Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public district
Richmond, CA
Students enrolled: 560
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mira Vista Elementary School 4

Posted March 29, 2015
- a parent
Mira Vista is a good neighborhood school with a caring and active PTA that strives to continue improving the school environment and activities, such as art, glee, STEM club, and 2 outdoor classrooms/gardens. Like any public school, it has had to deal with reduced budgets, but the PTA has been actively trying to make up for the difference by securing grants to continue improving programming. In addition to the view, one of the best things about the school is its diversity. Most of the students in my children's classes have more than one racial ancestry. So it's great to celebrate everyone's heritage and religion at the annual multicultural night, and things that could be problematic in other schools aren't really an issue. Mira Vista isn't perfect -- what school is? But the teachers and principal go above and beyond because they know they are supported by a caring community.
1 person found this helpful

Mira Vista Elementary School 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
I like this school, because teachers and principal are very nice.Parents are friendly. Thanks to PTA members, school is going to have it's own soccer team.


Mira Vista Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2012
- a community member
I was a student here from Kindergarten to 6th grade and I loved every minute of it. It's rare to find schools like this with such diversity and teachers who genuinely care. Not to mention the gorgeous view! When I have kids, I will definitely send them here.

Mira Vista Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2012
- a community member
Student council president, 11/12 graduates. Mr. Tsugawa IS AMAZING! Mrs. Van Der Meer ROCKS! Mr. Chillcott actually knows what hes doing! Take your kids to this school. Mrs.Cruger-Hansen, Ms.Hillagass Dr.Tuttass. I actually learned something. Everyone is like family because of small school

Mira Vista Elementary School 4

Posted October 14, 2010
- a parent
Great community, great teachers, great principal, great kids!


Mira Vista Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
We have a wonderful school community - dedicated teachers and staff, eager students and committed parents. We also have a beautiful campus in the East Bay hills in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Mira Vista Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
We have great teachers and a lot of hard working parents

Mira Vista Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Mira Vista has a very diverse population where students of all backgrounds can feel comfortable learning and socializing amongst their peers. The teachers are dedicated and the parents are involved. I chose to transfer in to Mira Vista and have two of my kids there currently. However, since the school does not qualify for Title 1 status, we receive a pitiful amount of funding from the WCCUSD and struggle just to provide everyday supplies. Many fundraising efforts take place each year but the district needs to do more to help this school serve students effectively.


Mira Vista Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Mira Vista is a school with parents who care.

Mira Vista Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mira Vista Elementary School
6397 Hazel Avenue, Richmond, CA  94805
(510) 231-1416
Last modified Mira Vista Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mira Vista Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top