Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Newcastle Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Reseda

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $269,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,430.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

I used to really like this school but I know see that when situations come up you are on your own. I am very disappointed. My older son has one more year left in this school. I am leaving him in this awful school just to be with his friends. My next child is not going to be a part of a school where the principal does nothing to help when your child has an issue. DO NOT HAVE YOUR CHILDREN COME TO THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

My son has been going to this school since Kindergarten, and I cant tell you enough on how caring the teachers and staff are. This is a great school. I particularly loved his first grade teachers named Mrs.Packard. She was awesome and made a positive 1st grade experience for him! Now he is in 2nd grade and he is excited to see what new things await him this year! Highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Both of my boys attend Newcastle and I can only express how happy I am with the school, teachers, office staff, the principal and the rest of the staff at the school, everyone has always been friendly, helpful and most of all attentive to the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

NEWCASTLE SCHOOL . IT'S A GREAT SCHOOL. WHERE YOU FEEL THAT IS YOUR SECOND HOME. I LOVE IT BECAUSE MY SON LOVE TOO. HE IS SO HAPPY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

a schools API score doesnt tell the whole story about a school. it definitely needs more ethnic diversity, homework help for students, and more extra curricular activities to reward the students for there hard work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

Newcastle is a fantastic school. The API score is 862, which is very high. Newcastle received an Honorable Mention as a California Distinguished School. Newcastle received a huge art and music grant for all grades. All grades had a field trip to the Getty Museum. Aquarium of the Pacific came to the school with a mobile aquarium so the children could touch starfish and baby sharks! The campus is lovely with mature shade trees and a large grassy area for play. The after school program is wonderful, helping children with their homework than organizing games. Newcastle has a nice community feel, nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood. We are so lucky to have such an academically strong school in our neighborhood. We love our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

For the average child, this may very well be a good school academically, but for children who are a bit accelerated, this school is not up to snuff. One of the first grade teachers was asked by another parent about some extra work for an accelerated child and she refused to help claiming that she didn't want her smarter than the other kids. WTH? As for my child, her first grade teacher often lashed out with name-calling when she was stressed and on field trips, children were neglected and a couple were "misplaced". The cafeteria in extremely unhygienic and the principal is not concerned. In fact, the principal does not hold the mothers in as high regard as the fathers of the children and often condescends to them. Hispanic families also seem to be held in higher regard than Caucasians however is has been noted that Mr Rojas has made many empty promises to the children about iPads and x-boxes for the kids when they are making the PTA pay to re-instate the buses for the special needs children. I have since left this school for a better and safer school district as i could not keep placing my child at risk, physically, emotionally and educationally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

I am so happy to see that my old elementary school is finally open again. I attended this school back in the early 80's and even back then I thought the school was awesome. Still don't know why the school was closed for over 20 years but I'm really happy to know that it's open. Good job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

Its a great school! My kids love it and I love the teachers and the way they have taught my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

Truly the best LAUSD school I have encountered since my sons entered into school 5 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

I love Newcastle Elementary School, My youngest son has attended this school since Kindergarten and will be graduating in the summer of 2008. The Principal, Vice Principal and Teachers really work hard with the kids to bring out the best in them. It can really be hard working with all those different little personalities. I take my hat off to those ladies and gentlemen who have the gift of patience, tolerance, love and courage to pass on to the students that attend Newcastle Elementary. I just want to say Thank you very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

Forget test scores, the quality of the teachers and the leadership of the principal at Newcastle makes Newcastle superior in every way. Since we transferred our kids back to our neighborhood school after a year at a great api test score school, we discovered that a great education has very little to do with testing and a everything to do with fairness, love, respect and caring, which is in abundance at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

I feel the availability of the extra curricular activities is absent from the school. I don't see the Principal involved in with the school. Certain teachers give up to easily with educating children at Newcastle Elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

I have 3 of my sons at Newcastle Elementary and I feel that the teachers are very helpful. My kids were first going to another school in Woodland hills that was a 'good school' but never received any help when they needed it. The teachers there focused more on the kids that excelled and not on the ones who needed additional help. I took all 3 of my boys to Newcastle and they were given the attention needed to excel and now they feel much more confident about themselves. They have a wonderful after school program that allows them to play sports and they even have tournaments against other schools every so often. I am very pleased with this school, it is small enough where everyone knows each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

My son has been going to this school since preschool. I think this school has worked its way up in the past 5yrs, but it has a long way to go. I am moving this year, and acutally am glad that he will be going to another school.I hardly find my son challanged, as most of the kids are on minimum levels. Hardly any homowrk or challanging activities makes this school not-so-desiarable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

Fairly good school. Not so challanging for gifted or advanced kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

I had a positive experience with this school. The principle took my child into her program with open arms and turned him into a top performer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

Newcastle has improved greatly over the past year. Parent participation is extreamly important along with teacher meetings. The teachers are very active and do help the kids who are bright to be more involved with different types of projects. My son has been going there since preschool and I am very happy with the kind of attention my son recieves from different teachers. The principle has greatly improved, it was not so good last year, but this year she is more hands on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2004

My son spent two years at Newcastle Elementary School. We were extremely impressed with the staff, particularly the helpful and easily accessible Principal Schear and Vice Principal Ruiz. We were also very pleased by the warmth and professionalism of the teachers, who we miss!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2004

Newcastle Elementary is an undiscovered gem. The API score jumped 77 points this year to a respectable 704. Under our new principal Newcastle received an Honorable Mention as a California Distinguished School. Newcastle received a huge art and music grant for all grades. All grades had a field trip to the Getty Museum. Aquarium of the Pacific came to the school with a mobile aquarium so the children could touch starfish and baby sharks! The campus is lovely with mature shade trees and a large grassy area for play. The Creative Kids after school program is wonderful, helping children with their homework then organizing games, art, music and drama classes. Newcastle has a nice community feel, nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood. Families in this neighborhood are pulling out of private schools and taking back Newcasltle as parents did at Lanai. We love our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

842

Change from
2012 to 2013

-20

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

842

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-20

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females68%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students69%
Females76%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner66%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females68%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females84%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate71%
Parent education - high school graduate85%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females50%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate71%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females60%
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females55%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students61%
Females50%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate40%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students49%
Females45%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 82%
White 8%
Asian 3%
Black 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/AN/A
English language learners 41%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 263 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
78%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
73%
 

Students

This school

 
83%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
85%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
85%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
78%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
90%
 

Students

This school

 
65%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
72%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents9326%
Students17094%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Luis Rojas
Fax number
  • (818) 343-8864

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6520 Newcastle Avenue
Reseda, CA 91335
Phone: (818) 343-8795

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Child's World School
Los Angeles, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT