Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ethel Kucera Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rialto

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $193,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I'm a student been going there since 7th and this will be my last year and that school has given me an his education. When my little sister goes to the sixth grade I would love for her to go there


Posted May 12, 2010

Kucera Middle School is a school i recamond for your child. I am a 8th grader and been here all three years, yes i have enjoyed each grade. Teachers here are like anyother teacher you could think of. Some can the worse teacher you ever ha and some are realy great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2010

i had an awesome time here at kucera for the last 3 years of my middle school years. i meet some pretty cool people here. i had some nice teachers too. im going to miss all of my friends when i leave kucera. and all of my teachers here too. i had many good and bad experiences here but i will never forget all of my good memories here. thank you bye
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2010

hey I am a student here at Kuera Middle school, And my experience here has been wonderfull. I have been attending kucera for 3 years kniw and being and avid student, repersentative, and school site council representative makes it all the more fun. my experience here was Greatt!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2009

i really truly love that school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

hello, i am a student at kucera. i rate this school as good. i just think they are too strict on stuff they shouldnt be. They should worry about other more important things. The teachers i have had are wonderful. they are veryy supportive.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2009

kids at kucera are always going through peer pressure alawys tring to go with the flow i get that you want to be in style but if you dont look like how kids want you thier probaly not going to hang out with you or you can be the funniest/nicest person in the the school but your parents may be short on cash so u have to last years clothes the may not be in style many kids may make fun of u and then some kids start acting like somthing their not which isnt good i have even fallen under peer pressure my self
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2008

I attend Kucera Middle School and find the environment to be very intimidating. I am not use to the vulgarity that I hear on a regular basis and I am shocked with how teachers are treated by the students. If i were to act like my classmates my parents would kill me. I would never want to be a teacher at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2007

I have been attending Kucera Middle School for 2 years. Kucera Middle School does not impress me. Programs such as AVID, get to do activities that are not related to school. GATE students who work very hard each day, are expected much, yet given little. As a GATE student, I have found out that while the AVID gets to do many non-school related field trips/activities, [ I feel]the GATE students are expected [to do] a lot, yet have nothing to motivate them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2006

I am not impressed w/anything about this school. One thing that really bothers me is why have an e-chalk site when hardly any of the teachers post the assignments there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

I personally have to say nothing good about Kucera middle school. The office staff are very rude, and some don't even know what they are doing. Just seems that no one cares at Kucera, and they have no respect towards parents. I have never heard a Principal be so rude and disrespectful in my life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2006

I have to say that I am not happy with the Academic Reports of kucera Middle School. I believe there is too many students in the school and that makes it very hard not only for the Teachers but for the students too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

Unfortunately we live in a state where economics and class play a major role in the quality of education you get. I know my child could get a better education if I could afford to move to a more affluent neighborhood. With that being said sometimes we don't take advantage of what a school does have to offer. Kucera does put a big emphasis on rewarding those students who perform well academicly. They also offer programs such as Gear Up, and the Parent Institute for Quality Education. These are excellent resources to ensure that your children are on the road to academic success and on the right path to getting into college. I would encourage all parents to take some time and know what's going on at their child's school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

This is my son's third year at Kucera. I am not impressed by the administration...she seems more concerned with pleasing the parents of the trouble makers then she is about educating our children. I have seen this school become progressively more overcrowded and our scores continue to drop. This was an outstanding school 5 years ago and seems to have taken a turn for the worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2006

It is the best school I've ever known!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2005

Having moved to this area from Northern California last year, my wife and I have found that the education that our daughter is receiving at Kucera to be very dissappointing. We have found that the teachers have very little control of their classrooms and there are not enough textbooks for the kids to take home ever day. Therefore the kids don't have homework everyday. This has been a very rude awakening for us and our child. We come from a school district where children are well behaved and they are at school to learn. I think that had we done a little more research on this school, we probably would have tried to get our daughter into a school in a different district which is compatible to the one that she was in prior to attending Kucera.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

761

Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

761

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
18%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
47%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
4%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

424 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

410 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females55%
Males52%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate51%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to state41%

Math

All Students42%
Females40%
Males44%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability42%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate37%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate50%
Parent education - declined to state24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Femalesn/a
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females54%
Males39%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduate46%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to state44%

Math

All Students39%
Females41%
Males37%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disability25%
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate42%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate41%
Parent education - declined to state37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students25%
Females30%
Males20%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino23%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)32%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Non-economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability25%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only26%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented51%
Parent education - not a high school graduate20%
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)20%
Parent education - college graduate24%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate36%
Parent education - declined to state33%

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females51%
Males43%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disability36%
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner2%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate47%
Parent education - declined to state31%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students12%
Females11%
Males13%
African American6%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino14%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Non-economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disability13%
Students with no reported disability12%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only20%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate13%
Parent education - high school graduate14%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)6%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state18%

Geometry

All Students53%
Femalesn/a
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented60%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students48%
Females43%
Males53%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disability14%
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate44%
Parent education - declined to state44%

Science

All Students60%
Females55%
Males64%
African American49%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disability30%
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to state61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 72% 52%
Black 17% 6%
White 8% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Monique Conway
Fax number
  • (909) 421-7681

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2140 West Buena Vista Drive
Rialto, CA 92377
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 421-7662

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT