Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cucamonga Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rancho Cucamonga

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $222,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,310.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

Also I remember when my school earned an appropriate amount of money it was used to remodel the parking lot we could of used it to make this school better not toward appearance but towards learning. I'm a former student of this school so I have some scary memories of attending this school. I remember we couldn't even go on the field because it was unsafe. There we houses behind the small wall which separated the field and the backyard and someone could easily jump over. Also the staff never asked for ID when a child was picked up from the office they just let them walk out even if they forgot to sign out.. trust me it's not a fun school to attend.. teachers are nice but the principal lacks taking Care of her school.


Posted April 23, 2014

Rated worst school in the nation! Beware, I wouldn't let my grass grow here. Horrible
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

I was glad to see my brother finally leave that excuse of a school. They unfairly suspended him because a girl said he'd been hitting her. I am sorry but since when does a nine year old girl have any authority on who stays and who goes? There was no investigation at all. The only reason he got suspended was because of racism and sexism rolled into one. My mother was called to go pick him up and the principal at the time treated her with no respect because of her lack of English skills and because she was demanding an investigation. There is absolutely no funding and I can't see why anyone would let their kid go there.


Posted September 22, 2013

Both if my children have attended Cucamonga elementary since preschool. I can see where parents are reluctant about keeping their children here . This school has had up and downs. But both of my children are happy and learning. The schools testing scores have gone up. The school has great dedicated staff. I think the main problem with the school is funding. For some reason the school just doesn't get enough help. But over the years I have definetly seen big improvements and am very happy. I love the principal she's tough but very personable. I have the choice to take my children out at any time, but choose not to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

Very unorganized, lack of safety, slow curriculum, my daughter went for one school year- kindergarden and that was enough! Transferred out. This school is noted a PI school. You do have the right to request a district transfer if this is your designated school. I would recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2012

The School has let my 6 year old walk off campus and be returned by other parent. She has been hit in the face and know one informed me about it, and she bleed for three hours after that and again know said anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

I love this school because my two sons learned many things from teachers. Especially, I like my first son's 5th grade teacher (Ms. Garretson). She is enthusiastic about teaching and caring for his students regardless of their backgrounds. I am glad that my sons have been under the wings of good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

In my expirence with Cucamonga Elementry has been excellent. I have two wonderful girls one stated in first & graduated last year to 6TH RCMS; and my youngest started in K & now in 3rd, which both have had excellent teachers. I have to mention they both were in Ms. McQuown's 1st grade class & Ms. Wood 2nd grade they are both excellent teachers that should be recongnied for their teaching methods and encourageing ways that make the children understand the importance of learning and responsiblity. I just wish their were funds avalible to further extra courses for music; science labs; & other educational classes that could broaden our children to the fullest of their potential or at least the same oppertunity that the elementry has up the street. Overall both my girls are advanced on the STAR reports, I believe with more state funding Cucamonga Elementry would be higher racking
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2007

My child attended this school. The teachers are very caring and do the best with what tools they are given. The Administration turn over rate seems high. Principals do not last more than a couple of years. The school did do some remodeling/updating which was badly needed. There is only one junior high for this district. Every time I have gone to the district with concerns I have been told that they are either restructuring or transistioning. My child doesn't have the time to wait while the school district attempts to get its act together. We recently moved so my children can attend a different school district and not have to worry if our request to attend another school is approved or not every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

Great, caring teachers. My son went to the school from Kinder-5th grade. We developed a personal bond with all his teachers throughout the year. He did have to switch class once into a combo class. (2nd/3rd gr)and the school changed principals 3X. My son gets done with his work fast and gets bored easily.All his teachers handled it accordingly by providing add'l challenging worksheets and allowing him to help other students.I never felt anything other than they truly care for my child's education and I am extremely hard on teachers/admin. Now the location of the school affects its API, Title 1 status, available resources for programs other than ESL,ELL etc.The test scores of the school does not reflect the teachers, but all bureaucracy of the district. PTA was weak, same lady, same ideas. I always signed up to help. No response or contact.Same weak circle. Hopefully there is a new PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

The schools in this district is a big reason why I'm selling the house. My daughter's progress is just OK. The school has limited PE classes each week, and devotes alot of classtime preparing for the state tests, which is really a shame. If the schools were doing what they are supposed to be doing each day, the state tests shouldn't be the big deal it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2005

I like the school but feel that the values of the officals involved are not what they should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

My child has gone to Cucamonga Elem for 3 years now. The first two years were great. This past year was a nightmare and my daughter suffered academically becuase of it. There were a number of things that bothered me first the students had 3 teacher within a 6 month peiod which caused distractions, confusion and an unstable learning environment. My child spirits and confidence about school became very low finally I asked taht my child to be removed from the class and placed in another. I noticed a better change in my childs personality and mood about school had changed. My suggestion is to interview the teacher your child is assigned to I know I will very year after this experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2005

This School is really amazing, the teachers are very caring and with the parent involvement the school runs great.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 2, 2005

Cucamonga Elementary has some great things about it. They have a sports program, older students can hold offices, and traditional Halloween activities are allowed (unlike other local schools). On the other hand, the school calendar changes frequently and in important ways (e.g., added two extra days off at Thanksgiving and four extra days off at Easter) without sufficient notice to parents. Academically, the school is not well ranked. My son's math teacher has been unable to assign homework to him 'yet' (it's now spring).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

774

Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

774

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
24%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females65%
Males41%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students53%
Females58%
Males48%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Females42%
Males43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability41%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students47%
Females44%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner34%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females61%
Males32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate62%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students61%
Females66%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate67%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females64%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students56%
Females66%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students52%
Females52%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner30%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 73%
Black 11%
White 10%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/AN/A
English language learners 30%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joyce Kozyra
Fax number
  • (909) 980-4040

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8677 Archibald Avenue
Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 980-1318

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Montessori School House
Rancho Cucamonga, CA


Rancho Academy of Learning
Rancho Cucamonga, CA


Bear Gulch Elementary School
Rancho Cucamonga, CA


Central Elementary School
Rancho Cucamonga, CA


By His Grace Christian Academy
Rancho Cucamonga, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT