Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Judson & Brown Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
My son started in a Private School and I transferred him to JB- the experience was the same. The front staff are amazing, Mrs Sanborn, Mrs Astorga and Mrs Weigel are true gems! The original Principal, Mr C was so personable and know each kids by name and directs traffic personally- he got promoted and left. Mrs Hosch is quite similar to Mr C.

Judson & Brown Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
Mrs Sanborn, third grade Teacher-for bringing theater to the kids- production of Trip to Mars!


Judson & Brown Elementary School 4

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
I am fairly new to the school but will be here a long while with more of my children entering. I am very pleased with the staff , teachers and the PTA. I believe they bought $22,000.00 dollars worth of technology last year though their fundraising efforts not to mention every thing else they provide. My children and self are of multiple races and have never ever felt discriminated against and the PTA parents have been awesome at trying to get more and more involvement as this still fairly new school still is learning and growing! I plan to get very involved next year in the PTA and hope no one looks at my children as being favored because of it. Our kids deserve the best we can all offer.

Judson & Brown Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
I have been a parent at this school since it opened 8 years ago and I have never seen a child be treated differently because of race. My children are multiracial and I am happy that they are around other children of many cultures and races at school. The staff at this school orders all awards and trophies based on what has been earned. PTA only pays for the awards, if they didn't the school would not be able to pay for it out of their budget. PTA doesn't get a list and doesn't see who is rewarded until the ceremony along with everyone else. As far as attendance goes, it is a job to be taken very seriously by the attendance clerk. NO ONE else in the school even the principal is allowed to touch it. If attendance is not accounted for properly the school doesn't get money from the state and it is also audited so there are no mistakes. I just attended CMS 8th grade awards night and 90% of the kids that received the big awards were former J&B students, just shows you the great foundation that was put before them at this school . Id say if you don't like it switch schools, but Redlands is a city of community involvement so whatever school you attend here the community will be involved.

Judson & Brown Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
In response to the last review ...Every school has areas that could be improved upon...and thats exactly what PTA strives to do, for EVERY child! PTA spends countless hours donating time to insure that EVERY child has an opportunity to participate in school activities that are paid for with PTA funds. PTA is not in anyway shape or form invovled in keeping track of perfect attendance or joggers club or AR points. Not all of the children of PTA parents get all the awards....my son included...he only received the awards that he EARNED! HIGH acheiving students will quite obviously earn more than those who are not. If there is concern about the level of PTA involvement it is well within anyones rights as a member of the school to come to meetings and see exactly what the PTA does. If you are unywilling to hecome involved than you dont have the right to criticize.


Judson & Brown Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
To be involved means to show concern for someone or something. Thank you Judson Brown PTA for being an involved board. Your strength, dedication, and commitment to our school makes it the best Redlands school to attend. Continued success to the awesome PTA board!

Judson & Brown Elementary School 1

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
This school is so unfair. The PTA is too involved. Their kids can wear sandals and not get in trouble, although it is against the school rules. The children have a privilege in almost everything. When they re absent, they still get a Perfect Attendance Award at the end of the school year. I wonder what perfect attendance means. Everything the PTA kids do is perfectly good. This school also treated the students by races. J&B is 100% not fit for other students. They should look back at how they have treated others and change it.

Judson & Brown Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
I was nervous about public school but was pleasantly surprised how wonderful this school is. Happy parent and happy child.


Judson & Brown Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
Want to help our kids? It s easy. Our school can receive up to $10,000 in Target GiftCards for books or any supplies we need. Wouldn t that be great? All we need to do is vote for our school each week until September 8. It s part of Give With Target . For every 25 votes our school receives, Target will send a $25 gift card. Find out more and vote at Facebook.com/Target. I am a PT A member and my child is a 1st grade

Judson & Brown Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are excellent and very attentive to student in every single student and individual needs. So proud to have a great teacher.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Judson & Brown Elementary School
1401 East Pennsylvania Avenue, Redlands, CA  92374-4734
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (909) 307-2430
Last modified Judson & Brown Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top