Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Magnolia Science Academy 7 School

Charter | K-5 & ungraded | 230 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

Msa 7 is a great school.I am so satisfied to send my daughter to this school.. Teachers and the other staff are so friendly and caring to the ss..I am sending to afterschool program and it worked perfectly..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I'm glad that I enrolled my daughter to this school. She started first grade this year with a wonderful teacher. I hope that Great Schools rating is going to be 9 again just like it was last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

Magnolia Science Academy 7 is really nice and safe environment for my kids. I feel really comfortable to leaving my kids after school program in which they have a lot of activities and assistant teacher helping my kids to correcting homework and working with them to improve weak areas. It is very important to find a school which you feel safe and comfortable about my kids since we are working couple
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

We love MSA-7 , kids at the school have enjoyed a very supportive and fun learning experience. The teachers are excellent, assertive and caring at the same time. The reading and math programs are a very effective way to learn. They have lots of activities and after school programs. I can see an improvement my daughter's level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

I am amazed that a school can become a family. I feel blessed that each day I drive my children to school, they see Mr. Ike and Mr. Serce welcome them to school, their teachers are happy to see them and my heart glows. I feel I have found my niche and my children have found a home to grow not only academically but also emotionally and mentally. They feel happy, literally, they rush to school with eagerness to be part of MSA family and spend time with their teachers. They do not feel uprooted, rather they feel like they have always been in MSA, even if they had just moved here to Valley mere three months ago. Thank you MSA 7
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

This is a pretty good school, Teachers are altruistic, amiable and sophisticated. School is like a family. Their academic program and after school program are very efficient. They have many activities and sports events. Parents are playing soccer and volleyball. Students are coming school not only Monday- Friday , they are also coming on Saturday to study math and science. I am blessed to have my daughter and son attend MSA-7. I strongly recommend it anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

Magnolia Science Academy 7 is an excellent school, the staff and principal are always on top of all the students making sure they are excelling in their school work. Their API score is 906..... I really love this school.This is a fantastic school,you get everything here,like a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

MSA-7 has exceeded my expectations in so many ways. My children came from another public school where communication with staff was very difficult. At MSA-7 I can talk to whomever I feel I need to regarding any issue, and the staff will stop what they are doing, truly listen to me, and address my concerns. At other schools I would have to wait to make appointments to talk with teachers and staff, but at MSA-7 staff is always accessible and always has the time. The principal has an open door policy and is always warm, welcoming and friendly. My children have blossomed both academically and personally since attending this school. MSA-7 strives for academic success and they work very tirelessly to help all students, including donating their free time for enrichment programs and one-on-one time with the students. Every time I have had to visit the office, everyone is always polite, welcoming and happy to see me. I always see the principal, vice principal and other staff engaging with the children and watching them, ensuring their safety and happiness. I highly recommend this school. When I leave my students in the morning I know they are safe and happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

My son started second grade at Magnolia Science Acadamy-7 this school year (2012-2013) and the improvements in his life are fantastic. He was in need of an IEP and through the staff dedication, administration support, and services offered and given to him, he has made improvement in all areas of his social interaction, his self esteem, and is educational performance. The staff impressed me most with their dedication to all their students and their sincere dedication both student and parents both. Any problems and/or concerns my husband and I have had this year have been met with with timely concern and handled effectively and efficiently. I am proud that my son is a part of the MSA family and look forward to continuing his education at MSA-7. I highly recommend this school to any family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

My son started at MSA7 this year. We came from a private and were worried that the academics wouldn't match up. We were so pleased to find out that this school had strong academics and high scores.We found the teachers to be hard workibg and experienced.The teachers work hard to meet the needs of every student. My son always feels safe and never bullied. The principal is very dedicated and has an open door policy. The support staff are always warm and friendly. The after school program is very well organized and heloful with homework. My son wakes up every morning eager to go to school and every staff member knows his name. I am very thankful to the MSA7 staff for making my sons transition year a great one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

I had my son attend this school for two years for kinder and first grade before we moved to Arizona, such a great school. I was so happy with them. Friendly front office, approachable principal and vice principal. Dedicated teachers! Lots of activities keep children socialize with one another. Great scores also prove their academic rigor! My son was eligible to take third grade math and language arts now, because of what his teachers at MSA-7 has tought him. Valley parents are very lucky to have this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

I just enrolled my daughter today after taking a tour. What a wonderful school! The campus is small (but big enough for the students they have), green, and open space. The Staff was vry friendly outgoing, and always praising the kids for good behavior! All the staff I saw interacting with the students knew the students name which was great. The dean was participating in outdoor time with the older kids. I see a great future for my daugter at MSA7.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2012

Wonderful management, staff, teachers. Learning is strong and fun. Mr. Ike, Mr. Serce, Ms. Vazques are my favorite. But I believe all are dedicated and wonderful teachers. Thanks to all staff. Great green area, wonderful play ground, safe zone. I receive more than my expectations. Thanks again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

I have two kids enrolled at MSA 7 for about one year now (5th and 1st grades) and they both have shown a remarkable academic improvement going from a private school. They have some of the best math and science teachers around with solid European education. My kids are more social and active. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

The faculty and staff are so caring and wonderful . They even make sure your kid eats enough food before throwing it away . The whole staff and faculty knows all students and watches over them . The education my son has been recieving there is amazing . I know my home school would not have delivered the way MSA-7 has . There is a definite community feeling amongst the students , encouraging each other with "good job" statements . I love this school !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

904

Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

N/A


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

904

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

N/A

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females89%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner69%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students95%
Females95%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learner92%
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Females64%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females79%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females64%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students96%
Females93%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students73%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students63%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
School leaders can update this information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 109 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
83%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
83%
 

District average

 
70%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
91%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
91%
 

District average

 
78%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
79%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
79%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents10942%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:35 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Irena Erangey-Millard
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (818) 975-5215

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Magnolia Science Academy-1
Magnolia Science Academy-2
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18355 Roscoe Blvd. Northridge 91325
Reseda, CA 91335
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 886-0585

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT