Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Parents, please share what you love about Hoover Community School! Padres, por favor compartan lo que más le gusta de Hoover Community School.
February 03, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
Hoover School won two state awards last year. On december Hoover was awarded the prestigious Golden Bell award, for best implementation of common core standards. Only one school receives that honor every year. Also, in March, it won best bilingual school in California from the Conference of Bilingual Schools of California. Hoover has been recognized as an excepcional school, with an excellent program SEAL, and experience teachers, that make learning fun and exciting. I am a Redwood City resident and I am happy to have Hoover school in my neighborhood. It increases our home values, and enriches the community. Thank you HOOVER.

Hoover Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
I will like to thank the teachers of Hoover school for their commitment to teaching, for their dedication, and for being so caring teachers.


Hoover Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
They are very effective, because they developed a program that is been copied by many schools.

Hoover Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
By the comments of my neighbors the homework is just right, lots of reading, and some technology.

Hoover Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
They encourage their students to be the best they can be, at all levels. That will help students to be more determine.


Hoover Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
Hoover school had recently a campaign about kindness. They posted that on their sign outside of the school.

Hoover Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
Hoover school has teachers that have been teaching for more than 20 years, I guess that shows that they are caring, have compassion and empathy. I see the students waving goodbye to their teachers when they leave the school.

Hoover Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
I live close to Hoover School, I see students walking to school on time, crossing the street on the marked areas, walking with groups of friends of different backgrounds. I never saw any problems caused by Hoover students.


Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
Recently I had the opportunity to observe all 4th grade classes at Hoover Elementary School in their classroom and on a field trip to Ano Nuevo to see the elephant seals. I witnessed smart, well prepared, enthusiastic, and respectful students engaging with teachers and naturalists. I saw students that were able to integrate/discuss their studies of animal adaptations while they were watching harems of elephant seals. Kudos to the 4th grade team at Hoover!

Hoover Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted February 04, 2016
- a teacher
I'd love to thank everyone as a truly great school is great due to the efforts of the custodians up to the leaders! I love my students, too. Today I'd like to thank our parents for choosing us, supporting us, and entrusting us with their children. Thsee children are bright, full of hope, eager to learn and our future.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hoover Elementary School
701 Charter Street, Redwood City, CA  94063-2960
(650) 366-8415
Last modified Hoover Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hoover Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top