at schools in Rancho Cucamonga, Coyote Canyon is an excellent school. Not only is the campus beautiful but the school has many wonderful teachers and parents. I understand that a few parents out of 750+ students have had bad experiences and usually those are the ones that post comments because of their frustration. You need to check out the school and decide for yourself. I have felt so welcome at the school this year. They have a lot of different ways to get involved. Coming from a lower performing area, I have been blown away at how the students are performing at a high level. The principal, office, volunteer coordinator, and teacher have made this a great experience. I recommend getting involved. Did I mention the API scores are close to 900. That is pretty amazing. This year my child jumped 2 grade levels in reading and it excelling. I moved to Rancho because of the schools and I have been very happy with my choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

My son attended this school K-4 2005-2010.He did very well academically but not well socially. He would shut down in the classroom, hide under desks when frustrated and could not make any friends. Every teacher he had complained about his behavior. He even had a group of bullies who left bruises on him and made each day a living hell for him. When I complained to the current principle, she said my son was asking for attention from these bullies and that he himself was a bully. I finally had my son psychologically evaluated due to severe depression from all of this and he was diagnosed with Asperger Syndrome, a form of Autism. Why did this Principle and her staff of teachers not notice my characteristics could possibly be Autistic? Since these teachers spend time with children most of the day, they should be trained in this type of behavior in order to advise parents of their observations and also to protect the child. It's a shame. My son could have taken behavioral/pragmatics classes to prepare him for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

Not very happy with the school. I agree with the poster that stated her children are not being adequately prepared. They aren't. The minute I can get my child out of here, I'm getting her out. The campus is dirty, the rules are arbitrarily enforced - my child is also getting A's in this school but I check her homework and I know she is not being challenged and that she is not being given an adequate education. The principal sends home grammatically incorrect memos.... not a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2011

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!! LOVE IT!!! Did I mention that I love this school -lol. We transfered from David Long and oh my goodness what a different atmosphere CC has. Where do I begin to brag about this school.The Principal is beyond exellent, awesome and amazing. I could just go and on and on. I mean she loves kids and has a heart for the underdog. The staff looks out for the children and wants them to learn. Mrs. Pastor was teacher of the year and I am so glad she'll be a Ruth M. I wish it didn't end at 4th grade, but I am just so thankful that we had this opportunity. This school was an answer to prayer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

I wrote the previous comment, and I was and am a very involved parent. My daughter was receiving A's and B's at coyote canyon. When she started the new school C's and D's, because she had no idea what was going on. These concepts were never touched, Coyote Canyon was so far behind. She has since caught up and made honor roll at her Alta Loma school district school. I have also met several parents with the same situation, they leave Coyote thinking the kids know what they should, and find out how far behind they actually are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2010

My son went to kindergarten at coyote canyon on 2009-2010, it was not a very good year for him because the teacher kept on asking us to get him out of school, because he was not ready. It turns out he was autistic. I wish you good luck. Remember if you don't ask they will not tell you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2010

I recently moved to the area, my daughter is going to Coyote Canyon Elementry in August. She will start Kindgarden and needed to know if there are any recommendation. Much Thank......


Posted July 29, 2009

this school has an ecellent staff that are willing to help children be educated for the future
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

My 13 year old attended this school K-4 and loved it. My 5year old started kinder this year with Mrs. Maylad and absolutly loves school. The staff at Coyote Canyon is the best. My 13yr old was one of their first diabetics and the staff was GREAT! I highly recommend COYOTE CANYON! Refering to cmmt dated 4/26/06 - FYI- the 5th graders ARE NOT 'shuffled off to deal with 7th/8th graders.' My eldest is at Ruth Musser middle school & doing great. All grades are seperated for the most part. Some parents should do their research B 4 making such comments. Coyote Canyon is Awsome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

My son attended This school from 2nd grade to 4th grade. We loved this school the teachers were very helpful and patient with our sons learning disability. The school has pride and respect for one another is very important. My son has only fond memeries of his three years at Coyote Canyon. We have moved to the Seattle area now and I'm sad to say the schools do not meet my expectations the way they did in Coyote Canyon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

My son just started kinder here with Mrs. Calamusa. We could not be happier ! He loves going to school everyday and actually enjoys doing his homework ! I was initially hesistant with him attending kinder with his late bday and 'hyperactivity', but he's already learning to read and knows all his letters in sign !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

Academic Programs at this school are top notch...extracurricular activities are definitely lacking and there are way to many students for this school teaching only K-4th. Disappointed that it only goes to 4th grade and students are then shuffled off to a middle school to deal with 7th and 8th graders as 5th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

My girls attend Coyote canyon. The teachers and the principal are great! The only thing we don't like is the location of the school. If this school was in the Alta Loma area, it be a 5 star school for me and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

My daughter attended coyote canyan for 2 yrs. The teachers are excellant. The only bad thing is the location. Its a very open campass.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

My two boys attend Coyote Canyon and I adore this school. I love the staff and the principal is awesome! The teachers have challenged my boys and keep them right on track. I am very pleased with their grades and look forward to this upcoming year!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

836

Change from
2012 to 2013

-20

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

836

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-20

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females63%
Males52%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disability13%
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to state50%

Math

All Students65%
Females67%
Males64%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disability40%
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner65%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females52%
Males53%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate52%
Parent education - declined to state40%

Math

All Students67%
Females65%
Males67%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner61%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate61%
Parent education - declined to state64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females74%
Males65%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate68%
Parent education - declined to state71%

Math

All Students78%
Females80%
Males74%
African American77%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to state62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 46%
White 27%
Black 14%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/AN/A
English language learners 16%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7889 Elm Avenue
Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 980-4743

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rancho Christian Academy
Rancho Cucamonga, CA


Upland Christian Academy
Rancho Cucamonga, CA


Terra Vista Elementary School
Rancho Cucamonga, CA



Upland Christian Academy
Rancho Cucamonga, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT