Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Solana Santa Fe Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
Wonderful school with caring staff, lovely teachers and involved parents. Small class sizes help teachers teach to each students individual level. Our son has an IEP and the Special Ed department sets our son up for success with specialized academic instruction and providing him an aide in the classroom to facilitate his learning and social skills. We are very happy with the culture of the school and the nurturing environment!

Solana Santa Fe Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
Great, small school tucked away in a beautiful area. Nice, fair principal and the staff is caring. The academics are standard, public school. But the stream program, music, computers, PE and art programs are the highlights of the school. We are very impressed by the art our son has done with the art teacher.


Solana Santa Fe Elementary School 3

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
Pros: 1. Small class size (16-22 in the lower grades) 2. Well funded compared to other public schools. The school asks for a hefty donation from each family at the beginning of the year, and most families comply. Cons 1. Lack of before/after school care- If you are a dual income family, be prepared to STRESS like no other on what to do with your child while you work, especially after school and during the summer. The only option right now is to be bussed to the community center, which closes at 5 and very few children do it. 2. Lack of differentiation- I agree with previous posts that teachers have low tolerance for children who are "out of the box." Same with bright students- they will likely get bored. 3. Ipads- I wish it would serve a more useful purpose than to "babysit." Parents spent so much money on these, and students are playing games while the teacher focuses on a small group of students. In regards to Stepfordville, to each his own.

Solana Santa Fe Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
Our two children have done very well at this school. Solana Santa Fe is what a school should be: an organization that helps those who earn the right to an excellent education, and does well to remove students and other elements that might distract from the betterment of the whole. Overall, we can't imagine how any other school could do a better job in today's increasingly difficult and more competitive arena. Our children have been encouraged and driven to excell, and that they have. Thank you Solana Santa Fe!

Solana Santa Fe Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
My son has an IEP and the team at SSF has been amazing. Almost every teacher, aide and staff member in the whole school is bright, interested and innovative. He has HFA and a very high IQ so offers odd challenges and they meet them with grace and enthusiasm. Principal Bering is great!


Solana Santa Fe Elementary School 2

Posted May 05, 2013
- a parent
Welcome to Stepfordville. Please enjoy your stay. This school is filled with Real Housewives who come to the drop off and pick up in skimpy tennis wear with designer bags. Their priorities and value systems are success at any cost, and the school caters to this perfectly. There is zero creative or independent thought at this school, it is teach to the test. Kindergarteners learn how to fill in bubbles with their number two pencils within the first few weeks of school. While the school certainly has a great policy against bullying, and I am pleased that the poster's child's bullying problem was addressed, the larger issue remains as to why the child was bullied in the first place. The answer, I believe, is because the school sets a competitive, win/succeed at-any-cost atmosphere and defines very narrowly what it means to be successful. There is not a lot of tolerance for those who are different or who think outside of the box. Moreover, this comes not just from the students, but from the teachers. I personally have observed children in distress emotionally whose needs were ignored by multiple staff members in close proximity. Not a caring environment.

Solana Santa Fe Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2013
- a parent
Solana Santa Fe Elementary has an excellent staff and parent involvement. This school's no tolerance on bullying is something my child experienced first hand. Although my child's experience was being bullied in a lighter nature, the teachers and staff addressed it immediately and with appropriate action. If you want your child to succeed in life and do well in their educational career, this is the school for you. This school prepares you for learning, test taking, social skills and having great life skills they will need long term.

Solana Santa Fe Elementary School 3

Posted January 22, 2013
- a parent
If Bentleys, iPads, and good test scores are of the utmost importance to you, then this is the school for you. If, on the other hand, you are looking for a kind and loving environment for your child, think twice before enrolling your child at this school. The school pushes, pushes, and pushes, all in the name of those test scores and an excellent front page write up in the Rancho Santa Fe Review. This push at any cost attitude results in students who learn to take a test, but may be devoid of any critical thought process. It also results in a lot of frustration in the lower grades, when good students become frustrated that they are not perfect, and when those that are developmentally slower (dare I say normal) feel downright dumb. All in the name of the great race to nowhere. One wonders when these kids will burn out, if not in elementary school, surely by the seventh grade. Many of the parents have tutors for their kids, not because a child has any particular deficiency, but simply to keep up. There are certainly some good teachers here, and a lot of parent involvement, but the culture is go, go, go, and please think only in the box.


Solana Santa Fe Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2011
- a parent
Exceptional school. My two children have loved their SSF experience and we have been duly impressed and pleased with the Principal, the teachers and staff. It is a very nurturing, positive and intimate environment with high academic standards. The PTO is very generous with it's time and energy and the family community at large is very giving which has helped the school maintain it's extra services like PE, Music, Art and Science to name a few. It has ethnic and socio economic diversity which is refreshing and valuable for the children's experiences and education. There have been some bullying issues but to be fair, no more than other schools as this has become a pervasive and more serious problem in today's world. In response, SSF has thankfully implemented an anti-bullying program that is proving to be effective and helpful for the children in learning how to resolve conflict and take a stand (victim or bystander) against the bully in a safe and productive way. The program also does a lot of proactive modeling of positive behavior and promotes empathy and kindness. It is a very safe and happy place overall and I can't say enough about this school.

Solana Santa Fe Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2011
- a parent
I feel so lucky to send my kids to this amazing school! It feels like a private school, the teachers are amazing, I love and respect the principal, it's just an overall excellent school environment and every day I feel thankful this this is where my 3 kids will go from kindergarten through 6th grade.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Solana Santa Fe Elementary School
6570 El Apajo, Rancho Santa Fe, CA  92067-8940
(858) 794-4700
Last modified Solana Santa Fe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Solana Santa Fe Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top