Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Redwood City, CA
Students enrolled: 454
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Henry Ford Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
We could not have asked for a better neighborhood school! The teachers at Henry Ford are amazing, especially Mr. Howell. Our son loves him (and so do we)! The principal Ms. Griffiths is fantastic and works tirelessly in making the school even better. Great community-bonding events, too.

Henry Ford Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
Very devoted teachers, principal. Extremely active and succesful PTA helping compensate the budget gap. Would recommend to any parent considering it for their child without any hesitation!


Henry Ford Elementary School 4

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
My 2 daughters went to HF K-3. The teachers are dedicated, and the principal, Lynne Griffiths, is a tireless advocate for her students, teachers, and school community. Like all schools in Redwood City, HF is struggling amid budget cuts. It's not fancy, and the parent community is lackluster - the same parents volunteer in classrooms, are active in PTA, and run/staff every event. Unlike other RWC schools, API test scores keep going up, and more and more neighborhood families are recognizing the value of this "little school that could." There is a movement afoot to add grades 6,7,8 to HF, and if parents can make that happen, the school will really take off. It is a good school that keeps getting better, and that is a testament to Lynne Griffiths, the teachers she inspires to do their best, and the parents who refuse to give up on this school. I think it's on its way towards edging out richer schools (Clifford, Roy Cloud) as the most desirable in the district, if things keep going the way they have been. Henry Ford is one to watch.

Henry Ford Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2013
- a parent
When our daughter was ready for Kindergarten we were looking into private schools, scared of the public school system like so many. After attending the information evening at Henry Ford and hearing the passionate Kindergarten teachers who have been at the school for many years, we were open to giving the school a try. We never looked back. The principal, Ms Griffith is a wonderful person who cares deeply for the students and education. The teachers are great. We have been lucky to have also much parent involvement in the classroom and we feel that our daughter is getting a solid education that is also showing in the overall test scores of the school. We could not have wished for a better neighborhood school.

Henry Ford Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Henry Ford Elementary School 4

Posted January 12, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Henry Ford Elementary School 4

Posted October 15, 2009
- a parent
we love our teacher henry ford is a great shool

Henry Ford Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2009
- a parent
This is our first year at HF and my daughter is in 3rd grade. We love Miss Glazener her teacher and have enjoyed all of the events and enrichment. This school is driven by caring educated teachers and faculty and the PTA is great. HF is an excellent neighborhood school with a globally diverse student body. It is the real world.


Henry Ford Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2009
- a parent
I couldn't DISAGREE more with the last post. I have been involved with this school for many years, and am continuously impressed with the teachers and staff. They don't pressure students to do the fundraisers, but they are easier on parents because its things we already spend money on each time we are at the grocery store. The office staff is fantastic, and even when they are busy they do their best to accommodate everyone. The teachers all work very well together and do everything they can to help their students succeed.

Henry Ford Elementary School 1

Posted February 27, 2009
- a parent
I am maybe the first one to rate Ford this low, but I have to. I didn't expect to be so dissapointed of this school, as it is in such a nice neighborhood. Teachers should attend more professional development programs, as I don't see the commitment, desire or energy to work with the children. I don't agree with the discipline style, presentation of material, motivational approaches, art program, PE program, fundraising pressures given to children (boxtops, Lucky's supermarket, etc.), loads of paper coming home with pointless homework. Children should be given enough time to complete a task with care, so they understand and master it. It needs lots of improvment. Though, I was happy talking with the Principle. She is aproachable, understands your issues and will work with you. But there are so many things beyond her conrol...

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Henry Ford Elementary School
2498 Massachusetts Avenue, Redwood City, CA  94061
(650) 368-2981
Last modified Henry Ford Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Henry Ford Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top