Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (7 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 117 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Gill Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
I feel like we won the teacher jackpot with Ms. Loh this year in John Gill's Mandarin Immersion program! Her enthusiasm and dedication have allowed everyone in the K-1 class to thrive. This includes native Mandarin speakers and those students who are new to Mandarin. It's amazing to see the progress and we are so grateful for Ms. Loh and her excellence in teaching.

John Gill Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
I am impressed with the commitment of Principal Rivera to improving this school and commend the school district for adding the Mandarin Immersion program to John Gill. The MI program in its inaugural year was a great success. There are so many good things taking shape at John Gill.


John Gill Elementary School 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
My son loves going to school. John Gil.....Eagles! He's part of the new crop of children who joined the Mandarin Immersion program. We are very lucky to have such a warm and qualified teacher (Ms. Loh) teaching our class. My son is learning Mandarin, science, math and English very quickly. Aside from this program, he's made a lot of friends from other classes. The same goes for adults. The principal and parents have done a very good job of building a community within the school. As we head into the last few weeks of school, parents from all grades and classes are working together to plan and execute school wide events. We are looking forward to next year!

John Gill Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is in the Mandarin Immersion Program and she loves going to school. Her reading and math has tested very well and she speaks and understands mandarin after less than a year in the program.

John Gill Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
We find our homeroom teacher and the principal have been excellent and responsive to constructive feedback from parents and wonderful with our students.


John Gill Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
This is part of the school's Eagle P-R-I-D-E (Perseverance, Respect, Integrity, Determination, Excellence). It really does become a part of the student culture.

John Gill Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Our teacher is quick to send us feedback and comments about our child. Whenever we have reported any incidents we have heard from our son about the behavior of other students, our teacher has been quick to react and monitor the situation. The school listens and tries very hard to promote an environment of fairness and compassion among all students.

John Gill Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Every Monday during school assembly the students recite the school's Eagle PRIDE (Perseverance, Respect, Integrity, Determination, Excellent). .I have heard my child mention this at home when he reasons with his younger brother. It is a mantra that the school lives by and instills in all the children,


John Gill Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Our son attends the JG Mandarin Immersion program. This is only the program's inaugural year, yet our son has learned a ton of Chinese and we have found the curriculum to be interesting and challenging. We have been deeply impressed and heartened by the District's commitment to the Mandarin Immersion program and the dedication of many of the super-involved parents. If you are looking for a great education for your child and to be a part of a lasting community, you've come to the right place. .- MHL

John Gill Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Ms Loh is an excellent and dedicated teacher. Her extensive preparation and love for her children is evident in every class she teaches. Our child has thrived in his kindergarten year under her tutelage. We are extremely grateful. Thank you! Mary and Richard Lin

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Gill Elementary School
555 Avenue Del Ora, Redwood City, CA  94062-2259
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 117 reviews. (650) 365-8320
Last modified John Gill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top