Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Students enrolled: 511

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


R. Roger Rowe Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
This school is Amazing! No class has over 20 kids in it when most public schools in CA have up to 35 per class! The parent community cares about the kids and helps to make up for public funding shortfalls by supporting the education foundation. My kids are getting an excellent public education for a FRACTION of the cost of private school. This district impresses me so much - I just found out that the board members have no pay - they work for free! They felt it was wrong to take money from the kids! Where else does that happen???
1 person found this helpful

R. Roger Rowe Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
There are people posting on this forum who clearly have an agenda. It just smacks of politics. So disappointing. If you're looking for facts, why not get them? - The Foundation DOES NOT have $5 Million in reserves. The money is managed by the Endowment, a separate entity governed by rules set in place by the original donors. If you need more info, ask. The money cannot simply be used. - The District is 100% transparent. Instead of playing the game that you are, why don't you walk into the Super-indendent's office and ask her for information? Or is it that you'd rather gossip monger here? - You don't have to donate $10000 every year. You don't have to donate anything. This is a public school. But the more of us that band together, the more we can change public school education and give our kids some pretty amazing opportunities. That's what YOUR kid is getting here, right? - Where does the Foundation money go? The money goes directly to the teachers and programs that take the school a level above most public schools. There is an annual report on the website. Bottom line: this is an amazing school. Your kids are being educated here and you should be supporting it, not fighting it.


R. Roger Rowe Elementary School 4

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
I'm confused why the district was going to ask for a $18mi bond for a new school gym, then I open the paper and read they have enough money to purchase land for fields and parking lots. Why not take the $5 mil you would have purchased for parking and update the gym and not ask taxpayers to foot the bill? Where did the school get all that cash?? Let's keep the dollars in the classroom and stop asking for more money. The Foundation has $5 million in reserves and the School board has purchased a house on that they rent out. Why not sell the house? Should School Districts be Landlords? Let keep to education.

R. Roger Rowe Elementary School 2

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
I am a former parent and I am surprised yet encouraged to see the discussion in the previous posts about the Foundation. I believe my child would have had a far better education had there been no parent funding. It sounds like a great idea but the money ends up compensating for poor teaching, bad curriculums and weak administration. They have more money than most schools in ca without the foundation help but just can't seem to deliver. We are much happier in private school. As for the previous post, the things listed are provided at most public elementary schools in North County and if those parents are even required to contribute financially it is a much, much smaller amount. I think every Rowe parent needs to ask themselves why they give this amount of money to the school. What are they expecting in return? Obviously parents feel they get something - why else would you give over $10,000 a year - but it is not for what the Foundation advertises as these things can be provided with little if any additional money.
1 person found this helpful

R. Roger Rowe Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
I AM IMPRESSED. The staff and teachers are amazing. I had my child in a private school $15/yr. To switch our child to this school - It was decided with much research & examination. The academic program, reading- writing program is impressive. The enrichment classes & lunch clubs offered are fabulous. The children are taught to be responsible for their actions & their work at a young age. Children are very prepared academically for the future - the results (via scores & where children go on for HS & College) speak for themselves. The school goes above to enrich: Nasa engineer speaker (last month) etc. Partner with the Scripps & Birch programs - being taught by marine scientist. Academic competitions, DRAMA, ART, PE, MUSIC.. even the lunch program is modern-forward thinking - a recycle bar for kids and the garden! The school works hard to promote KINDNESS thru various programs other schools do not. What impresses me the most is to hear or see kids that see another not so nice act, and the KIDS step UP and say - hey thats mean - thats not OK. That and those kids will make the difference and I want my son to learn in that environment. There are bullies everywhere in life.


R. Roger Rowe Elementary School 3

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
There are some great things about the school but they certainly waste our money. If you don't donate to the foundation at least fair share you are ostracized and your children may suffer.
1 person found this helpful

R. Roger Rowe Elementary School 3

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
Academics are first rate. Very responsive teachers and administration. There is a bullying problem on all levels that hopefully the school will address. A major problem is that there is a full handbook of specific rules for the school that just isn't enforced in any manner whatsoever. Teaching the kids it is ok to ignore the rules. To be fair, many of the parents act in the same manner. Many of the children are a bit unruly, unchecked by parents that don't care or have no idea what is going on. You wouldn't know if by meeting most of the kids, they are well schooled in putting on the respectful face for elders, only to turn around and be quite different in reality. A school full of Eddie Haskels. Of course this does not apply all the kids, but there is enough that it rubs off on many off on many.
1 person found this helpful

R. Roger Rowe Elementary School 2

Posted March 19, 2013
- a community member
Bullying going on...nothing is being done. Kids are scared, parents are in denial, and there is no policy regarding zero tolerance that is being practiced. Disgraceful!


R. Roger Rowe Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2012
- a parent
We had an incredible experience at this school and are very familiar with staff and administrative personnel. My shy, incredibly bright and backwards socially son blossomed here. His talents were recognized and rewarded, his intellect stimulated with Mr. Warmer's awesome physics, the math program was superb, we were given advanced placement, the writing program helped him to learn to expand his writing and gain immeasurable skill in composition, the fun educational activities like the greek olympiad, egypt studies, American Indian studies, Colonial days, etc. made learning fun. On the other side, I love that the school has a real coach and full gym for sports and athletic activities. I saw my son make friends, establish good relationships with peers and teacher alike to become a well-adjusted, secure individual. This school offers what other schools can not. It has programs which enrich and teach, fantastic facilities, and a great administration that cares about the students.

R. Roger Rowe Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2011
- a parent
We have 4 children and all have attended/graduate from this school. This is an amazing school and I was shocked not to see 5 stars by its name. Then I noticed there are 2 reviews from 2006/7 that are totally NOT reflective of the school as it exists today. Longtime Admin/Teachers and fresh new faculty make it a point to get to know every student/family. Many faculty members are also school parents. Differentiated learning is offered at both the advanced and remedial levels. Education Foundation, led by parent volunteers supplements the District budget with close to $1mm each year-this school is unlike any other public school in the county and rivals or beats other private school options.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

R. Roger Rowe Elementary School
5927 La Granada, Rancho Santa Fe, CA  92067
(858) 756-1141
Last modified R. Roger Rowe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
R. Roger Rowe Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top