Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Valley Preparatory School

Private | K-8 | 138 students

Our school is best known for our small class size and enrichment programs.

 

Living in Redlands

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $255,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2014

My son just completed six years at VPS and is transitioning easily into his new high school. This week he posted the highest grade in his advanced science class and credits his amazing VPS science teacher for making it easy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2014

My son is starting his 3rd year at Valley Prep, and we couldn't be happier with the curriculum, one-on-one attention, and morals enforced at this school. My husband is an alumni of Valley Prep, and I knew we would want to explore sending our children there. We have two younger children who will also be attending in the future once they're old enough. My son has taken Spanish, French, Art, Music, and PE every week since kindergarten as part of their curriculum. He just began 2nd grade yesterday, and I know for certain he is leaps and bounds ahead of his friends who attend public and other private schools in the area. If you want to give your child the BEST, look at Valley Preparatory.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

Valley Prep has been an outstanding school over the past several years for our daughter. The school offers so many wonderful programs that is not offered in the public school system. With the small classroom sizes and the wonderful teachers, this school was an ideal fit for our daughter and her potential. She loves to come to school every single day and can't wait to tell us about the experiences and classes that she had at school that day. Valley Prep has made her educational experience such a wonderful one and it has allowed her to be the student that she wants to become. We would not send our daughter to any other school as Valley Prep has become her second home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Valley Preparatory School provides strong academic programs and wonderful teachers in a safe and friendly environment. Art, music, language, and library are all part of the curriculum. Great technology program too. Small class size is another reason we chose Valley Prep. We couldn't be happier with the school, and so is our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

I have been a parent at Valley Prep school for many years. It's a wonderful environment for any child to shine , get an awesome education , and be safe. I have been to other schools and many don't realize what a gem Valley Prep is. Nothing is perfect, but the leadership trieds hard to accommodate everybody if at all possible. The kids are exposed to various cultures, trips with the French class to Paris, the Spanish class went to Costa Rica and this year , the science teacher is taking a group to the Galapagos island. Now if that is not amazing , I don't know what is !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

Some of the teachers know what they are doing and some can't even handle ONE child. All this school seems to want is your money & They complain about the littlest of things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

Spring field trips are about to start with amazing opportunities planned, from a local camp in the mountains for the 5th grade to Washington DC for the entire 8th grade. What great life experiences for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

I am a new teacher here at the school and I can sum up this school with just three letters - "WOW!" What an amazing setting for children to learn and grow. Like most new teachers, I did my student teaching in public school with 33 students. My time was spent just trying to organize the chaos, with very little teaching occurring (and I was in a GOOD public school). Valley Prep is so incredibly different from public schools. Students and their educational needs are TRULY put first at this school. "It takes a village to raise a child" and I have witnessed every staff member contributing to all students lucky enough to attend here. Students receive individualized instruction, a 1:1 computer program, Music, Art, PE, Foreign Language and small class size with an emphasis on Math and Science. Is it expensive? Some would say "yes", but as a Chinese Proverb states "only the man who crosses the river at night knows the value of the light of day". This is an amazing school setting, with caring staff who are invested in each student. If you are looking for an early college preparatory program to help your child reach their full potential, Valley Prep is the place for your family!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 4, 2013

My children went to Valley Prep from PS to eighth grades. My grandchildren are now attending Valley Prep and have been attending since PS and now are in first and third grades. Valley Prep offers a wonderful environment with small class sizes with the opportunity to have a culturally diverse student body. Academics are paramount at Valley Prep with the technology program to support advanced learning and student classroom enhancement at all grade levels.


Posted August 24, 2013

Valley Preparatory School (VPS) provides an ideal learning environment for my children. The faculty has a proven commitment to the children of VPS. The administration continues to hire and retain highly motivated teachers who are accredited, knowledgeable and available to educate the children. The curriculum is world class, entailing both traditional arts abandoned by most public schools, as well as an emphasis on the use of computer technology, essential for children gaining and retaining a competitive advantage moving forward in their educational endeavors. Finally, the school supports an effective learning environment, holding true to their student handbook, by not permitting repeated bulling and the use of profanity in the classroom. I applaud the bold action of school s administrators for putting children s education above revenue goals and the inevitable backlash that results from defending the difficult yet necessary policy. I give VPS my highest marks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

Valley Preparatory School is far from being the school it claims to be.. They claim they treat each child as an individual and work with them not only in the academic growth, but their emotional development as well......NOT true. But what they do is smash young people's spirits, they don't work together teachers and principal to embrace the best in our kids, but instead they turned kids into anxious, depressed students. Is shocking to see how after many years of loyalty and commitment to the school, they treated our family with so much disrespect. Parents!!! be aware because you are paying a considerable amount of money for your children education at this institution where the inequities are many and the injustice great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

Valley Prep is an excellent school for parents who are looking for small class sizes that enables a student to get individual attention, technology advances such as there laptop program, and variety of programs they offer like art, music, and foreign language (french and spanish). The teachers are extremely attentive to your student's education and teach in a creative way so the students are able to grasp the concept of the subject. They are also very friendly and easy to talk to. One can easily see the students' eagerness to learn and progress in their education, participation in class and inspiration they gain from their teachers which is proof that Valley Prep is a high quality school that cares for their students future. It is said that Valley Prep is like a second home. I have graduated from Valley Prep and I strongly believe this school prepared me for the rigorous education in high school and has opened up opportunities for me to go to a prestige high school such as the Webb Schools.


