Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bidwell Elementary School 1

Posted March 18, 2015
- a parent
My biggest concern is the security of this school is HORRIBLE! On the occasion I do pull my child out of school I am never verified or even asked my relation to the child, they just ask which child I would like to remove from class. I also have walked to her classroom on many occasions and walked her to my car and not ONCE did one yard duty or staff say a word. I could be a parent or relative they recognize that's unauthorized to be near let alone pick up this child! I also have tried to contact the principal regarding bullying and I was told "we'll leave a note and he will get a hold of you in a few days" WHEN SHOULD BULLYING BE PUT ON THE BACK BURNER?? I also assume my note of concern was instead passed to my childs teacher because she contacted me and put FULL blame on my child who was coming home daily crying. This school needs a SEVER change.

Bidwell Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2013
- a parent
Bidwell Elementary School is our top choice for an elementary school in Tehama County. This year the school got a new principal, and she has been actively involved with the students on the playground as well as the parent group. The students have a respect for each other because the staff focuses on expected and taught behaviors. My child loves this school! She has attended for 4 years. Unfortunately, we are relocating, and she is heart-broken. She absolutely loves her school! I am impressed by the level of high expectations set for all students. The teachers are very hard-working, and it is obvious that they care because they take the time to get to know their students. We will miss Bidwell!


Bidwell Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2010
- a parent
I am sorry, but the person who posted the 'one star' rating is a hack!! Those comments couldn't be farther from the truth. Parents whom I have observed acting like that are those who continually stick up for their kids whether right or wrong-- only later to see them end up in Juvenile Hall or Community Day School because they are supported by people who don't know how to parent. The principal, Mr. Scharaga, is a great leader to the school! All the students respect him. He has a great track record and has done great things in the ~10 years he's been there. What bothers me most about the review posted on 4-10-10 is that the person who wrote it said Bidwell... worst school... Give me a break! Just because the parent is upset that someone actually tried to discipline their child. Wake up and focus on being a parent!

Bidwell Elementary School 1

Posted April 10, 2010
- a community member
bidwell elementry school is the worst school i could possibly imagine the principal is a misunderstanding person who is very judgmental and rude.and dosn't understand the students piont of view of of anything and always bragging about things he didnt achieve

Bidwell Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 22, 2009
- a community member
Bidwell school meets every child at where they are at and helps them to succeed, and become successful. They focus on there student's education in the Arts, and other areas and not just in test scores. The school has an awesome parent club that really works hard and many volunteers who help everyday. The students are the hardest working around. They have great test scores and have earned awards because of it, but most of all our children love going to that school. They love Bidwell!


Bidwell Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
Bidwell Elementary School has the best students, teachers, staff and parent volunteer group in the county! Everyone is so supportive. There are intervention programs in place to make sure that every student is supported and has the chance to shine! With teacher and staff support, parents stay involved and committed to encourage our children to do their very best. There's no better school in the county!

Bidwell Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
Bidwell School has a great teaching team along with classifed staff. The Parent Group is so awesome, commited to helping students succeed and have fun in the process. A great place to learn.

Bidwell Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2009
- a parent
Bidwell, is the best school in Tehama County!! Period. They have the best test scores and the best staff. They meet all childrens' needs and continue to strive for excellence. There parent club is very involved in school activities and functions. I would not send my child to any other school.


Bidwell Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2005
- a parent
For My daughters fist four months of school. Bidwell Kindergarden Has an amazind half Day Program with two wonderful teachers. Ranging from field trips to music lessons and daily art activities. My daughter arrives home every day singing a new song and spelling a new word! Every day ! Unfortunatley we have to move so we will not be able to finish out the year! But over all a great kindergarden program!

Bidwell Elementary School 4

Posted August 10, 2005
- a parent
I am a parent of two boys who went to this school.I think it is a good school. The principle is really involved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bidwell Elementary School
1256 Walnut Street, Red Bluff, CA  96080-3603
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (530) 527-7171
Last modified Bidwell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top