Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 100 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Gill Elementary School 4

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
Great things are happening at John Gill. Our child is in the excellent Mandarin Immersion program. Principal is very good. Listens to the concerns of parents and makes changes as necessary.

John Gill Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in the Chinese Immersion Programme and loves it. Teachers and staff at the school are committed to the students' success. Principal Rivera has been very supportive and responsive to parents' feedback and we have confidence that she will be able to lead the school to greater success.


John Gill Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Under Principal Katherine Rivera, the school has blossomed into a cohesive group of outstanding, caring teachers, administrators and care givers. She is exceptional and we're grateful to have her as our principal.

John Gill Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
All four years we've had outstanding teachers and Dante has a love of learning because of them!

John Gill Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Again, these are characteristics the school actively promotes in class and during the weekly assemblies.


John Gill Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely. Respect, integrity, diligence... these are all characteristics the school actively works on promoting in the students - in class and during the weekly assembly.

John Gill Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
My son has gone from a painfully shy child to a member of the student council in four short years - often presenting in front of the entire school. That never would have happened if John Gill didn't offer a safe, nurturing environment.

John Gill Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Outstanding teachers and administrative staff that work incredibly hard to teach and nurture their students.


John Gill Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Our son is in the 3rd grade at John Gill and has attended school there since kindergarten. We've had a phenomenal experience with the school and my son has blossomed, but not just academically. He's grown more confident and he's created nurturing friendships with his fellow classmates. Katherine Rivera joined the school in the fall as our new principal. She's tireless in her efforts to improve the children's test scores while still keeping the art and dance programs that make John Gill so special. I'm really excited to see the additional improvements that will be made in the coming months and years.

John Gill Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
The school has a Monday assembly during which they commend one student from each class, called the Eagle Student for the week, who exemplifies some of these characteristics in the classroom.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Gill Elementary School
555 Avenue Del Ora, Redwood City, CA  94062-2259
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 100 reviews. (650) 365-8320
Last modified John Gill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top