Posted June 27, 2013

Valley Prep offers a challenging, enriching, technology driven academic curriculum enhanced by thriving art and music programs. The small class sizes facilitate quality, individual attention and the focus on student character and integrity serve to comprise a well-rounded program from which our children have benefitted greatly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

I have been associated with Valley Prep for more than two decades - as a parent, a god-parent, a substitute teacher, and a trustee. The school provides a safe and caring environment and a comprehensive and enriched (English, math, social studies/history plus music, art, science, foreign language, computer science - including a 1:1 personal laptop curriculum for grades 2-8, library and PE at all grade levels year-round) academic program for its students. Valley Prep prepared my child for a rigorous high school academic path and provided the basis for her (as well as for many in her class) admission to one of the top universities in the country. I am proud to be associated with the school and grateful for the foundation it provided for my daughter. The qualified and caring administration, teachers, and support staff; the excellent college prep program; and the diverse student population make this the ideal educational environment for any academically curious and inquisitive child in the greater Redlands area.


Posted August 7, 2012

My Children went to Valley Prep from 1987 to about 1996. I couldn't have asked for more. My daughter went into public school and skipped to the top in Foreign language and did two years in one and graduated early. To bad all schools in the US aren't this great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

Our family realized that with budget cuts to public schools, we probably couldn't get the kind of education we want unless we went to a private school. We've been really pleased with Valley Prep. Class size is small so students really get individual attention. We want our kids to have full-time music, art and ESPECIALLY foreign language, which they do here, and we love the tech program. Valley Prep is the only school around where 2nd grade and up students have laptops and while the first year of the program was definitely on a learning curve, now two years later, our kids are doing amazing things with tech - they're getting much deeper into their subjects and teaching us (the parents) too! The teachers get additional training too so they can be current in their fields. Wish we'd known that tuition doesn't cover everything and that we're expected to donate to the school, but when we checked out other private schools, it's the same story - ALL of them ask parents to donate to the best of their ability. Even with the laptops, the tuition is a lot less than similar schools in Claremont and Upland. To our family, the education our kids are getting is TOTALLY worth the cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

I couldn't ask for a better education for my children. We've been a part of the Valley Preparatory Family for 8 years now and couldn't be happier. The teachers are truly amazing and care about their students! With the class size being around 15 students per class the kids get more attention which results in better learning! The Laptop program is absolutely amazing, especially to see your little ones navigate through websites and turn in their homework through drop boxes. They are learning the way kids should be learning in the 21st century! Also, my kids each have music, art, foreign language, and PE year round. Public schools are only able to give children a 6 week taste of each of these extremely valuable classes. I know my children are getting a well rounded education and I HIGHLY recommend this school! If you are looking for a private school, seriously consider VPS! You will be happy you did! Don't let your kids get lost in the public school system!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

Not Worth the $10,000 plus tuition... Here's what you really get... A school that charges you for everything... $1500 for a computer (that they barely use), daycare is extra, you go buy the teachers their supplies, lunch, any after school activity... REALLY this is a $15,000 school... On top of that they try to shame you into donating $$$ to the school... Judson Brown & Mariposa public schools (two top scoring schools) are right down the road, the teachers are better and don't use technology as a crutch/excuse for real teaching... They do offer small classes, but for classes of 10-17, the teachers have become very lazy in their class room management skills... Overall, ask yourself, what is a $15,000 school and then realize this isn't it...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

Valley Prep is a cutting edge, state-of-the-art school. The school has made a major stride forward in technology and is now the only program in the whole area with a 1:1 laptop learning program beginning with 2d and 5th grade. Teachers are awesome and know each child well; they take care to individualize the curriculum. This is, by far, the most "total" curriculum of any school in the area with English, Math, Science, Art, Music, Technolgoy, Spanish, French and extracurriculars for everyone. The leadership of the school truly cares about students. The Headmaster has been there for about three years now and has really gotten the school energized and moving forward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Sadly, the school has not been able to keep up with current trends in technology. We were very disappointed this year with the decline in curriculum after an increase in tuition. Our older children had a much more positive experience many years ago. It used to be a fun environment for students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 27% 26%
Two or more races 14% 3%
Hispanic 10% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 9% 1%
Black 8% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • CAIS and WASC accreditation (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Rotary Club (2013)
  • VFW Awards in Creative Writing (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Recycling club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Roy Cencirulo
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • http://www.vpredlands.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (909) 798-5963

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • College preparatory
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
  • computer laptop program
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Rotary Club
  • Smiley Library
  • Inland Harvest
  • Redlands Family Services
  • Nature Conservancy
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Gardening
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Model UN
  • Recycling club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
38
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
45
Students typically come from these schools
local public schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$9000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Redlands High School
Webb Schools, Clarement
Arrowhead Christian Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1605 Ford Street
Redlands, CA 92373
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 793-3063

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Pathway Christian
Redlands, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT