Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Monarch Learning Center 5

Posted March 03, 2016
- a community member
This school is awesome!!! Its small class size combined with teachers who really teach and a great afternoon program make it a place you want your child to go to!!!

Monarch Learning Center 5

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
I wish I would have known about Monarch sooner. By the time I found Monarch only one of my kids was young enough to enroll. It was by far the best educational decision I ever made for him. The school is amazing. I love that it is small enough for all of the teachers and staff to get to know each student personally. It reminds of the "Two by Ten" strategy, but school wide. I also love that it's so family oriented.


Monarch Learning Center 5

Posted November 06, 2011
- a community member
Thank you. I've heard nothing but wonderful things about Mr. Essig. I was thinking of another person. Thank you.

Monarch Learning Center 5

Posted October 20, 2011
- a teacher
The leader mentioned in earlier posts was Steve Essig, one of the founding directors of the school. He retired at the end of the 2005 - 2006 school year. He was a school administrator in Shasta county for many years before founding Chrysalis Charter School and then Monarch a few years later. He was the principal investigator for the Science In Rural California (SIRC) project, which provided professional development in the natural sciences for many Shasta County teachers.

Monarch Learning Center 5

Posted September 25, 2011
- a community member
I have had 3 grandchildren graduate from Monarch, and a 4th one who is in 7th grade. The students can all know each other because the school is small, and none fall through the cracks. The teachers have excellent repore with the kids, and it is a great learning environment.


Monarch Learning Center 4

Posted June 07, 2011
- a parent
My kids had started K and one graduated 8th grade at this school. This school has been great. My other son is now in 7th and he loves his teacher. We choose this school because of the smaller class size. And the fact that no kid is held back from a challenge. My older son was good at math. So in 1st. grade he went into the 2nd grade classroom. I love this fact. That they mix class grades according to the individual not their actual grade level or their age. Its a FREE public school that should be given a chance for any new comer.

Monarch Learning Center 5

Posted October 29, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school with only about 100 kids. The smaller setting allows a more personal feel between students and teachers as well as between students. Parent involvement is strong and brings to the overall setting a sense of family. The academic standards are high and emphasis on respect for each other and the individual differences is also high. There is no tolerance for bullying as is often found in larger schools.

Monarch Learning Center 5

Posted April 28, 2006
- a parent
This is a natural science based school with teachers who really do care about their students. Great variety in extracurricular activities, even a ski club.


Monarch Learning Center 2

Posted March 09, 2006
- a parent
This school seems to be losing some of the acedemic greatness it used to possess. With the loss of a great leader the transition has not been good and this effects the children in a negative manner. I would recommend careful inspection to see if this is the right environment for your child. The teachers is the lower grades seem to be very talented and dedicated to the children. More healthy boundaries could be brought into play. Children need boundaries and not enough are provided in some of the classes.

Monarch Learning Center 5

Posted January 12, 2006
- a parent
My daughter started at Monarch Learning Center as a Kindergartner this year. There is a wonderful focus on the moral responsibility of the individual student and a great sense of community. As a Kindergartner, my daughter participates in extras like art, music, sign language, Spanish, karate, and more. All of the teachers work together to share their strengths and specialties with each grade level. Miss Krista, the Director is daily involved with the children and parents. The strong encouragement and welcoming of parent volunteers creates a great sense of community, and provides more structure for learning both in class and at home. The flexibility of this charter school is the perfect set up whether you want your child in school 5 days a week, or just two.

Nearby schools

Monarch Learning Center
5307 Cedars Road, Redding, CA  96001-4102
(530) 247-7307
Last modified Monarch Learning Center is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top