Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Horizon Prep

Private | PK-10 | 525 students

Christ-centered, Classically Based, Top 3% National Test Scores, Character Ed.
 
 

 
 

Living in Rancho Santa Fe

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,800,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

The teachers at Horizon Prep are like no where else! They love each child as their own pouring into them knowledge, love, and character!!! I wouldn't trust any other influence on my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

Not good with food allergies...if you have food allergies you will be denied entrance . They won't admit it but my child was denied and they still continue to ask for money from us. They just don't want to get involved. It's sad as life threatening food allergies are a hidden disability and not the child's fault. Don't waste your time or money if you are different.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2013

I can't say I have had any of the poor experiences reported by more recent reviewers. I understand how the school feels being in a business where you are frequently unfairly reviewed. I have two kids in fourth grade and they have been there since kindergarden. They love it, we love it, and they ARE NOT behind in any subject. Their IOWA testing is done more than six months before other schools so they can make up any gaps during the course of the year. Furthermore, all grades rank above 90th percentile nationally and competitively with other local private schools. The classroom sizes are small and each teacher has an assistant. It feels like a family, to me, and I am not a big donor or potential big donor. The school has made modifications to its math program to answer complaints lodged in other reviews. As for "bullying", these parents must have a pretty loose definition of the word because it would be next to impossible given the amount of supervision and the small class sizes (there are only about 50 students per grade level).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

The christian center is great, and the teachers care about the students and love them. I graduated from prep a year ago, and now going into highschool, prep didn't prepare me or my classmates well enough. The math is good, and so is the rest of the classes.


Posted April 3, 2013

Horizon Prep has been a wonderful, Christ centered and academically strong choice for both of our kids. We have been at the school for over 9 years, and it continues to improve each year. The teachers are all degreed (many have Masters) and they truly care about each student. The Headmaster, Dr. K, is a very capable leader and has a strong leadership team surrounding him. With the High School opening this next year we are looking forward to staying at HP through 12th grade. What you see is what you get, a community based around Scripture that loves, nurtures and develops our kids to reach their full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2012

We have an 8th Grader who has been here since Preschool, Pre-K, Kindergarten, 1st - 8th Grade. (11 wonderful years!) Every single day has been a blessing. The kids, the teachers, the staff, the families, the activities, the sports, the new campus, the loving environment, the Christian focus, and the education have all been outstanding. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who is even remotely considering Horizon Prep. You will be thrilled with the growth and development of the most important person in your life. Confident that you did the very best you could to develop them academically, spiritually, emotionally, athletically and socially into a fine young person. I hear it all the time from families who are there how happy they are, and from those who graduate, how much they miss the special place that Horizon is. Don't take my word for it, ask my 8th Grader who is now 14 (and teenagers don't like anything...) I ask all the time: "How do you rate your school from 1 to 10?" The answer is always: "10 out of 10!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2012

Both of our kids graduated from Middle School from Horizon Prep Rancho Santa Fe. Our kids are exceling in High School and are well prepared for college as a result of the terrific education and mentoring they received. Reading the reviews I find it troubling that a small handful of dissatisfied parents have decided to vent their frustration by trying to damage the reputation of a terrific school and highly trained, capable on loving educators. I strongly recommend Horizon Prep to parents who want what is best for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

My kids have been at Horizon Prep since pre-school. One graduated a year ago and is now in High School, the other is entering Middle School at HP. One of my children is accelerated academically and the other has several learning disabilities. BOTH of my kid's learning needs have been met by the accomplished teaching staff at HP. Even more importantly, both of my children love to learn and feel successful as students. With Christ at the center of the school, the kids are taught moral foundations that are biblically based and encouraged to take these foundations out into the world. The Head Master at HP is a tremendous leader who cares about his students and their families. I have always found the Administration at HP to be accessible and open to feedback and discussion. They are truly invested in the academic success and happiness of each and every student. My husband and I have been exceedingly happy over the past 7 years with Horizon Prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2012

Our children recently graduated from Horizon Prep and are now attending a local private high school. We are incredibly pleased with the way they were prepared to take on any class at the high school level with confidence and success. Horizon prepared them for the challenges of high school and we are thankful for the loving care both academically and spiritually the teachers provided. It was truly a wonderful experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2012

We had our child here for pre-school and pre-k and had a good experience. However: BEWARE of the lower and middle schools as they are woefully behind in mathmatics, science and english studies. Further, there are regular incidents of bullying and spiritual denegration of younger/weaker students. They have a wonderful marketing program which promotes a classical Christian education, but from what we have seen, the students do not get a private school caliber education and are certainly not grounded in Christian kindness and love.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

We had several children at this school & hoped we had found the best Christian school possible. It is a beautiful school, located in a prestigious area, but the heart of this school is ugly - filled with arrogance, incompetence and unprofessionalism. It is not a loving, caring Christian school as we were led to believe. Parents and teachers are afraid to speak the truth. If you look past the pretty campus, expensive catering & massive marketing campaign, what you see is a school that is anything but Christian. Bullying is a major problem in many grades & neither the teachers or administration are prepared/willing to address the problem. There is constant preferential treatment of teacher/staff children. The school cares little, if at all, about the parents/families. They provide no avenue or opportunity for parent input (no PTA or otherwise). Anyone who does advocate on behalf of their child or any issue is immediately disparaged both by teachers and the administration staff. The head pastor is NEVER present - on the campus, at chapel or otherwise. And the school campuses are not secure. This school is nothing it purports to be - very disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

My sons have been at Horizon Prep for 10 years - from Preschool to Middle School!! I can't say enough good things about HP. My children have had challenges - as all children do - and they have been nurtured and instructed with care and concern from all their teachers. Horizon Prep is more than just a "great school" - it's a great FAMILY to be a part of!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2012

