Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Nativity School, The

Private | K-8 | 179 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rancho Santa Fe

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,800,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2014

This school is as beautiful on the inside as it is on the outside. It is a community filled with kind, welcoming staff, students, and parents. If you are looking for an extremely organized, welcoming, loving school that cares about your family, academics and God, then look no further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

We have been at The Nativity School for 4 years since our son was in kindergarten. Our daughter is now in kindergarten and couldn't be happier! We love the warm and nurturing environment that extends beyond the classroom. The teachers really take time to get to know each child and his/her needs. One thing that I think sets Nativity apart from other schools is the strong sense of community. This was so important to us as parents that we our children felt apart of a community, but as parents, we did as well. We feel very blessed to have found such a wonderful community of teachers, friends and children at the Nativity School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2013

Nice facilities but only for kids with zero issues of any kind. Heaven help you if your child has any learning issue at all. The Saxon math will torment you. Our impression was that they're more interested in winning awards then educating neighborhood Catholic kids. Not even sure the Catholic part matters too them. Principle is quirky, over controlling and tone deaf to any constructive advice or criticism. Hard to accurately describe how weirdly difficult she is to deal with. If you have an A student that walks a perfectly straight line you'll probably be just fine. If not, run away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

We love The Nativity School. My son is in the 3rd grade and this is our 4th year at the school. We have loved the teachers, the facility, the religious integration with the church, and all the extra curricular programs it offers: Spanish, Music, Art, PE, Technology. I have faith in the decisions from the Principal because Nativity always keeps the students best interest in mind. There is a lot of parent involvement and I think it helps to keep the school running smoothly, but it also fosters a sense of community and pride that my husband and I appreciate. We are looking forward to continuing our son's education at Nativity through the 8th grade. Go Nativity Stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

The Nativity School has been a great fit for our family, both for the children as well as for us parents. The class sizes are small, with many lower grades having teacher assistants in addition to the full time teacher. Our son has a vision problem, and the teachers have been consistently attentive and helpful. The academics are challenging, the teachers are professional, well educated and caring teachers, the specialists are excellent, and the students can really be themselves at Nativity. They feel comfortable with the classmates taking risks, and enjoy being on school teams together. We joined their church parish, which has enabled us to bond with the church and school community as a whole. We feel confident our children will be happy and well cared for at the school, and that is all you can really ask for as a parent. It is well worth the tuition as many public schools in the area have much larger class sizes and have cut specialists, as well as compared to other local private schools, where tuition is almost double that of Nativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2012

We have been at The Nativity School for 12 years. Our 3 children have thrived in the loving and peaceful environment that the school and parish have created. Having one class per grade allows the focus to remain on each child's development - academically, spiritually, and socially. With our oldest son now a junior in high school, it is evident (and complimented) how well Nativity prepared him to be a successful student! He states many times how well Nativity prepared him for the rigors of HS. The administration welcomes parent involvement and supports all aspects of the school with a strong cirriculum which focuses on the whole student. We are VERY grateful we listened to our parent instincts when deciding on Nativity School 13 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

Our children have been at The Nativity School for four years and we are very happy with the small class sizes, high academic standards and overall moral on the school campus. The teachers are loving and dedicated to their students and the parents are very involved. We are looking forward to middle school and the strong programs currently being offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2010

We were at this school for 3 years and realized it was too small (1 class per grade) with too many cliques and lacking in academics compared with the public schools nearby. Not the kind and nurturing environment that we were led to believe that existed either. Instead, we found it to be very snobby without being the wholesome school that we expected. Our recommendation is to go to the public school with emphasis on strong catholic teaching at home and involvement with your church.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2010

My child was at Nativity for 5 years until I realized how much better the nearby public schools were. When my child went on to middle school, he had to take math in summer school to get to the regular math class. He is doing very well now, but Nativity didn't prepare him to excel in a better academic environment. Nativity was also not very strong in athletics. Overall I wish I had sent my child to the public school for grammar school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

great for education and parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

Nativity has not been able to sustain an enrollment or academic standard for the long term. It's a charming little school but cannot compete with the surrounding educationl offerings in Rancho Santa Fe, unfortunately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

Nativity cultivates and focuses on the whole child. It has an extremely nurturing and academically accelerated evironment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

My children attended Nativity for 4 years, we left to go to another Catholic school because of a lack of leadership and small class size was not good for my children socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

This is a terrific little school!! Only 20 kids per class and a lot of parent/teacher involvment. The school fosters a very close community and a great academic program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2004

Wonderful supportive, creative environment for children. Especially good for lower grades. This catholic school provides a truly individualized teaching cirriculum. Highest recommendations!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 26%
Hispanic 8% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Fr. Lawrence Purcell
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Diego
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6309 El Apajo Road
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
Phone: (858) 756-6763

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Horizon Prep
Rancho Santa Fe, CA






The Rhoades School
Encinitas, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT