Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Redondo Beach, CA
Students enrolled: 604

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alta Vista Elementary School 4

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
Alta Vista Elementary is a great school if your child needs to start in the LIFT program for special needs. The transition to grades K-5 is supportive and the teachers do care! The principal Ms. Wildes is on top of it. The front office staff is improving and more welcoming to visitors.

Alta Vista Elementary School 3

Posted January 12, 2014
- a parent
The school is well run, but my concern is the academic rigor. My child is not being challenged enough and I am concerned that she will regress. The work that my child brings home is equivalent to kindergarten lessons in LAUSD. I see a lot of worksheets that are not graded and look like busy work. I do not see any growth other than what I teach my child. I am very disappointed because we moved here so my child could attend a topnotch school. Too much emphasis is being put on test scores and where each school ranks. The school has high test scores, but the children aren't being challenged. I wish the teachers in 1st grade would vary their instruction to meet the needs of high performing students.


Alta Vista Elementary School 4

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
the district should consider beginning the gate program in first grade for students Obviously advanced. office receptionists could work on their communication and welcoming skills. principal wildes does a great job in recognizing students and gets an A effort..it's too bad all the teachers aren't as enthusiastic.

Alta Vista Elementary School 1

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
My son has been aprticipating in the LIFT program and they have been absolutely terrible. He has been in the program for speech defficiency since the age of 3 1/2. Now at 6 years old, he remains in the bottom 1 persecentile ins several of the speech and language catagories. During the IPE meeting, I raised concerns about other behavior patterns that were consistant with those of autism, but they were so busy praising themselves for his "progress", they were annoyed that I voiced these concerns. Despite allerting them to several behavioral patterns, some of which they acknowledged, they did not test him for autism spectrum disorders.

Alta Vista Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2012
- a parent
Our kids have been attending this school for four year and it has always been a great school, with wonderful teachers and innovative programs. Under the leadership of the new Principal Mrs Wilde it is now an outstandingly great school! She is innovating and refining existing programs and bringing out the best in the very experienced teachers who also seem to love the school. Many of the teachers have their children attend the school and some of them their parents taught there! It is a nurturing community and I am so grateful that my children have to opportunity to grow there. Mrs Wilde is very hands on; a real problem solver and deals with conflict in a very thoughtful way.


Alta Vista Elementary School 3

Posted November 09, 2011
- a parent
This school is great but has had problems keeping the same principal for more than a few years at a time. Apparent rifts between teachers and administrators have been apparent as it spilled out to the parent population. And, while some teachers have taught in this environment for a few years, they cannot be called seasoned. However, the new principal this year appears to be a much needed positive change to the environment and exceptional teachers do exist at this school.

Alta Vista Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2011
- a parent
Awesome School!!! Teachers are meant to be teachers guiding kids with respect and care. Principal so approachable and polite and of course with a great mind set on school and students success. The academic part is very good because you can see the extra effort and the personal touch this school has thanks to parents also, which is very important to impact in a positive way all those little ones that one day will be our future. Overall EXCELLENT!!!

Alta Vista Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are great! Principal is awesome! Volunteers are the best in helping our children.


Alta Vista Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
Alta Vista is a wonderful school. The teachers and staff are terrific. I can't say enough positive about the school. Best of all, there's no homework on weekends -- so far at least! Our daughter has blossomed here. I'm very grateful for all the parental support of the school.

Alta Vista Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
Most of the teachers are highly experienced and motivated to reach their students not only at the academic level but at a personal level as well. Most teachers at Alta Vista are natural 'nourishers', they ACTIVELY LISTEN to their students and provide immediate feedback to them and to parents. Principal Taranto has become the heartbeat of Alta Vista. He has turned Alta Vista into a learning community, he believes that each individual in the school - staff and student - can achieve great things, and he expects no less. Mr. Taranto has an understanding and appreciation of AV school culture, a clear and inspiring vision of where AV is headed, a love of teaching and kids with a concurrent abiltity to relate to them, to teachers ... an ability to make and implement effective dicisions ... with the recognition that neither himself nor anyone else is perfect, and that's OK!!! The office secretary Jo is very knowledgeable, experienced and professional. Chris, the nurse, is very warm with the kids and very flexible helping others.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alta Vista Elementary School
815 Knob Hill Avenue, Redondo Beach, CA  90277
(310) 798-8650
Last modified Alta Vista Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alta Vista Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top