This is our family's second year at Horizon Prep, and we are VERY happy with the academic, spiritual, emotional, social, and athletic growth in our boys. I strongly recommend the school. Both my sons demonstrate excellent Iowa test scores (very top percentiles) but there's much more to HP than great standardized test scores. Repeatedly, I've witnessed teachers showing one-on-one help with my boys and other students. A personal example: My younger son's writing was so-so when he arrived last year. Before 2010-11 school year ended, he became a phenomenal writer! That happened because his teacher last year went out of her way to continuously help him. Many of the lessons I hear about on the car ride home are dynamic and creative. We are thrilled that our boys are learning Latin, Spanish, hands-on science, to highlight a few subject areas, and all with Christ as the foundation. The administration is very responsive to parent input, with numerous venues of open communication and opinion seeking. Because God is the priority, excellence is the expectation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

We have had three children here from Preschool to Elementary School, for the last five years. The experience has been wonderful. Horizon is very rigorous academically, and our children routinely score in the top percentile on the Iowa Tests. They all read far above grade level and love learning. More importantly, they feel loved and valued and look forward to coming to school. The teachers show a genuine interest and love of each child and their individual learning styles and personalities. We have really enjoyed the open and welcoming community of parents too. Sometimes we have to wait for a turn to volunteer, because so many parents sign up for everything. I can't say enough about the love our whole family has experienced at Horizon Prep. They have created something very special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

My children have been at horizon for 4 years now. I am so saddened to see the majority of these negative comments are regarding the preschool not the elementary or middle school. My son went to the preschool and I feel it is a totally different environment then the elementary school. The elementary school is amazing and the academics are more difficult than any other school we interviewed. We have been so please with our experience here at Horizon, we will never go back to public school again. I had my daughter at public school for one year, we were so disappointed in the lack of discipline that we had no choice but to look for a school that was more nurturing and loving that also had amazing academics. Horizon met all of our expectations and more. I guess that is why they say that Horizon is "the love bubble". It truely is. Thank you Horizon
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

My daughters have gone to this school since they were in preschool. My youngest is now in 8th grade. Although the school had its share of growing pains in the beginning, the overall experience has been phenomenal. Both of my children test in the top 3% of national standardized tests and are proficient in Spanish and Latin. Beyond the academics, my children have learned to be edifying and accepting of all types of people. They are gracious, articulate and well-spoken.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

We wanted to so badly to believe this school was all it sold itself to be. They do a wonderful sales job & really make you believe you are in a special place. The truth is it is not so special once you're on the inside. Bullying - even in the prescool - is rampant. There is an inner circle of teachers and their own children at the school that get preferential treatment - and families have left because of it. The rules don't apply equally to everyone. If you try to to advocate anything on behalf of your child because they appear to listen to your thoughts/ideas/concerns & then whisper behind your back - you become an outcast. There's lots of praise in worship which gives the sense that there's a lot of love in this school, but when you peel back the first layer, the teachers & staff talk the talk but dont walk the walk. It's appalling & sad that a Christian school would facilitate an environment that so easily excludes others - students and parents. They are not truly providing a Christian program where kids feel safe and loved - but they sure do a good job of selling that & a whole lot more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2010

Something to take notice of is that the majority of these negative reviews were from 4-6 years ago, when the school was brand new! As a student at Horizon Prep (middle school) for a few years now, it definitely has been a great school. Yes there is the "cliqueiness" and occasional meanness/snobbiness (from students) that comes with being a private school in the middle of Rancho Santa Fe, but the teachers, staff, and majority of the students here have made it an enjoyable, Christ-centered experience. Teachers are always open to opinions from our parents, and really try to bond with us students. The academics here are also stellar, and the fact that Horizon Prep has been voted best private school in San Diego several years in a row clearly testifies to that!


Posted October 9, 2010

My daughters have excelled at Horizon. My shy daughter was encouraged and surrounded by love and support while my go getter daughter was challenged and thrived.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

It is a shame the rating for this school is statistically skewed. it appears anyone with "issues" have automatically rated it poorly...on this site, there are either 5 stars, or one star. Usually people "rate" something becausethey are moved by it. And, normally, most people are not motivated to say things are going smoothly. We have had an outstanding experience at Horizon. Our young boy came in with socialization issues, and with the focused and measured guidance from the staff, he has socialized wonderfully, for which we are blessed. I would advise anyone reading any of the early poor comments (most in 2006, and very similar in content) to take them with a grain of salt. Horizon Prep is a well established, highly reputable, and effective program offering a great curriculum and Christ-based ethos. Comparatively, the tuition is reasonable, for the services and quality recived. It is a great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 26%
Hispanic 4% 52%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Latin
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top 3% Nationwide IOWA Scores (2011)
  • Top 3% Nationwide IOWA Scores (2010)
  • Top 3% Nationwide IOWA Scores (2009)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Ken Kush
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (858) 759-5827

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • College preparatory
  • Core knowledge
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Imagine a school where your child is known – not just a number. From Preschool to High School, Horizon Prep develops tomorrow’s leaders through Core Curriculum, Special Areas, Character Education and Biblical integration. With an average class size of 17, dedicated Teachers serve as accessible role models, nurturing students in a safe environment. Horizon Prep consistently ranks in the Top 3% Nationwide in Standardized Test Scores (IOWA), and is accredited by WASC and ACSI.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6233 El Apajo Road
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 756-5599

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nativity School, The
Rancho Santa Fe, CA



R. Roger Rowe Middle School
Rancho Santa Fe, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT