Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. John Fisher Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 239 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rancho Palos...

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $843,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2014

This school breeds bullies & very mean kids, because there are two sets of rules . . . one for the bullies and one for the rest of the kids. Because of that most kids turn out broken and mean. Its sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2014

In an environment that is supposed to support learning and the philosophy to love and serve the Lord and one another, they are failing. They aren t creating an open, supportive, fun learning environment that all parents want for their children. The school prides itself on winning the Blue Ribbon Award back in 2010 which is a great accomplishment, but how the school administers work to the students is painful. The school has many on line tools but doesn t require the teachers to use these tools so homework is given by some teachers verbally, some on a black board in which the kids are expected to write it in their agenda, some is given via their on line portal called SchoolSpeak. Because there is no consistency, kids are often lost on what is due and when and an enormous amount of time is spent managing the HW, (calling other students, etc) vs doing the work. Teachers change dates of tests constantly and do not coordinate with other teachers on when big assignments or tests are given, so studying is done too early or you end up with 4 tests on one day. When brought up the schools attitude is that s life and not what you would expect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

SJF is amazing and Mrs. Gradoville in 3rd grade is the best teacher I have come across in my sons schooling and my own. This schools ability to work with all different types of children, teaching them to be great students and also great human beings is far superior to any other school in the area. The kids are kind, the teachers are loving and the principal is the perfect combination of firm and friendly. I love having uniforms and look forward to all 3 of my children going to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

St. John Fisher is such an amazing school! Our son moved his 5th grade year from another school in the area and we couldn't be happier with the academics, the teachers, the principal, the great families, etc... I could go on and on. Our son is a completely different kid, because of the warm, encouraging, stable environment at SJF. I thank Mrs. Hudani for running such an incredible school. There is a saying... "Your school is only as strong as your principal". In this case, I can attest that Mrs. Hudani is more than just strong... she is loving, caring, kind, firm, and fair. If you are looking for a school that encourages every child to be who they are and excel at what they are gifted with, then this is the school for you! Every child has a place at SJF, whether you are an actor, an athlete, a musician, or a scholar there is a place for you here. I am forever grateful that we were lead to SJF. Our decision to move our son to SJF has altered his life and who he eventually will become.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

Small, family-oriented environment. Very rigorous academic standards that teach the kids to seek, value and love learning. The school offers numerous opportunities for learning and growth. The moral and spiritual values are useful for life. As with anything, you get what you put in. Parent involvement is highly encouraged and if anyone sees a wrong being done, Principal Hudani's office is always open and in my experience, and to my knowledge she has attended to every single student-related concern brought to her attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

Totally agree with one of the comments on this site. "This school has been a big disappointment." Student academic achievements are mediocre at best. The school parent environment is very clickish. Have seen a middle school student being bullied yet the school or the principal did nothing to help. If you are looking for a good loving, motivating, and learning environment for your children in a private school setting, this is not worth your money
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

My daughter joined the school this year as an alternative to public middle school and we couldn't be happier. The middle school teachers are excellent (kind and nurturing) in dealing with this age group which isn't always easy. The school is very strong in math and science. My daughter went from hating science to loving it. I'm certain the middle schoolers will be well prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2011

St. John Fisher School is a K-8 private school which received national recognition in 2010 as a "Blue Ribbon School of Excellence." Together with faculty, staff and parents Principal Hudani has created a cutting-edge environment conducive to learning at every level. The schoolwide learning expectations emphasize caring, personal responsibility, and integrity. With these character traits, the students are encouraged to work within their family and among their peers to care for each other and their larger community. This is truly a special place to go to school and is a really affordable option when compared to other private schools in the area. The teachers are wonderful and the children are very prepared for high school when they graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

Blue Ribbon school that offers academic excellence. Principal built the school k-8 from ground up when the last nun left. This parish school would be state of the art once the church construction is finished. Homework load is excess because SJF is trying to build a solid reputation in the community and compete with the surrounding schools. Parents and kids always seem stress from the extra workload. Too bad that some of the projects and competitions are not optional like the local public school which creates anxiety. A solid Catholic education though if you and your child are willing to do the work. Small school atmosphere with uniforms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

Our son started Kindergarten at SJF and is currently reading at a 3rd-4th grade level. Some of that is most certainly due to parent involvement :-), but all of the SJF staff that we have encountered have been helpful, nurturing and seem truly interested in the well-being and advancement of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

Love it! Rest assured your child will get an excellent education here and also, be a good citizen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

This school is a wonderful school in a great environment. The staff is wonderful and it reflects down to the children. The principal has been so involved in every aspect of the school. I can't imagine sending my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

My son loves going to school. I know he is getting a good education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2006

This school has been a big disappointment. Students academic achievements are more the results of the involvement of the parents, not teachers. If you want your child to be a good follower, this school is for you .If you are looking for a loving, motivating and fun environment, that is openminded and friendly, keep on looking...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 26%
Hispanic 15% 52%
Two or more races 13% 3%
Black 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Anne-Marie Hudani
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5446 Crest Road
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone: (310) 377-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Peninsula Community Church Academy
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA



Lighthouse Academy
Rolling Hills Estates, CA


Discovery World Early Education Center
Rolling Hills Estates, CA


Soleado Elementary School
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA


Morning Star Academy
Palos Verdes Estates, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT